Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 147,003 pages of information and 232,919 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company P

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p737a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p737b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p738a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p738b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p739a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p739b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p740a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p740b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p741a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p741b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p742a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p742b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p743a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p743b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p744a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p744b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p745a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p745b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p746a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p746b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p747a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p747b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p748a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p748b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p749a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p749b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p750a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p750b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p751a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p751b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p752a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p752b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p753a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p753b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p754a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p754b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p755a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p755b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p756a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p756b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p757a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p757b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p758a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p758b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p759a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p759b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p760a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p760b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p761a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p761b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p762a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p762b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p763a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p763b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p764a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p764b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p765a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p765b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p766a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p766b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p767a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p767b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p768a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p768b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p769a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p769b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p770a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p770b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p771a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p771b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p772a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p772b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p773a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p773b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p774a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p774b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p775a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p775b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p776a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p776b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p777a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p777b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p778a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p778b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p779a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p779b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p780a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p780b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p781a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p781b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p782a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p782b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p783a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p783b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p784a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p784b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p785a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p785b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p786a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p786b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p787a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p787b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p788a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p788b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p789a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p789b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p790a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p790b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p791a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p791b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p792a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

PACIFIC PHOSPHATE COMPANY, LIMITED (THE), Phosphate Miners, Baltic House, 27, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: The R. Hon. the Lord Balfour of Burleigh, K.T., G.C.M.G., P.C., (Chairman), .John Ewart (Deputy-Chairman), George William Howard Bowen, J.P., The Rt. Hon. Earl Grey, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., P.C., Walter R. Hay, Joseph Hohenemser, Hermann Kaesemacher, Adolph Otto Thiemer; Hermann Voss and Alwin Robinson Dickinson (Managing Directors). Secretary: Albert John Reeves, F.C.I.S. Melbourne Offices, 465, Collins Street. Principal Establishments: Ocean Island; Nauru; Clipperton Island. Business: Phosphate Miners. Connection: United King-dom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3018 and 3019 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Paciphos, Led, London "; and " Paciphos, Melbourne." Bankers: The National Bank, Ltd. (13, Old Broad Street, E.C.).

PACIFIC STEAM NAVIGATION CO. (THE), Steamship Owners, 31, James Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Wheelwright. Incorporated in 1840 by Royal Charter. General Manager: Frederick Alcock, F.R.G.S. Assistant Manager: R. R. Lamb. Secretary: T. H. Darlington. Directors: Thomas Rome (Chairman), James G. Nicholson (Deputy Chairman), Sir Owen Philipps, K.C.M.G., James Cameron-Head, William C. Kenny, Arthur Neville Lubbock, Sir Joseph Savory, Bart., and Alfred S. Williams. Capital issued £1,500,000. Branches: London, 18, Moorgate Street, E.C.; Birmingham, 86, Colmore Row; Leeds, 6, Bond Street; Manchester, 5, Albert Square; Glasgow, 125, Buchanan Street, and 144, St. Vincent Street. Business: Services, Mail, Passenger and Cargo. From Glasgow and Liverpool to Franco, Spain, Portugal, Canary Islands, St. Vincent (Cape de Verde), Brazil, River Plate, Southern Argentine Ports, Falkland Islands, and West Coast of South America, &c. Telephone: No. 8340 Central, Liverpool (seven lines). Telegraphic Address: " Pacific, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Scott's (9th and 10th Editions). Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

PACKER, H. J., & CO., Ltd., Cocoa and Chocolate Manufacturers, Greenbank, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established: Date unknown. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Horace Walker (Chairman and Managing Director) and R. Bruce Hay. Premises: Buildings cover twelve acres. Staff: Over 1,000. Branch: 60, Wilson Street, Finsbury Square, London. Speciality: Chocolates. Patents: Several for Chocolate Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1167, 1168, and 1189 Bristol; No. 2800 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Chocolate, Bristol." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

PACKHAM & SON, Plumbers, Domestic Engineers and Ironmongers, 144, Western Road, Brighton. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Metal Department); 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (Works). Established about 1823 by John Packham (grandfather of the present owner. Partnership Successions: (1) John Packham and Edwin Packham; (2) Edwin Packham. Present Principal: Herbert Edwin Packham. Premises: Business was started in Church Street Foundries, Brighton, later moved to 68, Western Road, and finally to present address, 144, Western Road. Showroom: 4, Hampton Place. Workshops: 7, Stone Street, and Castle Street. Specialities: Hot Water Fitting and Plumbing, Furnishing Ironmongers. Sole District Agents for Eagle Ranges and Gibson's " K.B. " Kitcheners. Telephones: Nos. 238 and 539 Brighton.

PAGE & GWYTHER, Bill Brokers, 17, Gracechurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1863 by Francis Mitchell Page (d.). Continued by Stephen Henry Gwyther (d.) and J. E. H. A. Wright (d.). Present Principals: 0. B. Granville and Howard M. Page. Staff: Five. Business: Bill Brokers in the strictest sense. Connection: London. Telephone: No. 1290 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Mallorie, London."

PAGE (JOHN E.), Ltd., Coal and Builders' Merchants, 5, St. Mary's, Bedford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1787 by John Parker. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Herbert Page and William Quarry. 3B Claim that this is the oldest coal business in Bedford, and at one time barges of coal were unloaded on these premises. Premises: Cover about one acre. Branches: Dunstable Street, Ampthill; 35, St. Peters Street, and 45, Bromham Road, Bedford. Specialities: Coal, Tile Fixing and Building Materials. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 14 Bedford. Telegraphic Address: " Pagina, Bedford." Bankers: Thomas Barnard & Co., Bedford. .

PAIN (JAMES) & SONS, Fireworks Manufacturers, Contractors for Illuminations and Decorations. Head Office and Works, Mitcham, Surrey. Depots: 121, Walworth Road, S.E., and 9, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over one hundred years ago by William J. Pain. Premises as above; fireworks factories (200 acres) at Mitcham, Surrey, and New York; branches at Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham, and Gravesend. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Fireworks of every description, and public and private displays of same upon any scale. Ship's Night Distress Signals, Fog Signals, Life-saving Rockets, &c. Telephones: (Walworth Road) No. 772 Hop, (City) No. 4365 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: "Pain, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

PAISLEY SUGAR CO., Glucose and Brewing Sugar Manufacturers, St. Mirren's Works, Macdowall Street, Paisley, N.B. Established in 1885 by William Mackean. Now owned by William Mackean, Ltd.

PALFREY (MARK) & CO., Sheepskin Rug Manufacturers, Forward Works, Stourbridge; 32, Newgate Street, London, E.C.; and 13, Anglesea Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1871 by Mark Palfrey (d.). Present Principals: George H. Brettell, F. Evers Palfrey and H. Evers Palfrey, C.C. Premises: Cover one acre. Staff: Sixty. Speciality: Finest Black Rugs and Mats. Claim to make the finest Black Rugs and mats in the trade. Connection: Extensive Home Trade, large trade in Canada, Germany, Holland, &e. Telegraphic Address: " Palfreys, Stourbridge."

PALL MALL DEPOSIT & FORWARDING CO., Ltd., 1 to 4, St. Albans Place, Regent Street, S.W., and Barlby Road, North Kensington, London, N.W.Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: J. Gerson (Chairman), Brig. General M. Studholme Brownrigg and W. Judd. Premises: Two large Warehouses. Claim that one of them is the most modem in the United Kingdom, and the lowest rated for Fire Insurance purpose. Staff: Fifty. Agencies: In the principal cities through out the world. Business: Removal and Warehousing of Furniture, Safe Deposit for Valuables, Cold Storage for Furs, Packing and Shipment to all parts of the world. Passages booked on all steamship lines. Telephones: Nos. 4546 and 4547 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Burnished, Charles, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Regent Street).

"PALL MALL GAZETTE " (THE), Evening Newspaper, 12 and 14, Newton Street, Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1865 by the late George Smith, of the publishing firm of Smith, Elder & Co. Founder transferred the business in 1880 to his son-in-law, G. Yates Thompson, who in 1892 sold it to W. W. Astor, the present proprietor. Started as a Liberal organ; gradually became opposed to the Gladstonian party, but reverted to its original policy in 1880, with Mr. John Morley (the present Lord Morley) as Editor. Among its early contributors were Anthony Trollop and George Eliot. Is now conducted as an independent Evening Newspaper, having for its aim the supporting of the Constitutional cause. Present Editor: J. L. Garvin. The " Pall Mall Gazette " was the first London newspaper to be printed by electricity. Telephones: No. 4306 Gerrard (four lines); (City Editor), No. 7448 Central. Tele graphic and Cable Address: " Palmagaz, London." Bankers: Coutts & Co.

PALMER, T. W., & CO., Ltd., Wine and Spirit Merchants, 69, High Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1823 by Thomas William Palmer (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1914. Directors: Mrs. E. F. Palmer, W. H. Todd, G. L. Shackles, and H. E. Bird. Business: Landed and Titled Class Family Wine Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 302 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Pilgrim, Hull." Bankers: London and Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

PALMER TYRE, Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Palmer Tyres, 119, 121, 123, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Major Leonard Darwin (Chairman), Christian H. Gray, Ernest J. Mitchell, T. H. Woollen and James Jeffery. Specialities: The famous Palmer Cord Tyres and other Palmer Tyres for Motor Cars, Motor Cycles and ordinary Cycles. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. the King for Motor Car Tyres. Telephone: No. 1214 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Tyricord, London."

PALMERS SHIPBUILDING & IRON COMPANY, LIMITED, Shipbuilders, Engineers, and Steel and Iron Manufacturers, Hebburn and Jarrow-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Founded in 1851 by the late Sir Charles Mark Palmer, Bart. (first Mayor of Jarrow, 1875; M.P. for North Durham, 1874-85, and for the Jarrow Division, 1885-1907). Firm was originally styled Palmer Brothers. Incorporated in 1865; Public Limited Liability Company. Present Directors: G. Mure Ritchie (Chairman), the Rt. Hon. Lord Aberconway, the Hon. R. James, the Hon. H. D. McLaren, M.P., C. G. Bryan, and A. B. Gowan. Premises: Shipyards, Docks, Slipway, Engineering Works, Blast Furnaces, Steel Works, Forge, Galvanizing Works, &c., &c., at Hebburn and Jarrow-on-Tyne, covering about 150 acres, and employing from 5,000 to 10,000 officials and workmen, according to requirements. Business: Shipbuilding, Marine Engineering, and the manufacture of Steel and Iron. The Company's operations in these industries are upon a very extensive scale, and the business has long been one of the largest of the kind in Great Britain. In addition to a large output of tonnage for the mercantile marine, the Shipbuilding Department is concerned with Naval (warship) construction of the most modern type, and a number of notable Battleships and Cruisers for the Royal Navy have been built at the Company's Yards. Connection: World-wide. On Admiralty, War Office, and Colonial Office Lists. Telephones: Hebburn Works—Newcastle P.O. Nos. 150, 190 and 191 City; No. 44 Hebburn; Nat. No. 606 Central. Jarrow Works—Newcastle P.O. Nos. 148, 149 City; No. 14 Jarrow; Nat. Nos. 65 and 99 (Rolling Mills). Telegraphic Address: " Palmers, Hebburn.'

PALMERS' TRAVELLING CRADLE & SCAFFOLD COMPANY, Scaffolding Experts, Victoria Works, Belvedere Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m,; Works, always open by telephone call. Established in 1875 by Edwin Palmer. Improvements were patented in 1896, 1911-12-13. Business reorganized by Edwin Palmer and his two sons, and is now continued as a Private Company, style as above. Have carried out exceptionally difficult contracts. 1913 -14, now erecting seven Wireless-Station Masts in Ireland, Steel Mast 500 ft. Ballybunion, co. Kerry; removed and refixed the hands of " Big Ben," Westminster, repainted the footways of Tower Bridge, redecorated the vast ceiling of the Royal Albert Hall. Transformed Olympia for " The Miracle," by means of their cradles, 160 being in use for three weeks, framing up all steel work to support plaster, the whole interior representing a vast cathedral. Palmers' cradles were also used for the erection of the Royal Liver Building, Pier Head, Liverpool, the main cornice 140 feet above pavement level. Specialities: Suspended Scaffolds and Stages, special Steel Wire Scaffold Lashings. Undertake repairs to buildings inside and out by means of the wire-supported travelling cradle, raised or lowered by the men in the cradles without assistance. Manufacture Extension Ladders and Towers; Ladders, Barrows, Steps, Trestles and Builders' Plant generally. Agents for London and 60 miles round, Scaffixer Chair Scaffold Tie. Patents: Suspended Scaffolds, Steel Scaffolds, Ladder Scaffolds, Steel Wire Lashings, also for various improvements. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly, also Gibraltar and other places abroad. Have carried out work on several of the Royal Palaces, Windsor Castle, &c., also for Lambeth Palace, numerous Churches and Hotels. Telephones: Nos. 1156 and 69 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Wireway, Watloo, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PANAMA HAT CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Real Native Panama Hats and Importers of all descriptions of " Panamas." Warehouse and Showrooms: 42, Jewin Street, London, E.C. Counting House: 42, Jewin Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Speciality: Panama Hats, made specially for the Company in Ecuador and Peru. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5440 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pennamatta, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) Lieber.

PANTECHNICON, Motcomb Street, Belgrave Square, London, S.W.—See THE PANTECHNICON.

PANTELEGRAPHY. — See STENOTELEGRAPHY.

PAQUIN, Ltd., Court Dress, Robe, and Mantle Makers, Furriers, Ladies' Tailors, Milliners, and Corsetieres, 3 and 5, Rue de la Paix, Paris; 39, Dover Street, and 11, Berkeley Street, Mayfair, London, W. Established in Paris in 1891 by Madame Paquin and the late M. Isidore Paquin. Incorporated in 1896. Specialities: Unique Creations in Court Gowns, Robes, Millinery, Furs, &c. Staff: About 1,000 persons employed in Paris and London..

PARDOE-THOMAS & CO., Ltd., Shipowners, Newport, Mon. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: B. Pardoe-Thomas. Branches: Cardiff, Swansea and Llanelly. Business: Shipowners, Managers of Ottoman Line, Ltd., and the Trident Line, Ltd. Trade Mark: " Trident " for Coals and Fuel. Telephones: No. 940 Newport; No. 1285 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Ottoman," Newport, Mon., and Branches. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Newport, Mon.).

PARDOW (FRANK R.) & CO., Harness Manufacturers, Saddlers, Leather Goods Manufacturers, 42, Bridge Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Henry Pardow. Business has descended from father to son. Principal: Frank R. Pardow. Staff: About seventy. Branch: Dublin, 29, Bachelor's Walk. Speciality: Harness and Saddlery; Leather Goods. Patent: New Cart Lamp, " North Star." Awards: Twenty-six Silver Medals, also Bronze Medals; Awards of Merit for Excellence of Manufacture ' Two Silver Medals, 1909, given for " North Star " Cart Lamp. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 43 (National), Walsall. Telegraphic Address: Pardow, Walsall." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Lloyds Bank Limited.

PARK GATE IRON & STEEL CO., LIMITED (THE), Steel Manufacturers, Park Gate. Rotherham, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1823. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864. Directors: Charles Markham (Chairman), W. B. M. Bird, A. W. Dixon, Douglas Vickers, Henry Westlake. General Manager: T. E. Dodgson. Commercial Manager and Secretary: F. Phillips. Makers of the firEt Rolled Armour Plato. Premises: Extensive Works, cover about ninety acres. Staff: 1,500 to 2000. Specialities: High-class Steel manufactured by Siemens' process only; Steel Boiler Plates, Tank Plates, Bridge Plates, Sheets, Chequered Plates, Steel Bars in Rounds, Squares, Flats, Angles, Tees, and Sectional Bars of all descriptions. Slabs and Billets, Dead Soft and Guaranteed Carbons. High Tensile Steel in Plates, Sheets, and Bars. Welding and Case-hardening Steel, Pig Iron, Foundry and Forge. Brand: " Park Gate Yorkshire Steel." Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Board of Trade), Lloyd's, and English and Foreign Railways. Telephone: No. 550 Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Yorkshire, Parkgate, Yorks."

PARK (WILLIAM) & CO., Manufacturers of Forgings, &c., Wiend, Wigan. Works: Clarington. Forge, Wigan. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1787. Present Principals: Sidney Richmond Park and John Richmond. Specialities: Forgings, Spades and Shovels. Patents: In connection with Spades and Shovels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 533 (two lines) Wigan. Telegraphic Address: " Parquiliam, Wigan."

PARKE, DAVIS & CO., Manufacturing Chemists, 50, Beak Street, Regent Street. London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1866. Incorporated in 1875. Famous as pioneers in the standardisation of Drugs by Chemical and Physiological Methods, and as having introduced numerous drugs to the Medical Profession, e.g., Cascara Sagrada, Coca, Convallaria, Pichi, Taka-Diastase, Adrenalin, Acetozone, Chloretone, Broinetone, Iodalbin, Formidine, Pituitrin, Phylacogens, &c. Premises: Chief Offices and Laboratories upon an extensive scale at Detroit, Mich., U.S.A. Branch Laboratories at Walkerville, Ont., Canada. London Offices and Warehouse in Beak Street, Regent Street. Laboratories at Hounslow, Middlesex. Branches: Throughout the United States of America, and in Australia, India, Russia, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 3260 Regent (six lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cascara, London."

PARKER BROTHERS, Wholesale, Retail and Export Saddlers, Harness Manufacturers, &c., 11, Little Saint Andrew Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by the father of Thomas Parker, the present principal. Premises: Very extensive. Specialities: Second-hand Saddlery, Harness, &c., of the highest quality. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4252 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Saddlebows, London." Mr. Parker has been a member of Holborn Borough Council. Club: National Sporting. Pastimes: All Sports.

PARKER, J. A., & CO., Metal Merchants, Baltic Wharf, Portslade, near Brighton. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1894 by E. J. Parker, re-formed as J. A. Parker & Co. in 1906. Present Principal: J. A. Parker. Manager: E. J. Parker. Have made steady growth since foundation. Premises: Occupy threestorey building, 48 feet by 40 feet, with two yards on the Wharf and Stables. Contractors for Naval, Army, and Railway Waste materials, and Shipbreakers. Specialities: Rags, Metals, Bottles, Bones, Rubber, Scrap Iron, Cullett, Skins and Marine Stores. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: Nos. 8x and 16 Portslade. Bankers: - Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. E. J. Parker is Chairman of the Sanitary Committee, Portslade Urban District Council, and was a member of East Sussex County Council, 1910 to 1913. He is President of the local Protestant Association.

PARKER, J. F. & W. E., Iron and Steel Merchants and Bright Steel Strip Manufacturers, 39, Corporation Street; Works, Barker 'Street, Birmingham, and 2, Lawrence Pountney Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Established in 1902. Present Principals: James Frederick Parker and William Ernest Parker. Specialities: Steel of all kinds and Lowmoor best Yorkshire Iron. Connection: United Kingdom. Tele-phone: No. 1869 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address " Octagon, Birmingham." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Birmingham).

PARKER & LESTER, Ltd., Paint, Varnish and Colour Manufacturers, Import and Export Merchants, Ormside Street, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by S. H. Parker. Continued by Samuel Parker, son (d. about fourteen years ago). Joined by F, H. Lester (d, 1909). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: S. Hunt Lester (Chairman), W. F. Nicholson (Managing Director) and H. Wintle. Premises: Have occupied the present Factory for over sixty years; originally at Deptford. Staff: Varies. Staff Clubs: Reading Room. Branches: Glasgow, Leith, Cardiff, Liverpool, Gothen burg (Sweden), Fredrikstaad (Norway), and Beyrout (Syria). Specialities: Paints, Colours, &c., for Gas and Water Companies, Shipping Companies and Corporations; also Disinfectants Engineers' Tools, &c. Proprietors of Parker's Imperial Black Varnish for Ships Bottoms, &c., Antimony Paint for Gas Holders, &c. (sole manufacturers). Patents: Shorts' Leakage Indicator. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Spain, Turkey, Syria, Japan, China, India, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Telephone: No. 1496 New Cross, London. Telegraphic Address: " Oxidimony, Kent, London." Code: A B C and Private. Bankers t London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PARKER, LORD & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Glissade and Mercerised Linings, Tonge Mill, Middleton, and 61, Portland Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m to 6 p.m. (Warehouse); 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (Mill). Established in 1865 by Richard James Parker and Abraham Lord, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Alfred Behagg (Chairman), H. A. Ward (Managing Director), and Thomas Ford. Staff: 500. Agents: In London, Glasgow, Bradford, Leeds, Bristol, Toronto, Montreal, Christiania and Rotterdam. Specialities: Polished Cotton Linings, introduced into the market by the firm. Connection: General. Telephone: No. 608 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Glissade, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

PARKER, WELLESLEY, & CO., Colonial and Dried Fruit Brokers, 23, Rood Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1871. by Bailey, Parker & Wellesley. In 1885 became Parker, Wellesley & Co. Present Principals: H. B. Smith, A. J. Parker, R. C. Wellesley. Specialities: Dried Fruits, Almonds, Nuts, Beans, Peas, and Seeds, Rolled Oats, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 405 Avenue (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Wellesley, London." Bankers: Na-tional Provincial Bank of England (Head I Office),

PARKES, E., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Iron and Steel Bars and Sheets, Atlas Ironworks, West Bromwich. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Ebenezer Parkes, M.P., H. H. Parkes and H. E. Parkes. Specialities: Bar Iron and Sheet Iron of all kinds. Manufacturers of all kinds of Sheets for Galvanizing and Corrugating Merchant, Roofing and Gasholder purposes and Merchant Bars. Brand: P.P. and Crown Atlas. Telephone: No. 181 West Bromwich. Telegraphic Address: " Atlas, West Bromwich."

PARKES, F. H., & CO., Lace Curtain Manufacturers, Albert Works, Spring Close, Old Lenton, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Works, 4 a.m. to 12 p.m. Established in 1908 by Frederick Henry Parkes, the present principal. Premises: Workshops cover seventy-two by sixty feet, and eighty by seventy feet. Equipped with up-todate modern machines, forty-six feet wide. Self-contained, making their own power and electric light. Staff: Thirty. Speciality.: Lace Curtains. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 4377 Nottingham. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

PARKES (HERBERT) & NEPHEW, Iron and Steel Merchants, Steel Roof Manufacturers and Ironfounders, St. Petersgate, Stockport. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1845 by Herbert Hill Parkes. Succeeded by Son and Grandson. Present Principal: Herbert Parkes. Branches: Waterloo Road, Stockport, and Thomas Street, West Stockport. Business: Iron and Steel Merchants, Steel Roof Manufacture and Iron Founding. Telephones: No. 94 Stockport (Business); No. 584 Stockport (Private). Telegraphic Address: " Parkes, St. Petersgate, Stockport."

PARKES, H. P., & CO., Ltd., Makers of Chains, Chain Cables, Anchors, Ground Tackle of all kinds, Forgings, Steel and Iron of any size, Tipton Green Chain and Anchor Works, Tipton, Staffs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established nearly a century ago by Henry Pershouse Parkes (Dudley). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: Chains, Chain Cables, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government and Contracts carried out for all Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 18 Tipton. Telegraphic address " Parkes Tipton."

PARKES (JAMES) & SON, Manufacturers of Optical and Mathematical Instruments, 16 and 18, Vesey Street, St. Mary's, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1815 by James Parkes in St. Mary's Row. Continued by James Parkes, Samuel Hickling Parkes, F.R.A.S., F.L.S., S. T. H. Parkes. Present Principal: S. T. H. Parkes. Premises: Erected in 1893. Equipped with modern appliances. Factory and offices cover about 530 square yards. Specialities: Various Scientific Apparatus, including Astronomical Telescopes,Microscopes, Magnetic Compasses and undials, Mathematical Instruments of all Grades, including School Drawing Compasses, Drawing Pins, and Scales. Patents: Various improvements in Mathematical Instruments, Microscopes, Binocular Glasses, and Reading Lamps. Connection: United Kingdom,Foreign, Colonial (Wholesale and Manufacturing only). Indents accepted direct against remittance or through Merchant Shippers. Telephone: No. 6210 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Jaspar, Birmingham." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

PARKINGTON, J. R., & CO., Wine Shippers, Merchants, and Agents, 24, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to , 2 p.m. Established in 1868 by present senior partner, Colonel Sir. J. Roper Parkington, J.P., D.L., with whom are associated in partnership Messrs. Harry Bennett and Charles Cary-Elwes. Specialities: Champagnes, Brandies, Clarets, Burgundies, Ports, and Sherries, of which the firm are large shippers and exporters, holding important agencies. Connection: United Kingdom, Africa, India, Australasia, Canada, West Indies. Telephone: National No. 1477 Avenue. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Mambrino, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

PARKINSON, J., & SONS (BLACKPOOL), Ltd., Builders and Contractors, Talbot Saw Mills, Blackpool, and 177, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: A. Lindsay Parkinson (Managing Director), and William Parkinson. Reconstructed the Lyceum Theatre in seven months; Nottingham Hippodrome completed in six months; at a cost of £40,000; Sheffield Hippodrome in five months for £30,000; Walkergate Hospital, Newcastle, in twelve months for £40,000, At present have in hand contract for the new Whalley Asylum, Lancashire, £400,000. Premises: Works cover eight acres, equipped with the latest machinery, electrically driven. Speciality: In Theatre Building. Connection: United Kingdom and the' Continent. Contractors to H.M. Government (Office of Works). Telephone: No. 134 Blackpool. Telegraphic Address: " Builder, Blackpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. A. L. Parkinson is Councillor of Blackpool Corporation.

PARKINSON, R., & SONS, Wholesale Chemists and Drysalters, Curzon Street, Burnley. Hours of Business: Office,, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1848 by Richard Parkinson. Joined by his ,two sons in 1872, one of whom is the present senior partner. Present Principals: I. Parkinson and S. H. Parkinson and T. G. Parkinson (sons), since 1908. Premises: Cover 32,643 square feet. Staff: 100. Specialities: 'Baking Powder, Custard Powder and Packed Drugs. Awards: Fourteen Medals. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 77 Burnley. Telegraphic Address: " Parkinson, Burnley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. The late Mr. William Parkinson, who was partner from 1872 to 1908, was an Alderman and a Justice of the Peace for the County Borough, and had been Mayor; also a Justice of the Peace for the County.

PARKYN, J., & CO., Merchants and Manufacturers, 70, Mosley Street, Manchester; and 3, Mumford Court, Milk Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1836 as the same firm. One of the oldest in the trade. Present Principals: E. J. Parkyn and A. H. Parkyn Specialities: Calicoes and Sheetings of the best qualities, Grey and White—Longcloths, Madapolam.s, Interlinings, etc. Connection: Home and Shipping. Telephone: No. 4097 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Parkyn, Manchester."

PARNALL & SONS, Scale Makers, Tinplate Workers, Shop Fitters, Bank Fitters, Brass Finishers, Ironfounders and Engineers, 44 and 45, Broadmead (also 21 ar.d 22, Narrow Wine Street), Bristol. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1820 by Henry Geach Parnall. Purchased ia 1913 by W. & T. Avery, Ltd., S:ho Foundry, Birmingham, but worked as a separate husiness. Joint Managers: T. Baxter and G. G. Parnall. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive, equipped with all the latest improvements, covering about three acres. Staff: Several hundreds. Branches: Mansion House Chambers, 11, Queen V!ctoiia Street, London, E.C.; 94, Market Street, Manchester; and offices in all principal tour s. Business: Scale Making, Tinplate Working, Shop Fitting, Bank Fitting, Brass Finishing, Iron Founding, Engineering. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2175 (Avenue), London; No. 2956 Bristol; No. 2 Fishponds, Bristol. Telegraphic Addresses: " Parnalls, London "; " Parnalls, Bristol "; " Manchester."

PARR'S BANK LIMITED, Bankers, 4, Bartholomew Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1865 as Parr's Banking Co., Ltd., to take over the business of Messrs. Parr & Co., Warrington. Directors: Cecil F. Parr (Chairman), Arthur J. Fraser (Deputy Chairman), Henry J. Badcock, Edward Banbury, Hon. Hugo Baring, H. Cary G. Batten, R. E. Dickinson, N. ffarington Eckersley, The Rt. Hon. Lord Farquhar, The Hon. Sir Chas. W. Fremantle, K.C.B., John R. P. Goodden, Alfred Hewlett, Hugh B. Muir, Sir G. H. Murray, G.C.B., Edward W. Nix, A. Allan Shand, The Hon. Arthur Stanley, M.P., Alfred Morrison Turner, R. W. Whalley. Director and General Manager: R. W. Whalley. Deputy General Manager: John Stewart. Asst. General Manager: John Rae. Secretary: E. D. Hyatt. Since the Bank was founded in 1865 the following businesses have been taken over: Thos. Firth & Son, Northwich (1865); Woodcock Sons & Eckersley, Wigan (1874), F.W. Jennings, Leek (1877), Dixons & Co., Chester (1878), National Bank of Liverpool (1883), Fuller, Banbury, Nix & Co. (1891), The Alliance Bank, Ltd. (1892). Name was then changed to Parr's Banking Co. and the Alliance Bank, Ltd. The following were then incorporated: Sir Samuel Scott, Bart., & Co. (1894); Croxon, Jones & Co., Oswestry (1894); Shrubsole & Co., Kingston-onThames (1894); The Consolidated Bank, Ltd. (1896). At this date the name was changed to the present title. Incorporated afterwards: Derby & Derbyshire Banking Co., Ltd. (1898); Ashton, Stalybridge, Hyde & Glossop Bank, Ltd. (1900); Pares's Leicestershire Banking Co., Ltd. (1902); Robin Bros., Jersey and Whitehaven Joint Stock Banking Co., Ltd. (1908); Stuckeys Banking Co. Ltd. (1909). Branches: 276. Also Agents and Correspondents in all the principal cities and towns of the world. Capital Authorised, £12,500,000; Issued, £11,023,900; Paid-up, £2,204,780: Reserve Fund, £2,000,000. Carry on the usual business of Bankers in all its branches. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Address: " Plutus, London."

PARROT, H., & CO., Merchants and Wine Agents, 41, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. (British Agency of the house of Veuve Clicquot-Ponsardin, Reims). Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1861. The original agent in London was Robert Selby, 1861-1865. Partnership Successions: J. J. Selby, 1865-70; S. B. J. Selby, 1865-73; W. Fenwick, May, 1873—June, 1886; H. Parrot, June, 1874—July, 1896. Present Principals.: T. Maycock (May, 1896), J. B. Smith (September, 1896). Speciality: The Champagne " Veuve .Clicquot." The firm are also agents for the wines of the well-known Burgundy house of C. Marey & Liger-Belair. Connection: United Kingdom, India, and British Colonies, except Canada. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward and to H.M. King George V. Telephone: No. 4738 Central. Telegraphic .4ddress: " Perroquet, London."

PARRY, CROSBIE & CO., Tobacco Brokers, Virginia Buildings, 28,. Paradise Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1824 by Edward Parry. Joined in 1826 by Robert Crosbie, as Parry and Crosbie. In 1849 Charles E. Crosbie (son) joined the firm, trading as Parry and Crosbies. In 1899 Edwar Salkeld Forster and Alfred Johnson became partners; title changed to Parry, Crosbie & Co. Present Principal: Edward Salkeld Forster (since 1904). Business: Tobacco Leaf Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3853 (Bank), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: Nicotian, Liverpool." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

PARRY, S. TAYLOR, Engineer and Ironfounder, 4, 6 and 8, Princess Street., Chester. (Formerly Crook Street Foundries.) Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1720 by the great-greatgrandfather of S. Taylor Parry, the present principal. The founder built the original foundries in Crook Street to smelt iron by natural draught, no other methods being then known. In 1780 a horse motion was erected, and a number of horses were harnessed to poles and walked 1round a circle of about sixty feet in circumference, transmitting power to a, large fan, and this was connected to the Cupola for melting the iron, more rapidly than by natural draught. In 1815 a table engine was made up by the Parrys, the first of its kind in the country, and the old horse works were done away with to be replaced by the steam engine. In 1901 the old foundries were demolished and the business transferred to Princess Works, where an up-to-date machine shop has been installed. Business: Steam, Mechanical and Electrical Engineer, Millwright, Iron and Brass Founder, Manufacturer and Repairer of Steam Engines, Boilers, Launch Machinery, Agricultural Machinery Engines, Stationary, Portable and Traction, Oil Engines, Gas Engines, Petrol and Electric Motors, Tobacco and Boot Machinery, Saw Mills, Pumping Plants, Milling Plant, Refrigerating Plant, Brewing Plant, Laundry Machinery, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 581 Chester. (Day and Night for breakdown.) Telegraphic Address: " Parry, Engineer, Chester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd., Chester. Mr. S. Taylor Parry is a Freeman of the City of Chester and of the most. Worshipful Company of the City Guilds.

PARSONS, C. A., & CO., Ltd., Engineers and Contractors, Heaton Works, Newcastle on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1889 by the Hon. Sir C. A. Parsons, K.C.B., the present Chairman. Premises cover about thirteen acres, and are equipped with every modern improvement. Staff: About 1,200. Branches: London Office 8, Victoria Street, S.W.; Leeds, 65 and 67, Prudential Buildings, Park Row; Glasgow, 82, Gordon Street; Cardiff, 102, St. Mary Street. Agents in nearly all countries. Specialities: Steam Turbine Dynamos, Steam Turbine Alternators, Steam Turbine Blowing Engines, Steam Turbine Compressors, Steam Turbine Pumps, Steam Turbine Exhausters, Mixed Pressure and Exhaust Steam Turbines, Searchlight Reflectors, &c. Patents: Steam Turbines and Engineering Patents, also Electrical, Condensing Plant, and Reflector Patents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office); also to Colonial and Foreign Governments. Telephones: No. 3078 and 3079 Newcastle; No. 2 (P.O.) Byker. Telegraphic Address: " Turbo, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Codes: ABC; A1; Western 'Union. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

PARSONS, C. H., & BROTHER, Ltd., Manufacturers of all kinds of Desiccated Soaps, Witch Soap Works, Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: J. L. Ferguson (Chairman), C. H. Parsons (Managing Director), R. L. Buchanan, J. K. Greenhalgh, Harold Parsons. Premises: Well-equipped Works at Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Staff: Large. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Football, Savings, Institute, comprising reading, recreation, and refreshment rooms. Branch: Manchester, Grocers' Exchange. Specialities: Desiccated Hard and Soft Soaps for the Textile and Engineering Trades; " Witch " Soap (Desiccated), for domestic consumption; Toilet Soaps, Scouring Soap and Powder, and " Witch " Metal Polish. Inventions: Desiccated Soaps and Polishing Powder by C. H. Parsons. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 38 and 39 (National) Ashby-de-la-Zouch: Telegraphic Address: " Witch, Ashby-de-la-Zouch." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PARSONS, S. H. & CO., Carriers, Leather Merchants and Legging Manufacturers, 33 and 35, Castle Street, and 16, Milford Street, Salisbury. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Wednesdays, close at 1 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 p.m. Established about 100 years ago by Mr. Rivers, in Milford Street, and in Castle Street by Mr. Brown. Taken over in 1893 by S. H. Parsons in partnership with E. Lever, from 1893 to 1900. Branch opened in Boscombe in 1902 by S. H. Parsons. Present Principal: S. H. Parsons. Premises I Cover about one acre. Staff: Seventeen. Branch: 196 and 198 Christchurch Road, Boscombe, Bournemouth. Specialities: Curriers of Hand Stuffed Harness Backs, Waxed Shoe Butts, Kip Butts and Bright Calf and Kip Linings; also a good selection of Bags and Trunks and Fancy Leather Goods. Connection: United Kingdom (South Coast and between London and Bristol). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Parsons served in connection with the Methodist Church. as Circuit Steward for many years, Superintendent of Fisherton Street P. M. Sunday School for eighteen years, and served on the Salisbury and District Free Church Council as President for one year.

PARSONS, THOS., & SONS, Varnish, Enamel and Colour Manufacturers, 315317, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1802 by George Parsons and another. Continued by (1) Thomas Parsons; (2) Thomas Parsons and George Parsons. Present Principals: George Parsons and William Parsons. Several of the firm's original Customers are still on the books at the present day, unbroken business having been done with them for over a century. Premises: Extensive Works at Mitcham, Surrey, covering over three acres. Equipped with modern appliances. Staff: Over 100 (England). Staff Clubs: Football, Cricket. Branches: Brighton, Brussels, Melbourne, Amsterdam, Johannesburg, Bombay, Windsor (Ontario). Specialities: Varnishes of all descriptions, Japans and Fine Colours, " Endelline " and " Endelflat " Enamels. Awards: Gold Medal, Festival of Empire, 1911; Gold Medal, Latin-British Exhibition, 1912; Gold Medal, Anglo-German Exhibition, 1913, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6347 Mayfair (three lines); No. 854 Mitcham (Works). Telegraphic Address: " Varjap, Wesdo, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PARTINGTON ADVERTISING CO., Ltd. (THE), Advertising Contractors. Central Offices: Victoria Embankment, near Temple Station, London, W.C. Established in 1860 by the late Charles Frederick Partington. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Henry Burton. Branches: Paris, Vienna, New York. Business: Railway, Newspaper, and Street Station Advertising. Were sole Advertising Contractors to tho American, Spanish, French, and German Exhibitions. Award: Honorary Diploma and Medal. Indian and Colonial Exhibition, 1886. Telephones: Nos. 3185 and 4280 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Partanus, Estrand, London." Bankers: National Bank (Grosvenor Gardens, S.W.).

PARTINGTON & NORRINGTON, Ltd., Blouse, Skirt, and Lace Goods Manufacturers, 72, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Thomas Partington (d. July, 1907), who was joined in 1883 by Charles Norrington. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, December 22nd, 1911. Present Directors: Charles Norrington (Governing Director), George A. Norrington, Edwin 0. Norrington. Premises: Warehouse of five floors and basement at 72, Wood Street; Factories at 16, Edmund Place, 4, Fitchett's Court, and 10, Fore Street, E.C. Specialities: Blouses, Robes, Underskirts, Frillings, and lliade-up Lace Goods. The firm have made the blouse a leading feature of their business, and have a reputation for design and workmanship. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial; supply best-class Ladies' Outfitters and Drapers. Telephone: No. 4894 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Partington, Cent, London." Bankers: London' City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Fore Street, E.C.).

PARTINGTON, R. & J., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, 40, 40A, Portland Street, Manchester and Hazlehurst Mills, Worsley, Lancs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Richard Partington (d.) and John Partington (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Joseph Partington, Francis Woodward Partington, William Partington, Thomas Glover and James Moores. Secretary: George C. Barnett. Staff: Manchester Warehouse, seventeen; Factory, 380. Staff Clubs: Annual Savings' under the firm's management. Branches: London, 25, Aldermanbury Street, and 32, Gresham Street, E.C.; Belfast, 50, North Street; Dublin, 14, Wicklow Street; Cork, Ashburton, St. Luke's; Leeds. Agencies: Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Cape Town, Amsterdam, and Brussels. Specialities: Oxford and Harvard Shirtings, Blue Dungarees and Denims, and White and Khaki Drills, Dyed and Printed Linings, Grey and Coloured Pocketings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 4026 City, Manchester; No. 43 Eccles (Factory). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Parting," Manchester. Codes: A B C (New Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

PARTRIDGE & COOPER, Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers and Printers, 191 and 192, Fleet Street, 1 and 2, Chancery Lane, E.C., 20, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.; Warehouse, 15, Clerkenwe:1 Close, E.C., London; 70, Surrey Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. ' • Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1841 by Mr. Partridge. Partnership Successions: (1) Mrs. Partridge (Widow); (2) Partridge & Cozens; (3) Partridge & Cooper. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir Geo. Wyatt Truscott, Bart., Henry Dexter Truscott, James Ralph Truscott, Cyril Truscott. General Manager: Oliver Notcutt. Business: Manufacturing Stationers and Printers, Lithographers, Engravers, Die Sinkers, and Account Book Manu facturers; dealers in Parchment; makers of Steel Pens. Devisers of Modern Business Systems. Suppliers of all Office Fittings and Requisites. Connection: United Kingdom principally; also Provincial, Foreign and Colonial connection. Tele phones: Fleet Street and Chancery Lane, No. 2585 and 2586 Holborn; Warehouse (Clerkenwell), No. 5316 City; Westminster, No. 61 Victcria; Sheffield, No. 1666 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Chartaria, Fleet, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Chancery Lane). Sir George Wyatt Truscott, Bart., was Lord Mayor of London, 1908-9.

PARTRIDGE, FRANK, Fine Art Dealer, 26, King Street, St. James's Square, London, S.W., and 741, Fifth Avenue, New York. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1904 by Frank Partridge, the present principal. Specialities: Old English Furniture, Chinese Porcelains, Jades, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 7557 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Frapartri," London and New York. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Club: Old Ford Manor Golf (Barnet). Pastimes: Hunting and Golf.

PARTRIDGE, S. W., & CO., Publishers, 21 and 22, Old Bailey. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m, Established in 1851 by Samuel Wm. Partridge and Daniel Oakey. Partnership Successions: (1) Partridge & Co.; (2) S. W. Partridge & Co. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 919 Holborn. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pictorial, Cent, London."

PASCALL (JAMES), Ltd., Wholesale and Export Confectioners, 100, Blackfriars Road, London, S.E. Chocolate Factory: Furze Down Works, Streatham Lanes. Mitcham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by James Pascall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: James Pascall, J.P., F. A. S. W. Pascall, L. Pascall and A. P. Jones. Secretary: G. A. Wilbraham. Staff: 1300. Specialities: Confectionery Novelties. Award: Grand Prix, Latin-British Exhibition, 1912. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5446 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pascall, Friars, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Newington).

PATEN & CO., Wholesale and Family Wine and Spirit Merchants, 19, Long Causeway, Peterborough; 40, Broad Street, Peterborough; 12, Market Place, Loughborough, Leicestershire; Red Lion Square, Stamford, Lincs.; 37, Nottingham Street, Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire; and Great Whyte, Ramsey, Hunts. Hours of Business: Head Office,•9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Branches, vary. Established: Peterborough business about 1865 by W. D. Nicholas (d.). Taken over in 1898 by A. J. Paten, the present principal. One of the largest holders of fine Vintage Ports in the Midlands. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Fine Vintage Wines and Old Malt Whiskies. Are Wholesale Bottling and Distributing Agents for Bass & Co., Brewers, and for other Brewers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 169 Peterborough. Telegraphic Address: " Paten, Peterborough."

PATENT BORAX CO., Ltd. (THE), Borax and Borax Preparations Manufacturers, Ladywood, Birmingham, and Wharf Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1874 by Jesse Ascough (d.), as The Patent Borax Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: A. J. Buncher (Chairman), H. T. Willis, J. H. Hetherington and T. H. Adams. Premises: Cover two acres. Specialities: Borax Preparations for Household, Laundry and Toilet uses. Patents and Trade Marks: Throughout the world. Awards: Thirty-four Medals and Exhibition Award since 1892. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. The King. Held appointments to His late Majesty King Edward, and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 3572 Central; No. 2756 North, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Borax, Birmingham "; " Borate, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited."

PATENT PULP MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd. (THE), Thetford, Norfolk. London Office: 38, York Road, King's Cross, N. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated aa a Limited Company in 1879. Directors: A. Oppenheimer (Chairman), L. Adler, W. B. Fordham, J. T. Burden, F. H. Millington. Manager and Secretary: F. H. Millington, J.P. Premises: Cover about four acres. Specialities: Hollow Ware, Special Domestic Articles, Art Bowls for Growing Bulbs, Toilet. Pail Tray, Washing Basins, Jugs, Water Cans, Decanter Stands, Household Covers, Card Trays, Tobacco Jars, Sponge Bowls, Workboxes, &c. Trade-mark: " Fibre " (Registered). Awards: Gold and Silver Medals. First-class Certificates whenever exhibited. Calcutta, 1884; London, 1884; Adelaide, 1887. Connection.: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses; " Millington, Thetford "; " Coachbox, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

PATENT SHAFT & AXLE-TREE COMPANY, Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Bridgework, Wheels, Tyres, and Axles, Steel and Iron Plates and Bars, Bogies and Underframes, Wagons, Turntables, Rivets, &c., Wednesbury, Staffs. London Office: Brunswick House, Central Buildings, Westminster, S.W. (Telegrams, " Railcar, Vic, London." Telephone, 2317 Victoria (three lines)). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 30 p.m. Established in 1840. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864. In 1902 incorporated with the Metropolitan Carriage Wagon and Finance Co., Ltd. Directors: Frank Dudley Docker, C.B. (Chairman), J. F. Cay, W. C. Shackleford, Percy Wheeler, Alex Spencer, Ludford C. Docker, J.P., Lincoln Chandler, John Greg, and Henry Walker. Secretary: Paul P. Burbush. Blackfriars Bridge, London, was built by the Company; also some of the largest bridges in the world; amongst others the Benares Bridge over the Ganges, and the Colenso and Frere Bridge (seven spans) in Natal, which holds the record for rapid construction. Premises: The estate of the Company covers 500 acres. Staff: Over 3500 workmen. Specialities: Brunswick Rolled Steel Disc Wheels and Wheels and Axles for Carriages and Wagons, Wrought Iron and Steel Bridgework, Railway Wagons, Pressed Steel Underframes and Bogies, Steel and Iron Plates, Sections and Rivets, and all descriptions of Steelwork for Railway Stock. Telephone: No. 3 Wednesbury. Telegraphic Address: " Shaft, Wednesbury." Codes A.1, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Western Union. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PATENT STEAM CARPET BEATING CO., Ltd., Carpet Beaters, Cleaners, and Dyers, 196, York Street, King's Cross, London, N. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Simmons & Tullidge. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1893. Managing Director: S. Simmons (founder). Original patentees of Carpet Beating Machinery in England. Branches; Ten in various parts of London and suburbs. Specialities: The Cleaning, Dyeing and Beating of Carpets, and General Household Dyeing and Cleaning. By the Company's system all the dirt is taken out without injury to the fabric. An extensive business is carried on throughout London and Suburbs. Patents and Inventions: Carpet-beating Machines and Carpet-cleaning Machines. Telephone: No. 127 North. Telegraphic Address: "Eradicate, Camroad, London."

PATENT VICTORIA STONE CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Paving Stone, &c., 11 to 13, Hamilton House, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1868 by J. J. Griffiths, J.P. (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Specialities: Paving Stones and all kinds of Architectural Stonework. Awards: Numerous, International and other Exhibitions. Telephones: No. 2866 London Wall; No. 11489 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Victoria, Stone, Ave, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., &c.

PATERSON, BAXTER & CO., Linen Merchants and Sailcloth and Tarpaulin Manufacturers, 170, Ingram Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1877 by Robert S. Paterson and Alexander Baxter; joined in 1901 by Samuel P. Cochrane, Charles McPherson, and Alexander Baxter (jun.). Present Principals: Alexander Baxter, Samuel P. Cochrane, Charles McPherson, and Alexander Baxter (jun.). Premises: Occupy two large flats in Glasgow. Staff: In Glasgow, fifteen; London, three; Leeds, three. Branches: Leeds and London. Specialities: Sailcloths, Tarpaulins, Twines, &c. Also Clothiers' Jute Padding. Connection United Kingdom, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, New Zealand, and the Cape. Telephone: Bell 2587 Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Tempest, Glasgow." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

PATERSON (ERIC) & CO., Merchants, 4, Bishopsgate, London, E C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1911. Present Principal: Eric Paterson. Specialities: Barley,, Carpets and Opium. Connection: United Kingdom, America, Asia Minor, Smyrna. Telephone: No. 7924 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Ericapat, London." Codes: A B C, Private. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Club: (Mr. Eric Paterson), Thatched House, St. James'.

PATERSON, LAING & BRUCE, Ltd., Australian Soft Goods Merchants, 7/8, Australian Avenue, London, RC., 264/282, Flinders Lane, Melbourne, and Wynard Street, Sydney. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1897. Formed to acquire the old-established business of Paterson, Laing & Bruce. One of the best known firms in the Australian Colonies. The business of Lark, Sons & Co., Ltd., of Sydney, and R. Lewis & Sons, of Hobart, being subsequently added, it was re-formed in 1901, as Paterson Laing & Bruce (1901), Ltd., with additional capital. Directors: In Melbourne—Ernest Bruce (Managing Director), Edwin P. Truman, John Cupples (Local); In Sydney—Alexander B. Templeman, W. H. Thompson (Local); In London—Stanley M. Bruce (Chairman) and James Robert Laing. Specialities: Soft Goods. Telephones: No. 6018 and 6019 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Paradox," London, Melbourne and Sydney. Bankers: Bank of New South Wales, Ltd., Bank of Scotland, and London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

PATERSON (OSCAR), Ltd., Glass Stainers and Decorators, 216, Bath Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by Oscar Paterson, the present principal, a leading exponent of the new movement in Stained Glass taste, of which notices appeared in the " Dekorative Kunst," Munich; " L'Art Decoratif," Paris; " Studio," London; "Craftsman," New Y ork, &c. Premises situated in the best quarter of the City. Business: Artists in Stained Glass. Specialities: Memorial Windows, Stained Glass for Domestic and Public Buildings. Works completed include Memorial Windows in St. Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh, and in numerous other Cathedrals and Churches (Paisley Abbey, Ibrox U.F. Church, &c.); also decorative Stained Glacs Work in many public buildings and private houses, notably at Glasgow, Edinburgh, London, Manchester, Oxford, and at Berlin, Cologne, Dusseldorf, Breslau, Aix-la-Chapelle, Helsingfors (Finland), &c. Have carried out decorative glass work on steamers of the Cunard Lines (" Lusitania "), Anchor Line, P. & 0. Line. Specialise in the " Intaglio " method Stained Glass Decoration, rendering the work imperishable. Connection: United Kingdom; also Foreign and Colonial, especially in Germany, France, and India. Contractors to H.M. Government and to the Indian Government. Telephone: No. 29 Douglas. Mr. Oscar Paterson, late Lecturer on " Glass Technology " Of the City and Guilds of London Insti tute, is a member of the Royal Societies of Arts, Scotland and London; Arts and Crafts Society, London; Art Workers' Guild, London; Associate of the Royal Society of Literature; Associate of the Royal Institute of Public Health; member of the Archaeological Society.

PATMAN & FOTHERINGHAM, Ltd., Builders and Contractors, 100 and 102, Theobalds Road, London, W.C.; and 290, Liverpool Road, Islington, N. Established about 1800. Became Patman & Fotheringham about 1840. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Fotheringham Parker (Managing Director). L. T. Williams (Director and Secretary). Are Builders and Contractors on a large scale. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 362 Holborn; No. 551 North. Telegraphic Address: " Building, London."

PATMORE (DEIGHTON) & CO., Ltd., Incorporated Insurance Brokers. Head Office: 180, Piccadilly, London, W. Represented at Lloyds, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1905 by Deighton Patmore. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Deighton Patmore (Managing Director), Clarence Hatry and Bruce Logan. Premises: Occupy three floors in Piccadilly. Staff: Twenty-five. Branches: Birmingham, Manchester, Leeds, Swansea and Dublin. Correspondents in Paris, Berlin and Brussels. Specialities: Exhibition Insurance, Personal Loans and Mortgages in conjunction with Insurance Policies. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 2813, 2814 and 3274 Regent; No. 1633 Park. Telegraphic Address: " Aptorem, Piccy, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London and SouthWestern Bank, Ltd. (Regent Street, S.W.). Mr. Bruce Logan is a celebrated amateur sportsman, in racing, rowing, fencing, hunting and football. " Clubs: Royal Automobile, National Sporting, Thames Rowing, Motor Club, &c.

PATON (EDWARD) & SON, Shooting and Estate Agents, 35A, St. James's Street (corner of Jermyn Street), London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in Perth, N.B., by Edward Paton and Edward Lonsdale Paton prior to 1864, and in London in 1870. Present Principal: Edward Lonsdale Paton. Telephone: No. 2535 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: "Shootings, London."

PATON, J. & G., Ltd., Flax Spinners, 9, Meadow Place Buildings, Dundee. Works: Chapel Works, Montrose. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p:m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1795 by John and George Paton. Continued by succession to John Paton and William M. J. Paton (grandsons of the senior Founder). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: John Paton Gibb (Managing Director and Chairman), John Thornton and Alexander Lindsay. Secretary: George C. Sangster. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Extensive Flax Spinning Mill, containing 21,000 spindles. Staff: 1100. Business I Flax Spinnings. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly); Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 757 Central, Dundee; No. 30 Montrose. Telegraphic Address: " Patons, Dundee." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. George Paton, one of the founders, was Provost of Montrose in 1827, 1830, and 1842. Mr. W. M. J. Paton was an enthusiastic Volunteer, being Commanding Officer of the Artillery Corps in Montrose for a number of years.

PATON (JOHN), SON & CO., Ltd., Yarn Spinners, Kilncraigs Factory, Alloa, Scotland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over a century ago by John Paton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: David Thomson (Chairman), Alexander Paton Forrester-Paton, William Thomson Procter, Alexander Forrester-Paton, John Graeme Thomson, John Forrester-Paton, and Albert David Thomson. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped. Staff: About 1900. Branches: 192, Aldersgate Street, London, E.C.; 10, Newton Street, Manchester; 230, Flinders Lane, Melbourne. Speciality: Knitting Wools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 65 Alloa. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Paton, Alloa." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd., London.

PATON (JOHN) & SONS, Fellmongers and Wool Merchants, West Arthurlie, Barrhead, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by John Paton. Present Principals: Hugh Paton (son), and Robert Squair Paton (grandson of the founder). Premises: Cover five acres, one acre covered with buildings and one acre for storing water. Staff: Seventy. Business: Producers of Home and Colonial Wools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1 Barrhead. Telegraphic Address: " Paton, Barrhead." Mr. Hugh Paton is Provost of Barrhead and Deacon of Skinners Incorporation, Glasgow.

PATON, MACLARAN & CO. (A. A. Paton & Co., America), Cotton Merchants, Clarendon Buildings, Tithebarn Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1867 by A. A. Paton (d. 1904) in America. Joined by A. B. Paton, 1869 to 1889; by G. S. Maclaran, 1889 to 1904; and T. J. Walmesley, 1895 to 1902. Present Principals: A. A. Paton and C. F. Wolfenden. Branches: In United States. Business: Cotton Merchants. Telephones: Nos. 7812 and 7813 Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Freedom, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.; Bank of England.

PATTERSON (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Rag Merchants, Wellington Road, Dewsbury, and 33, Avenue du Parc de Montsouris, Paris. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by, Victor Galaup and William Patterson (dissolved, 1906). Continued by William Patterson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: William Patterson (Chairman), John C. Patterson, John W. Farnhill and Maurice Lequen. Secretary: John Skinner. Premises: Warehouses at Wellington Road and Wellington Street, Business: Rag Merchants, Exporters and Importers. Connection: Foreign and United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 20 Dewsbury; No. 49 Ossett; No. 81832 Paris. Telegraphic Addresses: " Paix, Dewsbury "; " Wilpatters, Paris."

PATTESON, J. & H., Marble, Granite and Mosaic Workers, Monuments, Tiling, Faience and Terrazzo Specialists, 96, Oxford Road, Manchester; Depot opposite Southern Cemetery, Chorlton-cum-Hardy; Works, Elsinore Road, Old Trafford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1805 by James Patteson, continued by (1) James and Henry Patteson (sons); (2) James and Henry Patteson (grandsons); (3) James Patteson; (4) J. H. Burgess (d.) and J. E. Mills. Present Principal: J. E. Mills. This very old firm has always been in the front rank. They were amongst the first to develop Marble and Mosaic Work of every description now extensively used in all large buildings. About the middle of the last century the firm acquired the business of John Knowles, Marble Mason and Contractor, Builder of the Theatre Royal, started as General Contractors and Stone Masons and took a large part in the construction of the Manchester and Birmingham Railways, &c. Premises: Showrooms and Offices at Oxford Road. Extensive works for Sawing, Moulding, Polishing, &c., with pneumatic installation. Staff: Competent for each department, Draughtsmen, Italian Mosaic workers, Carvers, Letter-cutters, Marble and Granite Masons, Polishers, &c. Specialities: Marble Decorations in every variety of Marble and Alabaster, Granite Work of every description for building and monumental work, Mosaic Work, Roman, Ceramic, Venetian, &c. Terrazzo specialists in Marble, Adamant, Granito, &c., for Pavements, Staircases, Wall Lining, &C., Tiling and Faience for Walls, Floors and Constructional Work, Monumental and Ecclesiastical Sculptors, Noted for the highest class work. Awards: Bronze Medal, Calcutta International Exhibition, 1863 and 1864; Diploma for Special Exhibit, Royal Jubilee Exhibition and Liverpool International Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial (extensive). Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, Office of Works, &c.). Large export trade done in tiles supplied to Indian Princes and Rajahs, also shipped to many other parts. Amongst the work done may be mentioned the Marble Work at Debenham and Freebodys, Wigmore Street, London; Marble and Mosaic Work at Messrs. Vickers' Offices, Sheffield; Town Hall, Sheffield; Cutlers' Hall, Sheffield; County Hall, Wakefield; Manchester City Art Gallery; the Corn Exchange and the Crematorium, Manchester; the Marble interior of the Equitable Assurance Company's Manchester Offices; and principal Staircases and Walls of the Midland Hotel, &c. Telephone: No. 1201 Central (Showrooms and Offices); No. 21 Chorlton (Southern Cemetery Depot); No. 6 Trafford Park (Works), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Patteson, Manchester." Code: A B C. The late Mr. Henry Patteson was for many years an Alderman of the City of Manchester, Chairman of the Waterworks Committee, and was Mayor in 1880.

PATTISSON, H., & CO., Manufacturers of Patent Horse Boots and Golf Course Requisites, 4 and 6, Greyhound Lane, Streatham, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898. Specialities: " Pattisson " Horse Boots, &c., and Everything Required on a Golf Course, Steel Bogey Hole Tins and Bogey " Hole Cutters, &c., Navy Bunting and Cotton Flags, &c., Wood Rollers (Solid, Hollow and Water Ballast), Combined Sweeping and Rolling Machine, Mowers, horse and hand (al makes), Roller Carts, Water-Sprinklers, &c. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Silver Medals, Royal Horticultural Society, 1904; Royal International Exhibition, 1912; Award of Merit, Golf Championship Meeting. Connection: United Kingdom; Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 710 Streatham. Telegraphic Address: " Mensuralis, Streathcom, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PAUL (KEGAN), TRENCH, TRUBNER & CO., Ltd., Publishers, &c.—See KEGAN PAUL, TRENCH, TRUBNER & CO., Ltd.

PAUL, WM., & SON, WALTHAM CROSS, Ltd., Rose Growers, Tree, Plant, Bulb and Seed Merchants, Pauls' Royal Nurseries, Waltham Cross, Herts. Nurseries also at Broxbourne, Herts., and Loughton, Essex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1806 by the late Adam Paul. Present Nurseries founded by the late William Paul, F.L.S. Traded first as A. Paul & Son; (2) Wm. Paul & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Managing Director: Arthur William Paul. One of the oldest Nurseries. Premises: Nurseries and Greenhouses occupy over 80 acres fully stocked. Specialities: Rose Growing, including the raising of New Varieties. Undertake the formation of Rose Gardens. Large growers of fruit trees, hardy trees, Camellias, Rhododendrons, and hardy plants of all kinds. Large number of New Roses, Camellias and other plants have been raised and introduced to commerce. Awards: Over 1000 Medals, Cups, and.other distinctions gained during past fifty years. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. and to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Held a Warrant to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria and to H.M. King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 128 Waltham Cross. Telegraphic Address: " Paul, Waltham Cross." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street).

PAULMANN & KELLERMANN, Envelope Manufacturers, 199, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Factory at Elberfeld, Germany. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by Ed. Paulmann and F. J. Kellermann. Speciality: Tinted Envelopes and Condor Envelopes. Telephone: No. 4025 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Emgee, Cannon, London."

PAULSEN, KOEDT & CO., Manufacturers and Merchants, 2, Fairfield Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by P. A. Paulsen and A. P. Koedt. Present Principal: A. P. Koedt. Manager: John E. Champion. Branches: London, Copenhagen, Amsterdam, Toronto, and Berlin. Specialities: Cotton Linings and Calicoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3298 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Paulsen, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited.

PAVENTA, E. F., R. University Graduate, Translator of Languages, and Interpreter, trading as the " Polyglot Translating and Interpreting Bureau," 68, Wool Exchange, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: -9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1900 by E. F. Paventa, the present principal. Business: Translations from and into all languages. Expert in Italian translations. Translations undertaken for all purposes; Legal, Technical, Commercial, Shipping, Insurance, Electrical, Mining, and General Engineering. Translations Typewritten; competent experts for all languages. Contractors to various Government Departments, Courts of Justice; Interpreters to various Metropolitan Police Courts. Special terms for regular business correspondence and for technical, legal, and scientific translations. Confidential Inquiry Work at home and abroad. Highest references from the legal and other professions. Telephone: No. 9587 Central. Bankers London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Coleman Street Branch).

PAWSONS & LEAFS, Ltd., Warehousemen, 5 to 14, St. Paul's Churchyard, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and 6 p.m., according to season. Established in 1873 as Pawson & Co., Ltd., amalgamation with Loaf & Co., Ltd., 1892, under present style. Directors: Thos. Tettrell Phelps (Chairman), John Williams, Thomas Paige Palmer. Secretary: Joseph L. Godfrey, F.C.I.S. Business is one of the largest in the wholesale textile trade. Staff: Between 400 and 500 persons. Branches: Melbourne (AU stralia) , Wellington (N.Z.). Specialities: Everything connected with a wholesale drapery business, the various departments of which are all fully represented in the warehouse. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 828 to 831 City (four lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Pawson, London," " Schaubild, Melbourne," " Waschtisch, Wellington, N.Z." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Western Union. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PAYNE & GRIMES, Ltd., Steam Laundry Proprietors. Registered Office: 11, Pancras Lane, Queen Street, London, E.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Managing Directors: G. E. Payne, W. F. Grimes. Premises: The Company own the following well-equipped Laundries:— The Clapham Common Laundry, Wirtemberg Street, Clapham, S.W.; the Grove Laundry, Keith Grove, Shepherd's Bush, W. Those are replete with every modern improvement, and are conducted on a sound sanitary basis. Specialities: Hotel, Restaurant, and Private Work. Particular attention to finish of all articles. Telephones: No. 590 Battersea; No. 1039 Hammersmith; Head Office, No. 8003 Bank.

PAYNE & SONS (OTLEY) Ltd., Printers' Engineers, Atlas Works, Otley, Yorks; 103, Farringdon Road, London, E.C.; and 63, North Frederick Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by David Payne(d.). Continued as (1) David Payne & Sops; (2) Payne & Sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Frederick Payne (Managing Director), Cyril Payne, Sydney Payne, Herbert Payne and Walter Ashley Payne. Premises: Extensive up-to-date works covering about five acres. Staff: 400 to 500. Specialities: " Wharfedale " Printing Machines, Perfecting Machines and Cutting Machinery, also the " Cossar " patent Flat Bed Web Presses. Original Inventors (David Payne) of the " Wharf adale " machines; Screw Clamp Guillotines and " Diamond " Self-Clamp Guillotine; "Universal " Treadle Platen. Awards: Gold Medals, Highest Awards, Leeds, 1875; Calcutta, 1883, 1884; London, 1885; Manchester, 1900; Glasgow, 1901; London, 1906; Edinburgh, 1908; Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 71 and 75 Otley; No. 607 Holborn, London; No. 3225 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: Wharfedale," Otley, London and Glasgow. Code: Western Union. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PAYNE, W., & SON, Wholesale Toy Dealers, 14, 16, and 17, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1799 by William Payne. Present Principals: Thomas Robert Kenneth and George Ley B. Rees. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Toys of all kinds and Fancy Goods of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, all the Colonies, India, China, and Continental Capitals. Telephone: No. 5090 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tetracolon, London." Bankers: London City & Midland Bank, Ltd.

PAYTON, PEPPER & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturing Jewellers, 3, 4 and 5, Vyse Street, Birmingham, and 34, Ely Place, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m Established in 1849 by Charles Payton. Continued by (1) Henry Payton and George J. Payton, 1864 to 1877; (2) Henry Payton, George J. Payton and J. F. Pepper, 1877 to 1898. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: P. E. Payton (Managing Director and Chairman), F. H. Pepper, H. A. Pepper, S. H. Brierley, A. I. Sherwin and R. E. Dowsett. Staff: 300. Business: Manufacturing Jewellers. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 7 Jewellers, Birmingham; No. 5062 Holborn, London. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

PEACE, LIMITED, Railway, Shipping, and. Forwarding Agents, Merchants and Steamship Owners, Warehousemen, Furniture Removal Contractors and Depository Proprietors. Chief Offices: West Quay and Chandos Street, Bridgwater. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by Alfred Peace. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Aglen Hubert Peace (Chairman and Managing Director), R. Peace, Lieut. A. G. Peace, R.N., H. B. Peace. Branches: 1, 2 and 3, Melcombe Terrace, Norwich, and Back Roads, Bournemouth. Business: Railway, Shipping, and Government Contractors; Furniture Removal Contractors and Warehousemen, Corn, Coal, Hay, Forage, and General Merchants. Steamship Owners, running steamers regularly between Bridgwater, Bristol, Cardiff, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 52 Bournemouth; No. 88 Bridgwater. Telegraphic Ad-dresses: "Peace, Bournemouth "; "Peace, Bridgwater."

PEACH, J., & SONS, Ltd., Paper Merchants, Paper Bag Manufacturers, Letterpress Printers and Lithographers, Brook Street Works, Derby. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1875 by James Peach. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Managing Director: James Peach. Staff: Upwards of fifty. Specialities: Brown, Cap, Glazed Casing and Parchment Papers. Machine and Hand-Made Paper Bags. Manufactured, Stationery for Office and General Use, Printing and Lithography for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 603x4 Derby. Telegraphic Address: " Peach 603x4 Derby." Bankers Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Derby). Mr. Peach was a member of Derby Borough Council for ten years, now retired; also a member of Derby Board of Guardians, Overseer, &c., and works for the poorest and worst housed people in Derby.

PEACOCK & BUCHAN, Ltd., Inventors and Manufacturers of Anti-corrosive and Anti-fouling Compositions for Ships' Bottoms; Paints, Colours, &c., Mousehole Factory, Shirley, Southampton. Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1848 by Captain George Peacock, R.N., and Henry Joseph Buchan, J.P. (Mayor of Southampton, 1872). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Secretary: C. J. Wood. Outside Manager: A. H. McKenzie. Premises: Originally at Southampton Docks, later transferred to Terminus Terrace and then to present address. Works entirely reconstructed and extended in 1908, and now cover about three acres. The Factory is amongst the most up-to-date in the Kingdom, being equipped with the most modern plant, including the latest Tin-making machinery. Agencies: Agents in the principal seaports and many inland towns in -all parts of the world. Specialities: Protective and Anti-fouling Compositions for Ships' Bottoms, and Boot- topping Compositions, in which particular feature this Company is admittedly preeminent; also Metallic " Copper Paint " for Wooden Vessels, Sanitary Ready Mixed Paints, and high class Enamels for use in all Climates and for every description of work. Anti-corrosive Metallic and Galvanizing Paints, " Permanent Red " and other paints for Railway and Bridge work. Awards: Numerous Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals at International Exhibitions, ranging from Havre, 1868, to United Provinces Exhibition, Allahabad, 1910. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to the Admiralty for over sixty years, to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, Foreign Governments, and many of the principal Steamship Companies. Telephone: No. 440 Southampton. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Peabuch, Southampton." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

PEAKE (G. NEWTON), Ltd., Manufacturers of " Vali for " Weathercoats, 20, Gt. Portland Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by G. Newton Peake, the present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: G. Newton Peake (Managing Director) and James Theobald. Specialities: " V alitor" (Registered) Weather-coats for Ladies' and Men's Wear, Weatherproof and Showerproof. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3766 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Newtonette, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

PEARCE (AUGUSTUS) & SONS, Iron, Steel, Coke and Sand Merchants, 129, Carlisle Street East, Sheffield, and Windsor Street, Attercliffe, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1861 by Augustus Pearce. Continued by (1) Augustus Pearce, Edward Henry Pearce and:Alfred Pearce; (2) Edward Henry Pearce and Alfred Pearce. Present Principals: Edward Henry Pearce, Alfred Pearce (junior) and Charles Henry Pearce. Business: Iron, Steel, Coke and Sand Merchants, including all descriptions of Scrap Iron, Steel, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1098 Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Machinery, Sheffield." Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.

PEARCE, DUFF & CO., Baking and Egg Powder ' Manufacturers, Spa Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Factory, 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by William Pearce and W. H. Duff, succeeded by George Pearce, Daniel Duff, and Mrs. E. J. Duff. Present Principals: Daniel Duff, Mrs. E. J. Duff, D. Duff (junior), J. T. Hosking, and L. G. Cockhead. The extensive business is carried on in large and spacious premises five storeys in height, covering an area of many thousand superficial feet, giving employment to nearly 500 persons. Specialities: Baking and Egg Powders, Custard and Blanc Mange Powders, Table Jellies; Black Lead Grinders and Packers, and Manufacturing Drysalters. Well known throughout the trade. Sole proprietors of " Tower " Stove Polish and the wellknown " Flakn.a " Gold Medal Baking Powder and other preparations. Are Packers of Grocers' and Oilmen's Sundries, having large connections throughout the United Kingdom and the British Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 142 and 3556 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Pearce Duff, London."

PEARL LIFE ASSURANCE CO., Ltd., High Holborn, W.C. Hours of Business 110 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1864. Directors: P. J. Foley (President), Francis D. Bowles, J.P., C.C., George Shrubsall, J.P. (Managing Directors), James Roll, Alderman (Chairman), Thomas Moullin, James McMullen, John T. Bonny. Secretary: John H. Keene. Staff: Indoor, nearly 1,000; outdoor, about 19,000. Business: Life Assurance, Annuities, Endowments, Personal Accident, and Employers' Liability. Connection: All parts of the United Kingdom. Telephone: Nos. 2881, 2882 and 2883 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: "Mercedes, Westcent, London."

PEARL MILL CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners, Glodwick, Oldham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Chairman: C. C. Spencer, J.P. General Manager: Jesse Thorpe. Salesman: John Davis. Secretary: James Leather. Premises: Very extensive, containing 140,000 spindles. Staff J 450. Specialities: Spinners of good class American Cotton Yarns, Mule and Ring 10's to 42's counts—cop and beam. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 208, Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Pearl Mill, Oldham." Bankers London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PEARS, A. & F., Ltd., 71 to 75, New Oxford Street, London, W.C. Works: Isleworth-on-Thames. Depots: New York, Chicago, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Wellington, Auckland, Dunedin, and Christchurch, N.Z.; Yokohama and Tokio. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1789 by one Andrew Pears. From 1835 to 1838 the business was carried on by Andrew Pears, the founder, and Francis Pears, his grandson; from the latter year until 1865 by Francis Pears alone. From 1865 the business was continued by Francis Pears, and his son, Andrew Pears, with Thomas J. Barratt, until 1877, when Francis Pears retired. The business then remained with Thomas J. Barratt and Andrew Pears until it was incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892, with Thomas J. Barratt, Chairman and Managing Director in London; Andrew Pears, Managing Director at Isleworth; Frederick Gordon and Edward H. Byas, Directors. On the death of Mr. Gordon, Alex. T. Hollings.. worth became a Director. Mr. Andrew Pears died 10th February, 1909, Sir Joseph Beecham, of St. Helens, filling the vacant seat. Sir Thomas R. Dewar has also joined the Board as ViceChairman. Specialities: Toilet Soaps and Perfumery. Inventors of the celebrated Transparent Soap, for which the Company is known all over the world. Depots as above, with Agencies in the large centres of commerce in every civilised country. Awards: The Grand Prix and Gold Medal at the International Exhibition, Paris, and twenty other highest awards. Hors Concours at the Franco-British Exhibition, 1908, Mr. Barratt being president of the English and French Juries. The Company hold Royal Warrants of Appointment to King George V. and Queen Mary, to His late Majesty King Edward and Queen Alexandra, and to H.M. the King of Spain, and to the late Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 2585 Gerrard, No. 6206 Central, and Nos. 1978, 4372 Regent (for London); No. 23 Ealing (for Isleworth). Cables: " Pears, London." Mr. Barratt is a Deputy Lieutenant of the City of London, ex-Master of the Barbers and a momber of the Carpenters Company, and a Fellow of the Statistical and of the Royal Microscopical Societies. Clubs: Devonshire, Fly Fishers, Automobile, and British Empire in London, and in New York the New York Club.

PEARSE A. C., & CO., Manufacturers of Nets, Tulles, Veilings; Lace Merchants, 14, Pilcher Gate, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by R. D. Warburg & Co. Succeeded in 1904 by A. C. Pearse, Paul C. Mey, A. E. Smith, and W. R. Pearse, the present principals. Staff: About 150. Branch: 122, Wood Street, London, F.C. Specialities: Silk and Cotton Nets, Veilings. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 92 and 580 (National), Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Warburg, Nottingham." Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co. (Nottingham).

PEARSE, J. & B., & CO., Army Clothiers and Contractors, 28, Floral Street, Covent Garden, W.C., and 95 and 97, Church Street, Bethnal Green Road, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Estab lished over 150 years ago. Specialities: Army, Tram, and Motor Clothing and Liveries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 3216 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Brice Pearse, Lon don." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie_& Co.

PEARSE, J. E., & CO. (E. PENTON & SON), Leather Merchants, Shoe Mercers, &c., Overstone Road, Northampton; E. Penton & Son, 1 to 11, Mortimer Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Specialities: Everything for the Boot and Shoe Trade. Connection: United King dom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 109 (two lines) Northampton. Tele graphic and Cable Address: " Penton, Northampton." Mr. E. Penton (jun.) was Mayor of Marylebone (London) for 1912 1913.

PEARSON (C. ARTHUR), Ltd., Publishers, 17 and 18, Henrietta Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Business: The Publication of Magazines, Weekly Newspapers, &c. Telephone: No. 7927 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Humoursome, Rand, London."

PEARSON, F. G., & CO., Manufacturers of Edge Tools, Joiners' Tools, Forks and Garden Tools, Hope Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1854 by Francis George Pearson. Specialities: Hay, Manure, and Coke Forks, Punches, Armourers' Tools, &c. Are sole proprietors of the firm of James Wall & Co., Holborn Works, Dronfield, Heavy Edge Tool and Garden Tool Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 580 Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Acute, Sheffield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PEARSON, H. T., & CO., Leather, Hide, and Skin Merchants, and Merchants in East Indian and Australian Produce, Weston Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Thomas Pearson, trading as Thomas Pearson & Co. Premises: Formerly at 72, St. Thomas's Street, • London Bridge, S.E. Removed to present address in March, 1913. Large building, fitted with concrete floors, electric lifts and cranes. Present Principal: H. T. Pearson. The business has become an extensive one, and the firm operate largely as merchants and factors in English, American, Australian, and Indian Hides, Skins, and Leather. Are direct importers of Australian, Indian, and American Hides, Skins, Leathers, and General Produce, and hold heavy stocks of the same. Branches: Leicester and Northampton, England. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Agents and Merchants in Raw Hides and Skins from all parts of the world. Telephone: No. 1538 Hop. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pelliris, London." Codes: Broomhall's; Widebrook's; Premier; A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Southwark); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Tooley Street).

PEARSON & KNOWLES COAL AND IRON CO., Ltd. (THE), Ironmasters, Engineers, Colliery Proprietors and Wire Manufacturers, Warrington. London Office: 10, Philpot Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874, formed by the amalgamation of Pearson and Knowles, Wigan, the Warrington Wire Iron Co., Ltd., and the Dallam Forge Co., Ltd., Warrington. Directors: J. S. Harmood-Banner, M.P. (Chairman), W. H. Bleckly, J.P. (DeputyChairman and Joint Managing Director), J. J. Bleckly, J.P. (Joint Managing Director), W. P. Rylands, J.P., H. S. Bleckly, Richard Brancker. The Ironworks, under the style of Neild & Co., were established in 1840 and were practically the first of their kind in Lancashire for The manufacture of merchant Iron. The business was formed into a private Limited Company in 1865 under the title of the Dallam Forge Co. In 1863 another private company was formed with the title of the Warrington Wire Iron Co., Ltd., for the purpose of supplying the wire trade with their raw material in the shape of wire rods. Branches: Liverpool, 11, Old Hall Street; Birmingham, 3, New Street. Specialities: (ENF) Bar Iron, • W.I.W. Sheets and.Hoops, Galvanized Sheets and Wire Rods, Railway Wheels and Axles, Bridges and other Engineering Constructional work, Bars, Angles, Tees and 3 e 2 Plates. The Collieries produce more than 1,000,000 tons per annum. Awards: Gold Medal, Liverpool International Exhibition, 1886, for iron and Steel Exhibits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 22 Warrington. Telegraphic Address:" Iron, Warrington." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd., Warrington.

PEARSON, S., & SON, Ltd., Contractors for Public Works; Head Offices, 47, Parliament Street, and 10, Victoria Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1844 by Samuel Pearson. In 1856 George Pearson (son) was taken into partnership, and title altered to S. Pearson & Son. In 1879 Samuel Pearson retired, and Lord. Cowdray (then Mr. Weetm an Pearson) became junior partner. In 1895 George Pearson retired, leaving Lord Cowdray sole partner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Share Capital, £1,501,000, fully subscribed. Directors: Lord Cowdray (President), Sir Clarendon Hyde (Vice-President), J. B. Body (Mexico), F. T. Hopkinson, E. W. Moir, Lord Murray of Elibank, Hon. W. H. Pearson, and E. E. Pearson. Secretary: Jno. H. Macdonald. Business: Have carried out probably the largest public contracts of recent years. Specialities: Tunnel, Railway, Dock, and Harbour Work. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to Foreign Governments. Telephones: No. 900 Gerrard (three lines) for 10, Victoria Street; No. 3300 Victoria (three lines) for 47, Parliament Street. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Sonraep, London " (for Victoria Street); " Petsonraep, London " (for Parliament Street).

PEARSON, W. L., Wire Worker and Mill Furnisher, 13, Lord Edward Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1904 by the late Mr. William Ferguson, of Cork, succeeded by George Porter in 1905, and by Thomas Barnes in 1909. Present Principal: W. L. Pearson (since 1913), who has been the moving spirit in the business since its inception. The Pearson family has been identified with the Wire Work and Mill Furnishing trade for three-quarters of a century. Claims to be the first to make woven wire mattresses in Ireland, the first maker in Dublin of Grease and other Lubricating Specialities, and to be the only Millstone-builder in Ireland. Also claims to be the first in Ireland to use a typewriter for business purposes. Business Wire Worker and Mill Furnisher. Several new departments recently added. Telephone and Telegraphic Address: " Pearson, 3071, Dublin."

PEASE & PARTNERS, Ltd., Coal, Ironstone, and Limestone Owners, 92, Northgate, Darlington. Hours of Business: 9 a.m to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1898. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: A. F. Pease (Chairman), F. Stobart (Vice-Chairman), E. L. Pease, Rt. Hon. J. A. Pease, H. P. Pease, M.P., C. Y. Pease, Sir James B. Dale, Bart. Secretary: J. A. Parker. Capital, £1,825,000. Formed to acquire the business of a company of the same name, of Darlington, including Collieries and Limestone Quarries in the county of Durham, and Ironstone mines in the North Riding of Yorkshire, including a large interest in the Skinningrove Iron Co. (which has since increased). In 1902 the South Durham Coal Company's Collieries were purchased. Hold nearly the entire Share Capital of Wilsons, Pease and Co., Ltd. Business: Coal, Ironstone and Limestone Owners. Annual output, 2,000,000 tons of coal.

PEAT MOSS LITTER SUPPLY CO., Ltd., THE), Thorne Wharf, Commercial Road, Blackfriars, S.E., London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1900 to act as Selling Agents in the United Kingdom only of Moss Litter and Moss Litter Dust manufactured by the Griendtsveen Moss Litter Co., Ltd., the British Moss Litter Co., Ltd., and the London and Provincial Moss Litter Co., Ltd. (the last-named Company coming in as from 1st May, 1906), together with other subsidiary Companies. Incorporated in 1900. Directors: Joseph Rowlands, J.P., Jozef van de Griendt, Major Dove, J.P., Wm. Smith, J.P., H. E. Oving, E. van de Griendt, Alfred Love, and G. G. Richardson, the three lastnamed being joint Managing Directors. Premises: Head Office, Thorne Wharf (as above); branches at Glasgow, Leith, Dundee, Bristol, Cardiff, Liverpool, Southampton, Dublin, Belfast, and all other principal towns in the United Kingdom. Specialities: Moss Litter for the bedding of horses and cattle of all descriptions, and for paper-making, & c.; also Moss Litter Dust. Connection: United Kingdom. The Company are Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: NO. 3477 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Mossiest, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Blackfriars, S.E.).

PEATE, J., J. L., & C., Ltd., Woollen Manufacturers, Nunroyd Mills, Guiseley, near Leeds, and 7, King Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1860. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Specialities: Ladies' Costume Dress Tweeds, Mantle Cloths, and Tropical Tweeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 20 Guiseley; No. 80 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Peate, Guiseley." Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

PECKETT, FREDK., & SONS, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Fancy Tweeds, &c., Portland Mills, Lindley, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6.10 p.m. Established in 1879 by Fredk. Peckett. Joined in partnership by his two sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Hodley Peckett (Chairman), Henry Peckett and Harry Dyson. Stall: About 300. Specialities: Fancy Tweed Suitings and Overcoatings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 235 Lindley. Telegraphic Address: " Pecketts, Lindley."

PEEBLES, A. M., & SON, Ltd., Paper Makers, 151, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century by Alexander Marshall Peebles, succeeded by Philip Cadell Peebles (son of the founder). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: G. J. Maddick (Chairman), J. H. F. Walter (Vice-Chairman), Herbert Ingram, R. Gilroy, Alfred Laurie, H. M. Peebles (Managing Director). Secretary: W. S. Pasmore, F.C.I.S. Premises: Rishton Paper Mill, Rishton, near Blackburn, Lancashire; Whiteash Paper Mill, Church, near Accrington, Lancashire. Peebles' Auxiliary Co., Ltd., Art Paper Mill, Rishton, near Blackburn, Lancashire. Specialities: Art Papers. Specially known for M.F., Super Calendered, and Imitation Art; also Art Papers and Boards. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 5335, 5336, 5337 City; Auxiliary Mill, No. 5 Great Harwood; Rishton. Mill, No. 5 Great Harwood; Whiteash Mill, No. 25 Accrington. Telewriter: 49 Walbrook. Telegraphic Addresses: " Peebles," Telew, London, Rishton; " Peebles, Oswaldtwistle "; " Auxiliary, Rishton." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Marconi. The Company are members of the Paper Makers Association.

PEEBLES (BRUCE) & CO., Ltd., Engineers, East Tilton, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1866 by David Bruce Peebles (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Frederick Ernest Andrews (Chairman), Alex. Mackenzie, Lee Murray, Albert Bruce Anderson, Courtenay John Shiells and Andrew Wilson Tait. Secretary: W. H. Morton. General Managers: S. E. Bastow and J. H. Bunting. Claim to be the largest electrical manufacturers in Scotland. Premises: Works cover ten acres, main building 600 feet long; Separate Office block and Stores. The Factory is equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 800. Branches: London, Hastings House, Norfolk Street, Strand, W.C.; Manchester, 30, Cross Street; Birmingham, Exchange Buildings, Stephenson Place. Agencies: Yokohama, Kobe, Tokyo, Osaka, Shanghai, Rio de Janeiro, Valparaiso, Buenos Ayres, Sydney, Melbourne, Perth (W.A.), Kalgoorlie, Auckland, Christchurch, Johannesburg, Calcutta, Toronto and Montreal. Specialities: Electrical Machinery of all kinds. Make a special feature of Motor Converters manufactured under the Peebles la Cour Patents. Telephones: No. 1867 Central, Edinburgh; No. 5593 Central, London; No. 5759 Central, Manchester; No. 998 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: Peebles," Edinburgh and Manchester; " Peeblesite, Estrand, London "; " Feeblesite, Birmingham." Codes:Western Union, A B C (5th Edition) and Private.

PEEK BROS. & WINCH, Ltd., Tea, Coffee and Spice Merchants, Peek House, Eastcheap. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1810 by William Peek and Richard Peek. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Present Directors: E. Burke (Chairman), F. S. E. Drury, R. Alston, J. Brooks, E. W. Burch, A. W. Tait. Secretary: P. E. Sparkes. The Company conducts one of the largest businesses in the City as Tea, Coffee and Spice Merchants. Warehouses and Branch Offices: Love Lane, E.C.; Glasshouse Street, East Smithfield; and Trundleys Road, Deptford, London; also at Liverpool, Glasgow, Belfast, Manchester, Calcutta, Colombo, Shanghai, &c. About 400 hands are employed in the various offices and warehouses. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 3160 Avenue (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Peek, London."

PEEK, FREAN & CO., Ltd., Biscuit and Cake Manufacturers, Drummond Road, London, S.E. Established in 1858 by James Peek, who was afterwards joined in partnership by George Hender Frean, Joseph Burgess Mead, and John Carr. Subsequently, Thomas Stone, Ellis Carr, Arthur Carr, Huntington Stone and Ralph Erskine Stone became. partners. Incorporated March, 1901. Premises: Factory covers between five and six acres. The business has become one of the largest of its kind in the United Kingdom, and gives employment to nearly 3,000 persons. Specialities: Fancy Biscuits and Cakes. Awards Thirty-one Prize Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: To His late Majesty King Edviard, and twenty other Royal Appointments. Telephone: No. 3570 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Pickaxe, London."

PEEL-CONNER TELEPHONE WORKS, Ltd., Registered Offices: Midland Bank Chambers, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C., and Peel Works, Adelphi, Salford, Lancs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1909. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. Hirst (Chairman), E. G. Byng, J. Fraser, A. B. Gill and M. S. Conner (Managing Director). Secretary and . London Manager: P. P. Kipping. Premises: Works cover 150,000 square feet. Staff: 1000. Specialities: The Manufacture and Installation of Telephone Apparatus of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4766 City, London; Nos. 2183 and 2186 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Peelcontel, Cent, London "; " Springjack, Manchester." Codes: Western Union, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Head Office, Manchester).

PEERLESS & SONS, Cloth Shrinkers and Shippers, 61, Old Street, St. Luke, London, E.C. How's of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1689, it is believed, by a family named Van der Plank. Speciality: Owners of a process for preventing Cloth Shrinking under the tailor's iron, and to make various manufactured goods of one uniform finish for the Merchant. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Germany, United States, Canada, Mexico, South America, Australia. Telephones: Nos. 2591 and 2592 National. Telegraphic Address " Shrinkers, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PEERS (WILLIAM), Ltd., Timber Merchants, Lenches Bridge, Pensnett, near Dudley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by W. Hildick. Afterwards altered to W. Peers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Lt.-Col. J. W. Garratt (Chairman), Julius Garratt, H. E. Garratt, W. H. Thompson, W. H. Chapman, and E. Green. Speciality: Converted Timber in all branches. Telephone: No. 73 Dudley. Telegraphic Address: " Peers, Ltd., Pensnett."

PEGG & ELLAM JONES, Ltd., Paint, Colour, and Varnish Manufacturers, Morledge Mills, Derby. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established: The firm of Pegg & Co. was established by Robert Pegg in 1824, and that of Ellam Jones & Co. by William Ellam in 1820. Pegg & Co. were incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899; Ellam Jones & Co. in 1897, In 1908 these two old-established firms were amalgamated as a Private Limited Company, and the business is now actively carried on under the personal management of John A. Smith (Managing Director), Frank H. Smith (Director). Premises: Works cover three and a-half acres; probably the largest Paint Works in the Midland Counties. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 158 Dei.by. Telegraphic Address " Pegg, Derby." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

PEGG (SAMUEL) & SON, Ltd., Engineers and Machinery Manufacturers, Alexander Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1830 by Samuel Pegg. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Specialities: Hosiery Finishing Machines, Boot and Shoe Finishing Machines, Stone Crushing and Screening Machinery. Patents: Several connected with machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1278, 1279, Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Pegg, Engineers, Leicester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PELICAN & BRITISH EMPIRE LIFE OFFICE. Amalgamated, 1907, with the PHENIX ASSURANCE CO., Ltd.

PEMBERTON COLLIERY CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Owners and Coal Exporters. Registered Office: 7, Rumford Street, Liverpool; Colliery at Pemberton, near Wigan. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established over one hundred years ago, and carried on up to 1900 as Jonathan Blundell & Son. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1900. Directors Cuthbert L. Blundell, Major S. Upperton and Miss E. H. Blundell. Premises: Extensive Colliery at Pemberton. Staff: About 2500. Specialities: Furnace Coke and Products of the best House Coal and Steam Coal. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 1016 Central, Liverpool. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Herwoods Branch). The late Col. H. B. H. Blundell, C.B., who was M.P. for the Inco Division of Lancashire, was Chairman up to the time of his death in. 1906.

PENCARBON CO., Ltd., Printers, Stationers, Manufacturers of the celebrated Zanetic Ink-Paper, Duplicate Books, Carbon Paper and Typewriter Ribbons, Zanetic Works, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1900 by E. Hancock and J. E. Norman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: John Edward Norman (Managing Director), Ebenezer Hancock (Chairman), C. F. Hoggett and A. C. Wates. Premises: Extensive newly erected building. Specialities: Patent Copying Books, Duplicate Books, Zanetic Paper, Typewriter Ribbons and Carbons. Trade Mark: Zanetic. Patents: Three. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 452 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Pencarbon Leicester." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

PENINSULAR ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., Merchants and Contractors, Suffolk House, Laurence Pountney Hill, London, E.C.; also at Puerta del Angel 10, Barcelona; Estacion 5, Bilbao, and Calle de Gorge 7, Madrid, Spain. Hours of Business: London, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m.; Spain, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1906 as Hastings, Roberts & Co., at Barcelona. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908, to take over the business of Hastings, Roberts & Co. Directors: P. W. McDougall (Chairman and Managing Director in England); H. Hastings (Managing Director in Spain); W. Owen. Secretary: W. A. Bartley. Premises: Consist of four offices. Staff: About thirty, chiefly in Spain. Agencies: Lisbon, Melilla, and throughout Spain and Portugal. Business: Representing British Engineering interests in Spain and Portugal and supplying and erecting electrical Power Plants, Gas Engines, &c. Connection: Trading with Spain and Portugal and Spanish North Africa. Telephones: No. 5814 City, Lon don; No. 480 Barcelona. Telegraphic Addresses: " Pensuleco, Cannon, London." " Pensuleco, Barcelona." Codes: A B (5th Edition); Lieber's and Private. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.,and Banco di Roma (Spain). Mr. P. . McDougall is an Associate Member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Mr. H. Hastings is a member of the Institute of Civil Engineers, Electrical Engineers and Con crete Institute.

PENINSULAR AND ORIENTAL STEAM NAVIGATION COMPANY. Head Office: 122, Leadenhall Street, E.C.; West End Office: Northumberland Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1837 as the Peninsular Company. Incorporated under present title by Royal Charter dated December 31st, 1840. The present Directorate consists of Sir Thomas Sutherland, G.C.M.G., LL.D. (Chairman), Sir William Adamson, C.M.G., the Rt. Hon. Lord Balfour of Burleigh, K.T., G.C.M.G., Herbert Brooks, the Rt. Hon. Lord Burghclere, Ernest Haliburton Cunard, Henry Neville Gladstone, Sir Walter Roper Lawrence, Bart., G.C.I.E., William Gair Rathbone, Frank Ritchie, Isaac Mann Shields, Peter Williams. Managing Directors: Sir Thomas Sutherland, I. M. Shields, F. Ritchie. Assistant-Managers: F. C. Allen, W. C. Symes. Secretary: F. J. Abbott. The Company's fleet consists of seventy vessels, the total tonnage (including ships building and tenders) 545,987 tons. The Company recently acquired the fleet of the " Blue Anchor " Line, now the P. & O. Branch Service to Australia via the Cape. A very large passenger and cargo traffic is carried between Great Britain, the Mediterranean Ports, Egypt, India, the Straits Settlements, China, Japan, and Australia. The conveyance of His Majesty's Mails to the British Colonies and Dependencies in the East (including the Indian Mails) has long been an important part of the Company's under takings. The paid-up capital amounts to £3,500,000. Debenture Stock to the value of £1,800,000 has been issued. Tele phones: For Head Office, No. 1111 City; for West End Office, No. 5553 Gerrard. Telegraphic Addresses: For Head Office, " Peninsular, Led, London"; for West End Office, "Oriental, Westrand, London." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

PENMAENMAWR & WELSH GRANITE CO., Ltd., Penmaenmawr, R.S,O., North Wales, and 62, Dale Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. The Company's well-known Quarries at Penmaonmawr, Llanfairfechan, Trevor and Nevin, Carnarvonshire, were first opened about 1837, and have been worked continuously since by Brundrit & Co., Ltd., Darbishires, Ltd., and the Welsh Granite Co., Ltd. On March 31st, 1911, those three undertakings were amalgamated. Chairman,: C. H. Darbishiro. Staff: Between 1700 and 1800. Speciality: Road Stone, notable for its toughness and hardness, imperviousness to moisture, and capability of withstanding satisfactorily the wear and tear of the heaviest traffic. The Company are large manufacturers, in this stone, of Sets, Macadam, Tar Macadam, and Breakers; also of Curbs and Channels, and of Machine-broken Railway Ballast 'and Chippings; Shipments by rail or water. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom. Patents have been taken out for Stone Breaking Rolls, and Riddling arrangements. Telephones: No., 11 Pen maenmawr; No. 425 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Granite, Penmaenmawr." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

PENMAN, A. C., Motor Carriage Manufacturer, Queensberry Motor Works, Dumfries, Scotland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1887 by A. C. Penman. Continued as J. B. Penman & Son until 1897. Present Principal: A. C. Penman, J.P. Premises: Factory erected in 1908, covering 20,000 square feet. Staff: 100. Specialities: Landaulettes and Cabriolet Bodies. Patent: Cabriolet Body. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 57 Dumfries. Telegraphic Address: " Automobile, Dumfries." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland. Mr. A. C. Penman is a Justice of the Peace for Dumfriesshire and ex-President of the Scottish Motor Trade Association. Clubs: Scottish Liberal (Edinburgh), Motor (London).

PENNEY (ALEXANDER) & CO., Consulting and Contracting Engineers, 107, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established in 1886. Branch: In India. Business: Consulting and Contracting Railway Engineers; " Monorail " Railway Specialists. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3079 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Finitimus, London." Codes: Western Union; A B C (4th ancl 5th ditions); A 1; Engineering; Telegraph and British Standard Codes. Bankers: Martin's Bank, Ltd.

PENROSE, A. W., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers and Dealers in all Machinery Apparatus, Material and Appliances used in connection with Photo-engraving, Photography, Etching, Engraving, Drawing, Painting, Printing and other Graphic Arts, Manufacturers of Electric Cranes and 'Hoists, Makers of Printing Machines, Motors and Gears, Electrical and General Engineers, 109, Farringdon Road, E.C. Goods Entrance and Factory: Little Saffron Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by A. W. Penrose and W. Gamble. Incorporated as a, Limited Company in. 1905. Directors: A. W. Penrose (Governing Director), W. Gamble and H. B. Ratcliffe. Premises: Originally at 8 and 8A, Upper Baker Street, Clerkenwell; removed to the present building in 1901. Extend from Farringdon Road to Little Saffron Hill, consisting of extensive Offices, Laboratories, Warehouses and Works. Branches and Agencies: Manchester, Birmingham, Paris, Berlin, Amsterdam, Madrid, Milan, Vienna, Sydney, Calcutta, Bombay, Cape Town, New York, Chicago, Toronto. Publishers of " The Process Year Book," annually, and of " Process Work and Electrotyping," monthly. Also of various Technical books dealing with Process matters. Patents: Numerous specialities connected with Process Engraving and allied trades, and also with Electric Lifts. Awards: Silver Medal, Brussels, 1897; Gold Medal, Paris, 1900; Bronze Medal, Dresden, 1909; Gold Medal, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Highest Award, Amsterdam, 1913. Connection: World -wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, Ordnance Survey, India Office, Post Office, Stationery Department); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, and to the Governments of United States, Canada, France, Russia, Egypt, Spain, &c. Telephones: No. 3176 City (four lines), London. Foreign Telegraphic Address: " Zincograph, London." Inland Telegraphic Address: " Zincograph, Smith, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Islington); South Western Bank, Ltd. (Clerkenwell).

PENSON, WALTER, Merchant, 124 to 127, Minories, London, E.C. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1908 by Walter Penson, the present principal. Stall Varies, Speciality Men's Wear. Connection: Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11832 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Penso nique, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

PENTON (EDWARD) & SON, Leather Merchants and Shoe Factors, Legging and Gaiter Manufacturers, 1 to 11, Mortimer Street, and 50 to 57, Newman Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1833 by Edward • Penton, the father and grandfather of the present proprietors, Edward Penton and Edward Penton, jun. Specialities: All the Requirements necessary for the Boot and Shoe Trade. The business is strictly wholesale. Branches: Two houses at. Northampton. Employ a staff consisting of 370 hands in London, and 220 in Northampton. Awards: Grand Prix at Brussels Exhibition, 1910; also Grand Prix at Turin Exhibition, 1911. Connec tion: Universal. Telephone: No. 11 Regent (nine lines). Telegraphic Address: " Penton, Wesdo, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and Widebrook.

" PEOPLE" (THE), Sunday Newspaper, Milford Lane, Strand, W.C. Established in 1881. Telephones: Nos. 9623-4, and Proprs. Private, No. 3676 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " People, London."

PEPPERCORN BROTHERS, Ltd., House Furnishers and General Providers, Dept ford Broadway, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1821 by Joseph Peppercorn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Premises: Cover many acres in extent. Branches: London Street, Greenwich, and High Street, Sidcup, Kent. Specialities: Com plete House Furnishing; Removals. Pro vision, Tea, and Wine Importers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1170 and 1171 New Cross. Telegraphic Address: "Peppercorn, Deptford."

PERIAM, HERBERT W., Ltd., Manufacturers of various descriptions of Bolts, Nuts, Screws, Rivets, Nails, and Washers, 25, 26, 27, Floodgate Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Staff: About 150. Specialities: The Manufacture of Galvanized Bolts, Screws, Nails, Rivets, Washers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 373 Birmingham. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Floodgate, Birmingham,"

PERKINS (BERTIE) & CO., Mine Owners and Buyers of Ores, Metals, and Residues for Smelting and Re-Smelting purposes, Swansea. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1885 by Major A. BertiePerkins, present principal. Are amongst the largest buyers of Gold, Silver, Copper, Lead, Tin, Antimony, Nickel, Zinc Ores, Concentrates and Residues in Great Britain. Premises: Head Offices, Swansea. London Office, 120, Fenchurch Street. Agents and correspondents all over the World. Business: Deal and treat for practically every Metal of Value, Gold, Silver, Lead, and Copper preferred, but everything dealt in with payable Metal Contents. Connection: United Kingdom and all parts of the World where Ores are worked or Residues can be obtained. Telephones: Nos. 345, 345y, and 345x (Central) Swansea. Telegraphic Address: " Heat, Swansea." Code: Lieber's Standard. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Swansea.

PERKINS (JOSHUA) & SONS (1909), Ltd., Coach and Motor Lace Manufacturers, Britannia Mill, Coventry; and Victoria Mill, Lubenham, Market Harborough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858 as Joshua Perkins & Son. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898 under the title of Joshua Perkins & Sons; became a Public Company in 1909. Directors: Joshua Perkins, (sen.) (Chairman), Joseph Smith Perkins, William Perkins; Joshua Perkins (jun.), Joseph James Perkins (Joint. Managers). Premises: Large Works in Coventry and Lubenham. Coventry factory covers an acre of ground; Lubenham half an acre. Stag: About 300. Specialities: Laces, Linings, and Trimmings for Railway Carriages; also for Motor and Private Vehicles. Telephones: No. 378 (National), Coventry; No. 21 Market Harborough (for Lubenham). Telegraphic Address: " Britannia, Coventry."

PERKINS MACINTOSH PETROLEUM TOOL & BORING CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Tools and Equipment for sinking Oil, Gas, Water and other Wells, and Contractors for Well Boring. Works: Sandridge Siding, St. Albans, and in Austria. Registered Office: 79, Bishopsgate, Lon don, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established twenty-five years ago in Austria. Amalgamated Perkins, Macintosh & Perkins, The Deep Well Tool & Boring Co., Ltd., and W. Wolski, W. Zdanowicz & Co., Austria. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Pirectons Thomas Lilley, J.P. (Chairman), T. Lilley (jun.), E. H. Q. Henriques, A.M.I.C.E., Dr. L. Roehr, George Macintosh, Cyrus F. Perkins, Arthur Whittaker, F.C.A., and Charles Perkins and William H. Peak (Joint Managers). Claim that C. F. Perkins with W. H. MacGarvey was the pioneer of the oil business in Galicia. Premises: Extensive works at St. Albans and four works in Austria: Stryj, Boryslaw, Wolanka, and Tustanowice, Galicia (Austria). Staff: About 400. Agencies: Port of Spain, Trinidad, Buenos Ayres and Amsterdam. Specialities: Highest grade Boring Outfits, capable of a depth exceeding 5000 feet. Contracting for wellBoring, Rigs, Derricks, Machinery, Tools, Amercian Cable Tools, Wire Ropes, Belting, Pumping Machinery, &c., Catalogues and Estimates free. Patents: Various. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 179 St. Albans; No. 12896 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Boring, St. Albans "; " Oleborers, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Bedford McNeill's, Lieber's, and Broomhall's (five letter). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Newgate Street, London, and St. Albans).

PERKINS & SONS, Nurserymen and Florists. Head Offices: The Nurseries, Coventry; 15 and 16, North-Western Arcade, Corporation Street, and Central Avenue, Market Hall, Birmingham. Hours of Business 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1847 by Samuel Perkins. Present Principals: Arthur E. Perkins, Mrs. M. A. Perkins. Premises Extensive; cover twenty-five acres, well stocked, and fifty greenhouses. Staff: Eighty. Specialities: Roses; all kinds of Floral Work, Bouquets and Floral Designs, Church Decorations, Table Decorations, Drawingroom Bouquets, Presentation Bouquets, Funeral and Memorial Flowers, &c. Awards: 1,800 Medals, Cups, and First Prizes. The only Gold Medal ever awarded for Floral Designs, Royal Horticultural Society. Have received numerous testimonials and Press notices relating to their choice designs, &e. Telephones: No. 74 Coventry; Nos. 367 and 367A (Midland), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Bouquet, Coventry."

PERKINS (THOMAS) & SONS, Nurserymen, Seedsmen, and Florists, 34, Drapery, Northampton. Hours of Business: Seed Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; nursery, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (summer), 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. (winter). Established in 1854 by Thomas Perkins and John Marsh, continued by Thomas Perkins, 1867. Present Principals: Since 1877, John Perkins, J.P., Fred Perkins. Premises: Very extensive well-stocked nurseries covering 150 acres. Specialities: Large assortment of Seeds, Flowers, Shrubs, Trees, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telegraphic Address: " Paragon, Northampton." Bankers: Capital and Counties Banking Co., Ltd.

PERLBACH, H. J., & CO., Shipbrokers and Coal Exporters, 4, Lloyds Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1884. Present Principal: E. H. Friedlander. Premises: Offices at Conftnercial Road; Depot, London, Tilbury and Southend Railway, and at Tilbury Docks. Business: Agents for the Perlbach Line of Steamers between Hamburg and London, sailing from the Tilbury Docks. Telephones: Nos. 4166 and 5759 Avenue; No. 13 Tilbury.

PERRIER, French Natural Sparkling Table Water, 45 and 47, Wigmore Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. A Private Company, whose speciality is the Natural Sparkling Table Water known under the name of " Perrier," and derived from a spring at Vergeze (Gard), France, which was well known to the Romans. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Royal Warrant Holders, and supply the Imperial Houses of Parliament. Telephone: No. 6370 Mayfair (two lines).

PERRIN & CAPENER, Natural Organic Manure Manufacturers and Chemical Manure Merchants, 8, St. Paul's Square, Bedford; Natural Fertilizer Corporation, Ltd., 7, Wormwood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1911 by T. F. Perrin and C. J. Capener, the present principals. Premises: Extensive. Plants erected at Corporation Sewage Works, where the Natural Fertilizer Corporation are dealing with the sewage, producing about 8000 tons of Fertilizer per annum. Agencies: In various parts of England and Abroad. Business: Manufacture of Natural Organic Manure obtained by a new patent process for dealing- with, and sterilizing Sewage Sludge, whereby it is converted from a waste product into a highly economic, valuable, and natural fertilizer, containing Nitrogen, Potash, and Phosphoric Arid; all grease and other bad elements, weed seeds, &c., are completely removed. The grease extracted is sold as a by-product. Awards: Over forty prizes, including thirteen First and six Second at Bedfordshire and Tring Agricultural Societies Root Shows, 19121913, the yield per acre being up to fifty tons. Connection: Amongst Farmers, Market Gardeners, Nurserymen, Amateur Gardeners, Manure Merchants, &c., in the United Kingdoin. Export to New Zealand, Canada, Italy, Portugal, Sicily, Canary Islands, Channel Islands, &c. Have received numerous testimonials relating to the value of their productions. Telegraphic Address I " Natural, Bedford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Fenchurch Street). Mr. Perrin and Mr. Capener have been in the Colonial Service at Lagos, Southern Nigeria, and afterwards trading on the Gold Coast, West Africa.

PERRIN, E. H., & CO., General Produce and Chemical Brokers, D9, Exchange Buildings, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862. Present Principals: John E. Perrin, Henry Stewart Brown and William Fergusson Irvine. Specialities: Soap Makers' Materials, Oil Nuts and Seeds, and Sulphate of Copper. Telephone: No. 6402 Central, Liverpool (seven lines). Telegraphic Address: " Perrinson, Liverpool." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PERRY & CO. (BOW), Ltd., Builders and Contractors for Public Works, 56, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W., and Tredegar Works, Bow, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by John Perry (retired 1877) as Perry & Co. joined by William Perry and Herbert Henry Bartlett in 1872. Continued by (1) William Perry and Herbert Henry Bartlett; (2) Herbert Henry Bartlett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Sir Herbert Henry Bartlett, Bart. (Governing Director) and Harlington Arthur Bartlett. Capital: £400,000. Premises: Extensive Works at Bow, covering about two and a half acres. Staff: About 5,000. Branch: (for Electrical and Decoration Work), Tredegar & Co., 53, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W. Business: Divided into two portions, the Building Department and that dealing with Engineering Works. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government. Holders for eighteen years of the Triennial Contracts of either the War Office or the Office of Works. Telephones: No. 2960 Victoria (three lines); No. 269 Eastern, London. Telegraphic Address: " Utility, London." Bankers . London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PERRY & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers, Perryan Works, 36, Lancaster Street, Birmingham; and 49, Old Bailey, London, E.C. Established in 1823 by Sir J. Mason and James Perry. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: J. Martyn Smith (Chairman and Managing Director), Edmund S. Perry (Managing Director), Herbert Smith, Ralph Heaton, Oliver A. Smith, A. E. Wiley. Secretary: C. J. Hampton. Premises: Large factory in Lancaster Street, Birmingham, covering nearly two acres; equipped with the most up-to-date appliances for the manufacture of Pons, &c. Also a factory at Tyseley, near Birmingham, covering nearly four acres, for the manufacture of Cycle Specialities. Staff: About 2,000. (For the benefit of the employees there is a Superannuation Fund.) Branches: Berlin, Vienna, Paris, Brussels. Specialities: Steel Pens and Penholders; Cycle Chains, Free Wheels, Hubs, Bells, and Cycle Accessories; Stationers' Sundries, Gold Pens, Solitaires, Studs, Sleeve Links; Tobacconists' and Drapers' Sundries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses " Perry, Birmingham," " Perry, Acocks Green "; " Penmaker, London." Telephones: No. 91 Central, Birmingham (Pens and General); No. 5667 Central, Birmingham (Studs, &c.); No. 219 Victoria (Cycle).

PERRY (WALTER) & CO., LIMITED. Publishers, 6, 7, and 8, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1876 by Walter Perry. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Thomas D. Cocking, Matilda Perry. Premises: Originally situated in Helmet Buildings, Wormwood Street, E.C.; moved to more convenient offices in Crutched Friars. Business: Publishers of the well-known Directory of Great Britain and Ireland, and of the Continental and Colonial Mercantile Guide for Universal Trading and Professional Reference. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11137 Central. Telegraphic Address: ".Hatcheling, Fen, London."

PERTWEE & BACK, Engineers, Iron and Brass Founders, Nelson Iron Works, Great Yarmouth, and South Quay Iron Works, Lowestoft. Hours of Business 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1810 by S. Moore, acquired in 1898 by Herbert Arthur Pertwee, .M.I.M.E., and Walter Herbert Back, M.I.M.E., the present principals. Specialities: Marine Engineering and Constructional Work, ' Ice Crushing Plants and Elevators. Patent: " Nelson " Ice Crusher. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 178 Yarmouth; No. 94 Lowestoft. Telegraphic Address: " Pertwee." Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

PETERS, JOSEPH S., Grey Stone, Lime Manufacturer, Portland Cement Merchant, Grey Stone Lime Works, Siding, S.E. & C. Railway, Merstham, Surrey. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1821. Branch: 417, Old Kent Road, London. Specialities: Merstham Grey Stone Lime, Chalk Lime, Portland Cement. Connection: London and the South of England. Telephones: No. 9 Merstham (Nat.); No. 3681 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Peters, Merstharn, Surrey."

PETERSEN, BOESEN & CO., Ltd., Warehousemen and Importers, 65, York Street, Sydney, New South Wales. London Offices: 61, Basinghall Street, E.C. Established in 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in Sydney in 1903. Premises: Warehouse in York Street, Sydney; Offices only in London. Specialities: Importers of General Soft Goods and Textiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Eastern States of Commonwealth of Australia. Telephone: No. 4983 Central. Cable Address: " Boesen," London and Sydney. Telegrams: " Oseneb, London."

PETERSEN & CO., Ltd., Steamship Owners and Brokers, 6, Lloyds Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established as Petersen, Tate & Company in 1890. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1907 by William Petersen, now the chief proprietor of the Ordinary Capital. Firm has been engaged in many important enterprises, and has been pioneer of several successful shipping developments, notably the Turret Deck Steamer, having built several such steamers before they were taken up and generally adopted by other shipowners. Secured in 1897 from the Government of the Dominion of Canada a contract, which was ratified by the British Government, for a fast Mail Steamship Service between England and Canada, with an annual subsidy of £153,000. This project did not materialise, owing to the outbreak of the Spanish-American War. Established in 1902 the Canadian Lake and Ocean Navigation Company, securing for the first time transportation of goods from Europe through the Great Lakes of North America. In 1904 inaugurated the French-Canadian Passenger and Freight Line (with Canadian Government subsidy) which is now running under and forms part of the Allan Lines. Inaugurated in October, 1908, the Uranium Steamship Line, carrying passengers and freight from the Continent of Europe to Canada and .New York, and in 1909 the Royal Line from Bristol to Canada as a fast passenger and mail service, both running in connection with the Canadian Northern Railway. Also inaugurated in 1911 the European and Brazilian Shipping Co., Ltd., operating a Line to Rio de Janeiro, now called London-American Shipping Co., Ltd. Business: Steamship Owners, Brokers, and Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial; more particularly Canada, the United States and South America. Telephone: No. 5417 Avenue ( four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Nesretep, London." Cable Address: " Senate, London." Bankers: British Linen Bank (London). Mr. William Petersen is a Director of the European and Brazilian Shipping Co., Ltd.; the Canadian Lake and Ocean Navigation Company, and other Companies; Honorary Administrator of Bureau Veritas Classification Society and Vice-Chairman of the British Committee of same; Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society; Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society, &c. Clubs: Constitutional, Royal Automobile, and Royal Societies'.

PETERSON & SON, Wholesale Furniture Exporters and Agents, 95, Worship Street, and 7, Vandy Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by Peterson & Son. Present Principal: W. Gunn. Specialities: Furniture of all descriptions made to fold, nest, or pack flat, to economize freight and packing charge3. All parts labelled and numbered to show where to fit up easily on arrival. Connection: Foreign and Colonial. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PETRIE, CHARLES, Colonial Produce Importer, Rose Street, Liverpool, and 28, Monument Street, London; Offices at Sydney, Melbourne, Dunedin and Hobart. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Epstablished in 1876 by Sir Charles Petrie, J.P., the present principal. Staff: Large. Specialities: Frozen and Fresh Salmon, Poultry, Game, Rabbits and Oysters, Wholesale only. Fish Cured for Export. Connection,: United Kingdom, America and Colonial. Telephones: No. 1560 Royal, Liverpool; No. 3016 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Petrie, Liverpool "; " Petriejanons, London." Code: A B C, Western and Private. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (London and Manchester). Sir Charles Petrie was Lord Mayor of Liverpool, 1902. Ho is a Justice of the Peace and an Alderman; Chairman of the Finance Committee of the Corporation. Clubs: Conservative and University (Liverpool), Royal Automobile (London). Pastimes: Shooting, Fishing, Golf and Motoring.

PETTIGREW & STEPHENS, Ltd., Drapers and House Furnishers, 171/193, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1888 by Andrew Hislop Pettigrew and William Henry Stephens. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Sir Andrew H. Pettigrew (Chairman), J. Hislop Pettigrew (Vice-Chairman), John Campbell, James Chrystal and Edward Macbean (Sir Andrew H. Pettigrew and J. Hislop Pett grew, Joint Managing Directors). Stall: Over 600. Telephones: No. 1000 Douglas (Nat.), with thirty sub-stations. Telegraphic Address: " Everything, Glasgow." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Head Office).

PETTY & SONS (LEEDS), Ltd., Advertising Experts, Writers, Designers, Artistic Illustrators, Manufacturing Stationers, Fashion Printers, Contractors, &c., Whitehall Printeries, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1865. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Stall: 1,000. Branches: London, Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow, Dublin, Belfast; and at Melbourne, Wellington, Cape Town, Sydney, Montreal (exclusive agencies). Business: Printers and General Advertising Experts, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 212 and 292 Leeds; No. 68 Bank, London • No. c189 Birmingham • No. 151x Manchester; No. 5245 Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Pettys," Leeds and Reading. Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

PETTY, WOOD & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Grocers, 41 to 57, Southwark Bridge Road, S.E., and 12, Eastcheap, E.C., London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in the eighteenth century. Is one of the oldest and largest houses connected with the wholesale grocery interest in London. Specialities: Teas, Coffees, Sugar, Spices, Dried Fruit, Canned Goods, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1921-2 (two linos) Avenue; No. 1488 Hop. Telegraphic Address " Pettycoy, London."

PEYTON & SON, Manufacturing Chemists, Chemical Works, Birmingham. Established prior to 1800 (date unknown). Specialities: Sulphuric, Hydrochloric, and Nitric Acids. Telephone: No. 767 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Oxygen, Birmingham."

PFISTER & VOGEL LEATHER CO., Ltd., Tanners, Curriers, Leather Manufacturers. Head Office: 63, Abington Street, Northampton. Established in England in 1902; in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, U.S.A., in 1847. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Managing Directors: J. A. Braendli and J. F. Sigel. Staff: In England and U.S.A., 3,000. Branches: Boston, New York, Philadelphia, St. Paul, St. Louis, Cincinnati, New Orleans, San Francisco, Kettering, Leicester, and London. Specialities: Upper Leathers, Sole Leather, Harness, Glove, Bag and Case in Calf, Sides and Horse Leathers. Are largo manufacturers of these goods. P. & V. Leathers are known and sold all over the world. Telephones: No. 387 Northampton; London, No. 1358 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: "Pevee, Northampton "; " Pevee, Cannon, London "; " Pevee, Leicester." All Colonial orders filled from Northampton. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street, E.C.).

PFUNGST, J. L., & CO., Wine Merchants, 5, Water Lane, Great Towor Street, London, E.C. Established: 1846. Represent Pfungst Freres & Cie., Ay (Champagne). Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Royal Warrants: Messrs. Pfungst Freres & Cie are purveyors by appointment to the Court of Spain. Telephone: No. 983 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Pfungst, Bilgato, London."

PHILIP (GEORGE) & SON, Ltd., Geographical and Educational Publishers, Tho London Geographical Institute, 32, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1834 by George Philip, who died in 1881. His son and successor, George Philip, died in 1902. Incorporated as a Private Company, January, 1902. Managing Directors: George Philip and Gerald Stanley Philip. Premises: In Fleet Street the firm's premises occupy the site of the building in which the publishing business of John Murray was first started. In Victoria Road, Willesden Junction, printing works, equipped with a large plant of special machinery. Staff: About fifty at Fleet Street establishment; about 200 at printing works. Branches: Philip and Tacey, Ltd. (Chairman, G. Stanley Philip), Central Educational Depot, Norwich Street, Fetter Lane, and 5, 6, and 7, Singer Street, City Road, E.C., employing about 150 hands. (Closely connected with George Philip & Son, Ltd., having sprung from this parent concern, are Philip, Son & Nephew, Ltd., Booksellers and School Contractors, 20, Church Street, Liverpool, employing over 100 hands.) Specialities: The production of Maps, Atlases, Globes and Geographical Apparatus, Educational Books, Nautical and Astronomical Publications. Connection: Extensive throughout the world. Special agents on the Continent, in India, Canada, South Africa, Australia, the United States, and Argentine, and two travellers always abroad. Telephones: 6360 and 6361 Holborn. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " PhilipFleet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. George Philip is a Fellow of the, Royal Geographical Society and the Geographical Society of Paris. Clubs: Savage; University (Liverpool): Royal Societies. Mr. G. Stanley Philip is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society and a member of the London Chamber of Commerce. Club: Royal Societies.

PHILIP, SON & NEPHEW, Ltd., Booksellers, Stationers and School Furnishers, Dealers in Toys and Fancy Goods, 45 to 51, South Castle Street, Liverpool. Established in 1851 by George Philip (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: T. N. Philip (Managing Director), Alex. Thomson, John Green, Robert Hird. Booksellers by appointment to the University of Liverpool. Paper Warehouse and Wholesale Department at 27, Park Lane. Staff: About 120. Specialities: Scholastic Supplies of every kind; Maps, Globes, Tourist and Cycling Maps (Official Agents for Ordnance Maps and Admiralty Charts); Nautical and Technical Books; Artists' requirements; &c. Telephone: No. 4815 Bank (three wires). Telegraphic Address: " Philip, Liverpool."

PHILIP & TACEY, Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers, Educational Booksellers, and School Contractors, Central Educational Depot, Norwich Street, Fetter Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established over eighty years ago by J. C. Tacey & Co., Wholesale Stationers and Contractors, at 39, City Road, E.C., and by George Philip, established seventynine years ago, at Liverpool, and 32, Fleet Street, E.C., Educational Publishers. Incorporated as a Limited Company and Amalgamated in 1902. Directors: G. Stanley Philip (Chairman), F. E. Tacey, J. Tothill (Managing Directors), W. C. Tacey. Premises: Removed to above address in 1905; specially constructed and fitted with all the latest conveniences. Specialities: School Stationery of every kind, including Exercise Books, Drawing Books and Materials; School Furniture and Apparatus; Kindergarten Materials, Maps, Pictures, Books for School use, Diagrams, Needlework Materials; Varied Occupations and Amusements for School and Home use; Prize Books, Certificates and Medals. Supply all the material connected with the latest methods of teaching, including the Montessori Method of Teaching, the Comparative Method of Teaching Geography, Dale's Method of Teaching Reading, Sonnenschein's Method. of Teaching Arithmetic, Sepping's Method of Teaching Music, the Gouin and Psychological Method of Teaching Languages, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, with Public Schools, Technical Institutions, Elementary Schools, Private Schools, Army Schools. Contractors to H.M. Government (Colonial, War, and Stationery Offices), also to the Egyptian Government, Colonial Education Departments, County Education Authorities, &c. Telephones: (Head Office and Showrooms), No. 1581 Holborn; (Factory), No. 5446 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Philotesie, Fleet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PHILLIPS (ALBERT), Ltd., Bedstead Manufacturers, Eyre Street, Spring Hill, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Albert Phillips. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Albert Phillips (Managing Director), Walter Phillips and Philip J. Phillips. Premises: Removed to the present very extensive buildings in 1903. Specially constructed on modern lines to meet the requirements of their increasing business. Agencies: In all foreign markets. Specialities: Iron and Brass Bedsteads of all descriptions. Awards: Medals, Paris, 1878; Sydney, 1879; Adelaide, 1881, 1887; Athens, 1903. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 723 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Phillips, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Albert Phillips has been Consul for Greece since 1895.

PHILLIPS, C. T., & SON, Mungo Manufacturers; also Merino, Worsted Wools and Waste, Whitley Spring Mills, Ossett, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established fifty years ago by C. T. Phillips. Present Principals: Charles Thornes Phillips, J.P., and Thomas William Phillips (son). Premises: Very extensive works. Business: Mungo Manufacturers, Carbonized and Uncarbon ized; also Merino, Worsted Wools and Wastes. Telephone: No. 54 Ossett. Telegraphic Address: " Phillips, Ossett." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

PHILLIPS, F. H., & CO., Exporters of Fresh and Cured Herrings and General Commission Agents, 25, Herring Market, Lowestoft. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1879 by Frederick Henry Phillips, the present principal. Claim to be the Pioneers of the Export of Fresh Herrings in Ice by direct steamers from England to Germany, and to be the largest British Concern engaged in the Export of Fresh Herrings, with offices abroad, handle their goods direct from the Fishings to the delivery in all parts of the world. Branches: North Shields, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Grimsby and Gt. Yarmouth; also Altona-Elbe (Germany), Haugesund (Norway), Gothenburg (Sweden) and the principal Fishing Stations in the United Kingdom. Speci alities: Fresh Herrings and Fish of all kinds; also Curers of " Bismarck " and " Rollmop " Herrings and Anchovies. Con nection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 191 Lowestoft. Cable Address: " Vita, Lowestoft." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., and Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Phillips is Chairman of the Lowestoft Fish Selling Co., Ltd., C. & R. Harvey, Ltd.; Star Fishing Co., Ltd.; The Herring Transport Co.; Director of the Herring Fishing Co., Ltd.; Waveney Fishing Co., Ltd; Hepples, Ltd.; North Shields Boxmaking Co., Ltd.; Phillips Brothers, Ltd.; Northern Counties Ice Making and Cold Stores Co., Ltd.; and The North Shields Fish Guano and Oil Co., Ltd.

PHILLIPS (GODFREY), LIMITED, Manufacturers of Tobacco, Cigarettes, and Cigars, 112, Commercial Street. Bonded Factory: 60 and 62, Commercial Street, London, E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1844 by Godfrey Phillips. Business: Manufacture of Tobaccos, Cigars, and Cigarettes. Telephones: No. 4527 Central; No. 3140 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Kahira, London."

PHILLIPS, J. A., & CO., Silk Agents and Importers, 12A, Watling Street, London, E.C. Represent Messrs. Denis & Chene viere, 19, Place Tolozan, Lyons. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1905 as representatives of Denis & Cheneviere, Lyons. Manufacturers of Plain and Fancy Silk Novelties for dresses. doing an extensive business in Paris. Specialities: In Piece and Yarn Dyed Satins, Broches, Grenadines and Moires, in up-to-date designs. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial (Wholesale). Tele phone: No. 12959 Central, London. Tele graphic Address: " Jacquardga, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

PHILLIPS (PHILLIP) & CO., Ltd., Nut Importers, Spitalfields Market, London, E. Hours of Business: 5 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1800 by Phillip Phillips. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Walter St. Barb Sydenham. (Chairman), E. P. Corlett and Robert Pound (Managing Director). Claim to be the largest Nut Importers in Europe. Branches: London, Covent , Garden, W.C., Mitre Street, E.C., and Hull (Yorks). Specialities: Coconut and Coir -Fibre. Patent: Coconut Fibre Extracting Machinery (Makers). Con nection Importing Coconuts from all Tropical Countries and distributing over the United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephone: No. 333 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Coker nut, London." Codes: A B C and Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PHILLIPS & PIPER, Ltd., Woollen Merchants and High-grade Clothing Manufac turers, The Butter Market, Ipswich; 17, New Union Street, Moorfields, London, E.C.; and 16, Mary-le-Port Street, Bristol. Works: Christchurch Works, Ipswich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by the late Thomas Phillips, joined by W. Piper and his son. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. D. Phillips, Ipswich (Managing Director), C. Howell, and E. W. H. Piper. Premises: Works covering some acres. Staff: 350 (Ipswich); 100 (London); fifty (Bristol). Specialities: In Woollens, Raincoats; Breeches, Flannel Goods, and Oilskin Garments. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Asia, Africa and America. Telephones: No. 138 Ipswich • No. 4458 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Woollens," Ipswich and Bristol; " Overfrieze, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd.

PHILLIPS, S. C., & CO., Publishers, Printers, Advertising Agents, Contractors, &c., 47, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Established in 1890 by S. Chas. Phillips, M.S.C.I., the present principal. Branch: 448 and 450, Produce Exchange, Manchester. Business: Publishers of " The Papermaker and British Paper Trade Journal," " Wood Pulpmaker," " The Stationery World and Fancy Goods Review," " Printing and Allied Trades," " The Paper Box and Bagmaker," " The Bookbinders' Journal," " Phillips'. Paper Trade Directory of the World," General Printing, Lithographing, &c.; Advertising in all its branches, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Branch Offices, Agencies, and Correspondents in the chief capitals of the world. Telephones: No. 5420 Bank; No. 14 Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Sonica," London and Manchester. Code: A B C (5th Edition).

PHILLIPS & SONS, Gown Makers, Corsetieres, and Furriers, Quadrant ouse, 58, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1848 by J. Phillips, father of the present principal. Specialities: Gowns of all descriptions; Corsets and Furs. The firm have made for Royalty and for many distinguished persons. Inventions: Numerous, in Corsets, Cycling Skirts and Motor Vests. Royal Warrant Holders to H.R.H. the Princess Christian. Special Warrant Holders to the Countess Minto, Vicereine of India. (Mr. Alfred Phillips, the present head of the firm, made the historical world-wide tour throughout India, including the Indian Durbar, at Agra, and was also present during the Cairo season, with his wonderful collection of Paiisian and London dresses, which were all disposed of previous to his return. This took place in the year 1906). Telephone: No. 2872 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Tailleur, London."

PHILLIPS & TRIBE, Wholesale Provision Merchants, 33, Cock Lane, and 4, Hosier Lane, Snow Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1834.

PHIPPS & SON, Leather Merchants, also Manufacturers and Dealers in Shoe Manufacturers' Goods, Guildhall Road, Northampton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1822. Present Principal: Charles W. Phipps. Branches: Leicester, Kettering, Rushden. Business: Leather Merchants; Manufacturers and Dealers in Shoe Manufacturers' Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 36 and 37 Northampton. Telegraphic Address: Phippson, Northampton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

PHENIX ASSURANCE CO., Ltd., 19 and 70, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays. 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established 1782. Board of Directors: Right Hon. Lord George Hamilton, P.C., G.C.S.I. (Chairman), Bristow Bovill (Deputy-Chairman), Rt. Hon. Sir William R. Anson, Bart., D.C.L., M.P., J. W. Baxendale, Walter Bird, Hon. Stuart P. Bouverie, Rt. Hon. Viscount Dillon, D.C.L., William F. Fladgate, M.V.O., Alex. Travers Hawes, B.. Kirkman Hodgson, J. F. Lescher, Sir Arthur C. Lucas, Bart., Admiral C. D. Lucas, V.C., William R. Malcolm, Hon. Edwin Ponsonby, Hon. Edwin B. Portman, Sir Helenus R Robertson, James Sorley, G. G. T. Treherne, John Tryon. General Manager: Sir Gerald H. Ryan. The homo branches include: 57, Charing Cross, London, S.W., 187, Fleet Street, E.C. (Law Life Office), Bedford, Belfast, Birmingham, Bradford, Brighton, Bristol, Cardiff, Dublin, Dtindee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Huddersfield, Hull, Leeds, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Newport, Plymouth, Reading, Shrewsbury, and Southampton. Principal foreign and colonial branches and agencies are at Buenos Ayres, Bombay, Montreal, Hamburg, Sydney, Wellington, CapeTown, Johannesburg, New York, Melbourne, San Francisco, Vancouver, Victoria, B.C., and Shanghai. Business: Fire, Life, Accident, and Marine Insurance. Telephones: Fire Dept., No. 348 City (three lines); Life Dept., No. 2261 Avenue ( two lines); Accident Dept., No. 6186 City. Telegraphic Addresses: Fire Dept., " Phoenix, Stock, London "; Life Dept., " Biometry, Stock, London "; Accident Dept., " Phcenance, Cannon, London."

PHOENIX BRICK CO., Brick Manufacturers. Works: Whitchurch, near Cardiff. Office: Bank Buildings, St. Mary Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by John Courtis. Present Principal: Sir John Courtis, J.P. Premises: Works occupy twelve acres. Specialities: Red Facing and Wire Cut Common or Stock Bricks. Telephones: No. 4151 Cardiff (Offices); No. 7 Whitchurch (Works). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Sir John Courtis is an Alderman and has been Lord Mayor of the City of Cardiff, and is a Justice of the Peace.

PHOENIX SUPPLY CO. (THE), Oil Merchants and Refiners, General Engineers, and Mill Furnishers, 15, Hosier Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 189.0 by Alfred E. Gilbert and David Methven, the present principals. Specialities: Lubricating Oils and Greases, Steam and Hydraulic Packings, Leather and Balata Beltings, Indiarubber Hose, Engineers' Tools, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone No. 795 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Oilnuts, Cent., London." Bankers: National Bank Ltd. (Oxford Street).

PHOSPHOR BRONZE CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Phosphorized Metals, 87, Sumner Street, Southwark, London, S.E., and Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1874. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Walter Lester (Chairman and Managing Director), Montagu Samuel. Specialities: Phosphor Bronze, White Metals and all Nonferrous Alloys. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4174 Hop, London; No. 334 East, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Phosbronze, London "; " Phosphor, Birmingham." Cable Address: " Iffiest, London." Code: A B C, Lieber's.

PICKARD, W., & CO., Ltd., Saxon Works, Rutland Road, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1891 by William Pickard (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Chairman and Managing Director: H. White, F.C.S. Premises: Recently completed a large Factory and Offices at above address adjacent to two Factories erected seven years ago. Buildings have a frontage of 205 feet to Rutland Road and seventy-eight feet each side of Fryerning Road. Business: Licensed Makers of Methylated Spirit. Makers of Spirit Varnishes, Polishes, Paint, Enamel, &c. Proprietors of " Saxonol " Anti-rust preparations. Makers of Flavouring Essences, Colours, &c., for Aerated Waters and Confectionery. Proprietors of " Electrol " Brand Specialities and Pickard's Concentrated Vinegar Essence. Connection: United Kingdom (all parts); Export to South Africa, United States and Australia. Telephone: No. 900 Central, Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Pickard, Sheffield." Bankers: London City & Midland Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield), Infirmary Road Branch.

PICKERING & CHATTO, Antiquarian Booksellers and Publishers, 66, Haymarket, St. James's, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1818 by William Pickering. Partnership Succession: Mr. Pickering was succeeded by his son, Basil Montague Pickering, followed by Alexander David Denny. Present Proprietor (since 1886): Thomas Chatto. Have always been associated with the production of well-printed and edited books. A " Pickering " Edition is held in world-wide esteem amongst bibliophiles, and the present-day firm is well known for the issue of catalogues of Rare • Books, extensively annotated with important bibliographical descriptions. Specialities: Old and Rare Books, Early English Literature, Choice Old Bindings, Illuminated Manuscripts, and Early Typographical Specimens. Connection: All over the world. Telephone: No. 1539 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Lycidas, London."

PICKERING, GREAVES & CO., Woollen Manufacturers, Ravensthorpe Mills, Ravensthorpe. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. The business of James Fox & Co., Batley, was owned by E. W. Pickering and is now merged into Pickering, Greaves & Co., who also continue to make cloths as formerly made by Thackrah & Co., Ltd., from whom the Mills were purchased by the present firm. Present Principals: Emil William Pickering and John Edward Greaves. Premises: Cover 13,000 square yards. Staff: 300. Specialities: Mantle and Costume Cloths, Tweeds, Fancy Trouserings and Fancy Worsteds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, 3D Colonial. Telephone: No. 5 Dewsbury. Telegraphic Address: " Tweeds, Dewsbury." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lanes and Yorks Banking Co., Ltd.

PICKERING, R. Y., & CO., Ltd., Railway Carriage and Wagon Builders, Wheel and Axle Makers, &c., Wishaw, near Glasgow. Established in 1864 by John Pickering. Incorporated in 1888. Works at Wishaw cover twenty-six acres. Branch Works: Rawyards, near Airdrie; Thornton Junction, Fife; and Beighton, Sheffield. London Office: 3, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W. Principal Business: The construction of Carriages and Wagons and Wheels and Axles of all kinds for all gauges and purposes and for all climates. Are also proprietors of a large number of wagons running in the United Kingdom. Co. znection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial Governments, and Railway Companies. Are Contractors to the India Office, the Crown Agents for the Colonies, War Office, &c. Telephones: No. 4 Wishaw; Westminster, No. 5271; Airdrie, No. 2; Thornton, No. 20 Thornton; Beighton, No. 195 Woodhouse. Tele-graphic Addresses: " Pickering," Wishaw, Airdrie, Thornton, Fife, and Beighton; " Wagonload, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

PICKFORDS, Ltd., Foreign and General Carriers, Passenger Ticket Agents, 57, Gresham Street, London, E.C.; Principal Ticket Office, 156, Brompton Road, London, S.W. Hours of Business: (Head Office) 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the seventeenth century by Mathew Pickford. In 1817 the business was acquired by the Baxendales, and it has since been held by that family through three generations. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Lloyd H. Baxendale, Frank H. Baxendale, Nigel O.. Walker, and Guy V. Baxendale. Premises: Head Offices as above, and upwards of 200 branches in London, the provinces, and the Colonies, with agencies all over the world. Staff: Between 8,000 and 9,000. Telephones: (Chief Office), Nos. 3143, 3144, 3145, 3146 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pickford, London."

PICKLES, R. H., & CO., Chemical Manufacturers, Prussiate Works, Droylsden, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1898 by R. H. Pickles, F. Hartley Pickles (senior), and F. Hartley Pickles (junior). Present Principals: Robert H. Pickles and F. Hartley Pickles. Premises: Cover seven acres. Staff: Thirty. Specialities: Manganese and Lead Compounds for the Oil, Paint and Varnish Industries. Manganese Jointing Pastes for Steam, Gas and Water Joints. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Crown Colonies and Foreign. Telephone: No. 92 Openshaw, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Pickells, Manchester."

PICKUP, W. R., & CO., Ltd., Porcelain Enamelled Fireclay Manufacturers, Pearl Brook Works, Horwich, Lancs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Adam Mason & Sons. incorporated as a Limited Company. Staff: Over 200. Branches: In London, on the Continent, &c. Specialities: Baths, Urinals, Lava-tories, Water-Closets, and every description of Enamelled Fireclay Sanitary Fittings. Patents: Several for Urinals, Water Closets, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Horwich. Telegraphic Address: " Clayware, Horwich."

PICTORIAL NEWSPAPER COMPANY (1910), Ltd. (THE), Proprietors of the " Daily Mirror," 23-29, Bouverie Street, London, E.C., and 22, Cannon Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Editorial Offices always open. Incorporated as a Limited Company March 15th, 1910. Telephone: No. 6100 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Refl.exed, Fleet, London."

PIERCE (PHILIP) & CO., Agricultural Engineers and Cycle Manufacturers, Mill Road, Wexford, and Paris. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1849 by James Pierce. Succeeded by the late Philip Pierce and the late Martin Pierce (sons). Present Principal: John Pierce. Premises: Works cover eight acres, fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: 450. Specialities: Victor Mowers and Pierce Cycles. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 14 Wexford. Telegraphic Address: " Pierces, Wexford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Provincial Bank of Ireland, Ltd.

PIGGOTT BROTHERS & CO., Ltd., Tent Manufacturers, &c., 220, 222 and 224, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1780 by Thomas Courtney. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Courtney & Sons; (2) William Piggott; (3) Hannah Piggott; (4) Piggott Brothers; (5) Piggott Brothers & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors David W. Courtney Piggott (Managing Director), William Courtney Piggott, Harold Piggott. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Consist of a block of five floors in Bishopsgate, with a frontage of about 70 feet, and two extensive Factories, equipped with all modern improvements. Tent Stores, 12 and 14, Booth Street; Works, 34 and 40, Booth Street, Spitalfields. All their specialities are manufactured on the premises. Staff: 300 to 400. Specialities: Marquees, Tents, Tarpaulins, and Flags, Camp Equipment and Sporting Goods. Also Contractors for Pavilions, Decorators, &c., for Royal Reception Ceremonies. Inventions: Several. Awards: Gold Medal, London International Exhibition, 1894; Silver Medal, Greater London Exhibition, 1899; Silver Medal, Health Exhibition, 1884. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4850 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Piggott, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of England. The Directors are members of the London Chamber of Commerce.

PIGGOTT (THOMAS) & CO., LIMITED, General Engineers, Atlas Works, and Hooper Street Works, Spring Hill, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1822. Joined by partner in 1879. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Hubert Bewlay, Nevill H. Everitt. Managing Director: Thos. P. Barker. Chairman: Arthur Ll. Lloyd. Specialities: Gasholders, Gas Plants, Large Welded and Rivetted Steel Pipes, Patent Steel - Pressed, Steel and other Tanks, &c. Patents: Several. Telephones: Nos. 3027 and 3028 (National), Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: Atlas, Birmingham." Codes: A B C, A 1, and Western Union. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Colmore Row, Birmingham).

PILCHERS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Paints, Colours, Oils, Varnishes, &c., Morgan's Lane, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1770 by John Giles and Jeremiah Pilcher. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir Walter Gilbey, Bart., Guy Gilbey, Harry Grinling, Sidney Grinling; L. A. Routledge, and A. G. Cryer. Business has been conducted at the same address since foundation. Premises: Extensive build- ing, the freehold property of the Company. Staff: About 160. Specialities: Colours, Enamels, Oils, Varnishes. Patents: For Enamels and Colours. Awards: Calcutta, 1883, 1884; Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Festival of Empire, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3730 Hop, London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Pilcher, London." Codes: A B C, A 1.

PILKINGTON BROTHERS, Ltd., Glass Manufacturers, &e., 21 and 25, Grosvenor Chambers, Deansgate, Manchester, and Tower Buildings, Water Street, Liverpool. Works: St. Helens, Lancs. Telegraphic Address: Pilkington," Manchester and Liverpool.

PILKINGTON (PETER), Ltd., Manufacturers of Pneumatic Machinery, Caxton House, Westminster, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by Peter Pilkington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Managing Director: G. W. Grimshaw. London Manager: W. H. Badams. Large Works at Bamber Bridge, near Preston. Specialities: Pneumatic Hammers, Pneumatic Drills, Air Compressors, &c. Patents: For Pneumatic Forging Hammers and Pneumatic Tools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 4437 Vic. Telegraphic Address: " Asunder, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PILLEY (JOHN) & SONS, Woollen Manufacturers, Union Mills, Eccleshill, near Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1851 by John Pilley, joined in partnership by his three sons. Present Principals: Hy. Pilley, Frank Pilley, A. W. Pilley. Specialities: Fancy Woollens, Riding Tweeds, Covert Coat ings, Tweed Suitings. Telephone: No. 56 Idle, Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Pilley, Eccleshill." Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Bradford).

PILLMAN & PHILLIPS, Corn and Flour Merchants, Seething Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.rn. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885. Branches: Liverpool and Bristol. Connection: England, Wales, Ireland, United States, Canada. Telephones: No. 2711 Avenue, London; No. 1689 Liverpool; No. 247 Bristol. Telegraphic Addresses: " Man lips, London "; " Pillman, Liverpool " Flour, Bristol." Bankers: Union of 3 D 2 London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; Bank of Liverpool (Liverpool); Lloyds Bank Limited (Bristol).

PIM BROTHERS & CO., Manufacturers of Irish Poplin for Ladies' Dresses, &c., and Irish Poplin Neckwear, 22, William Street, Dublin. London Offices: 3 and 4, Milk Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1847 by Pim Brothers & Co. Present Principals: Frederic W. Pim, Joseph Todhunter Pim, H. Leopold Pim and Edgar A. Pim. Branches: Amsterdam, Edmonton, Montreal, Wellington, N.Z., and Cape Town, S.A. Speciality: Gentlemen's Ties in Irish Poplin, Unique designs. Awards: Eighteen Prize Medals. uonnection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2597 Dublin; No. 49 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: "Poplins," Dublin and London. Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

PIMM'S, LIMITED, Restaurateurs. Head Office: 88, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Established over forty years. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Proprietors of several noted Restaurants in the City and the Cavendish Hotel, Eastbourne. Specialities: High-class Luncheons, Dinners, Masonic Banquets, &c.; Choice Wines, Native Oysters, Real Turtle Soup, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. when Prince of Wales, H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, H.I.M. the Tsar of Russia, &c. Telephone: No. 3965 Avenue. Bankers: Martin's Bank, Limited (Lombard Street, E.C. ).

PINCHIN (WILLIAM) & CO., Colour, Polish and Varnish Merchants and Manufacturers, 8, Church Street, Shoreditch, London, E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by William Pinchin. Present Principals: William Spencer Pinchin, Harold Charles Pinchin and Victor Bertram Liddle. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Colours, Polishes and Varnishes. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 9972 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Gaverron, London."

PINK, E. & T., Ltd., Manufacturers of Jams, Marmalade, Confectionery, Pickles, &c., Wholesale Grocers, Italian Warehousemen, Spice Grinders and Wharfingers. Offices and Works: Staple Street, Long Lane, Borough, London, S.E. City Showroom: St. George's House, Eastcheap, E.C. Pepper Mills: Staple Street. Wharf: Scott's Wharf, Dockhead, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Factory, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1865. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Sir Thomas Pink (Governing Director) and Leonard M. Pink. Premises: The Works of the firm in Staple Street, S.E., are upon an immense scale, and their practical organisation and equipment are proportionately extensive. Staff: About 2,000. Specialities: All kinds of Jams, Marmalade, &c. Also Confectionery, Pickles, Spices, Pepper, Italian Warehouseman's Goods and Grocery in general. Largest Manufacturers of Jams and Marmalade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 482 Hop (private branch exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Pink, Phone, London."

PINTO LEITE & NEPHEWS, Bankers and Merchants, 45, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Jose Pinto Leite (Count des Olivaes e de Penha Longa), Julio Pinto Leite (Count dos Olivaes) , Henry James Glanville, J.P., Joao Pinto Leite (Viscount dos Olivaes). Staff: Large. Branches: Alexandra Buildings, James Street, • Liverpool; 30, Princess Street, Manchester. Business: Banking in all its branches. Connection: Brazil, Costa Rica, Argentine, Portugal, Africa, India, and New York. Telephones: No. 1272 London Wall, and Central 4996. Telegraphic Address: " Execute, London." Bankers: Bank of England; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PIRIE (ALEX) & SONS, Ltd., Paper Makers, Envelope Makers, &c., Stoneywood Works, Bucksburn, Aberdeenshire. London Offices: 96 and 97, Farringdon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1770. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: F. Logie Pixie (Chairman), F. D. Pixie, G. L. Pixie, M. H. Pixie, D. V. Pixie, M.P., A. Marr, H. A. D. Wathen, and W. Y. McDonald. Premises: Extensive. Branch Works, Union Works, Aberdeen. Branches: Dublin, Glasgow, Paris, Melbourne, Johannesburg. Speciality: High-grade Papers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7 Bucksburn; No. 21 Woodside; No. 40 Aberdeen. Telegraphic Address: " Pixie, Aberdeen." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

PIRIE, WYATT & CO., Ltd., Paper Manufacturers, St. Cuthbert's Paper Works, Wells, Somerset; 20 to 21, Greenhithe, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: F. Logie-Pirie (Chairman), J. C. Hutchieson and T. D. M. Burnside (Managing Directors), R. Watt, J. W. Wyatt. Premises: Mill, No. 364, Works situated about 100 yards from Wookey Station, G.W. Railway, thirty miles from Bristol, and one and a quarter miles from Wells. Goods Siding into Mill. Two Machines. Works cover fortyeight acres. Staff: 320. Specialities: Engine-Sized and Tub-Sized Writings, Banks and Typewriting Papers, Fine Printings, Pulp Boards, Rough Etching Boards, High-class Super-Calendered, Plate Glazed and Linen-Finished Papers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 15 Wells; No. 5158 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Antique, Cannon, London "; " Cuthberts, Wells, Somerset." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (London).

PITMAN (SIR ISAAC) & SONS, Ltd., Publishers of Shorthand, Commercial, Scholastic, and Literary Works, and of " Pitman's Journal " (estab. 1842), " Pitman's Shorthand Weekly," " Pitman's Magazine of Business Education "; Printers, Proprietors of Pitman's School. Registered Office: Pho-netic Institute, Bath. London Offices, &c.: 1, Amen Corner, E.C., and 142 to 154, Southampton Row, W.C. New York Offices: 2 to 6, West 45th Street. Established in 1845 by Sir Isaac Pitman, who invented his now universally known system of Shorthand in 1837, and founded the business eight years later, primarily for the publication of his own works. Partnership Successions: Isaac Pitman (d. 1897), 1845 to 1886; Isaac Pitman and his sons Alfred and Ernest Pitman (in partnership as Isaac Pitman & Sons), 1886 to 1896. Incorporated as a Limited Company under present title in 1896. Directors: Alfred Pitman and Ernest Pitman. Staff: At Bath, about 180; at Pitman's School, Southampton Row, London, about 100; at the Publishing House, Amen Corner, London, fifty. Business: The Printing of Books and Periodicals in Shorthand movable type, since 1873. Also General Letterpress and Colour Printing. Publications issued cover the whole field of Shorthand training with many other subjects; and copyright is held in all Sir Isaac Pitman's Works, and in a large number of Commercial, Educational, and other Works. Telephones: No. 6519, for Amep Corner; No. 832 Central, for Pitman's School; No. 343 Bath, for Phonetic Institute. Telegraphic Addresses: " Contemporary, Cent, London," for Amen Corner; " Shorthand, London," for Pitman's School; " Pitman, Publisher, Bath." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England.

PITT & SCOTT, Ltd., General Shipping and Commission Agents, Foreign Carriers, and Export Packers, 25, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876 by Herbert Scott.. Incorporated in 1899, the founder being Governing Director. Branches: 4, Redcross Street, Liverpool; 5, Dixon Street, Glasgow; 67, 68, 69, Stafford Street, Birmingham; 47, Rue Cambon, Paris; 60, Pearl Street, New York; also Agents throughout the world. Speciality: The Transport of Goods abroad. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 749 Bank; No. 7635 Central; and No. 7423 Wall (three lines). Telegraphic Address: "Shipping, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Cannon Street, E.C.

PITTS (GEORGE) & SONS, LIMITED, Leather Manufacturers, Kirkdale Tannery, 104, North Dingle, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1832 by the late George Pitts. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Pitts (Chairman), John Williamson, Alfred L. Dixon (Managing Director). Premises: Cover a quarter of an acre. Staff: Sixty. Speciality: Highclass Sole Leather. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, United States. Telephone: No. 269 Bootle. Telegraphic Address " Pitts, Kirkdale, Liverpool." Bankers i London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PIVER, L. T., & CIE., Manufacturing Perfumers, 10, Boulevard de Strasbourg, Paris, and 9 and 10, Edward Street, Soho, London, W., and 149, Rue du Midi, Brussels. Hours of Business: London, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1774 by L. T. Piver in the Rue St. Martin 105, Paris. Continued by (1) Alphonse Piver; (2) A. Piver and Nocard Freres. Present Principals: Lucien Toussaint Piver fils, Jacques Rouche and Paul Nocard. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive Works at Aubervilliers, near Paris and Grasse (Alpes-Maritimes), France. Staff: 600. Specialities: Corylopsis du Japon, Lait d'Iris, Trefle Incarnat, Azurea, Safranor, Floramye, Pornpeia, Esperis and other choice and unique perfumes. Output for 1911, £500,000, Patents: Lait d'Iris and Savon Sue de Laitue. Awards: Three Gold Medals, seven Grand Prix. The members of the firm have been six times members of Jury, and nine times Hors Concours at Exhibitions: Paris, 1823, 1855, 1867, 1869 and 1900; London, 1851, 1862 and 1908; Brussels, 1897 and 1910; Liege, 1905; Buenos Aires, 1910. Telephone: No. 9028 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Corylopsis," Paris, London. Bankers: Societe Generale and Credit Lyonnais.

PLACKETT, H. & W., Lace Manufacturers. Warehouse: 5 and 7, High Pavement, Nottingham. Factory: Breaston, Derby. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. (Nottingham); 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Derby). Established 100 years ago by Henry Plackett, sen. (d.). Succeeded by Henry Plackett and William Plackett (nephews) (d.). Continued by William Davis and Leonard William Plackett as Managers for the Trustees. Claim that the founder was one of the pioneers of the Warp Lace trade. Premises: Two factories at Breaston, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Specialities: Irish Crochets, American Laces, Glove Fabrics. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 191 Nottingham; No. 9 Long Eaton. Telegraphic Address: " Plackett, Pavement, Nottingham." Mr. W. Davis is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Nottingham.

PLANT, H. W., & CO., Manufacturers of Cardigan Jackets, &c., 39, Welford Road, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1861 by Benjamin Plant and James Plant. Present Principal: H. W. Plant. Specialities: Cardigan Jackets, Men's Sweaters, and Knitted WoolGoods (Men's and Women's). Awards: Silver Medal, Paris Exhibition, 1867; Diploma of Merit, Royal Military Exhibition, 1890. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephone: No. 321 Leicester. Bankers: Lloyds Bank.Limited. Mr. H. W. Plant is Vice-Chairman of the Hosiery Manufacturers Association, and is a Major in the National Reserve.

PLANTA, J., & CO., Merchants, Alexandria, Egypt, Liverpool, and Manchester. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1853 by J. de Planta in Alexandria, and in 1867 in Liverpool, and in 1911 in Manchester. Present Principals: J. Camonisch, R. A. Camenisch, C. L. Allemann, and F. Allemann. Speciality: Egyptian Cotton. Telephones: No. 5881 (Central), Liverpool; No. 796 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Planta, Liverpool "; Quintuple, Manchester." Code: Private. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

PLATER (JOHN J.) & SONS, Basket Manufacturers, Willow and Cane Merchants and Factors to the Basket Trade, 261, 262, 263 and 264, Bradford Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1863 by John J. Plater (d. 1912). Present Principals: Frank Plater, John H. Plater and H. Ernest Plater (sons). The founder was acknowledged to be the most successful blind business man in England. Premises: Cover about 26,000 square feet. Staff: About 120. Branches: London, 34, Paternoster Row, E.C.; Birmingham, Green Street. Specialities: English Basket Ware, chiefly for Commercial Purposes; also Invalid Carriages and all receptacles used in the Motor and Cycle trade, Side Cars, &c. Many Registered Designs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 569 Midland, Birmingham; No. 1473 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Wicker, Birmingham." Code: A B C. .Bankers Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

PLATT BROTHERS & CO., Ltd., Makers of Textile Machinery and Colliery Proprietors, Hartford Works, Oldham. Manchester Office: 5, St. Ann's Square. Glasgow Office: 109, Hope Street. Established in 1821 at Oldham by Henry Platt, originally of Saddleworth, maker of Woollen Spinning and Weaving Machinery. Incorporated as a Limited Company under title as above in 1868; Chairman, John Platt (d. 1872), from 1865 M.P. for Oldham, and Mayor and Alderman of the town, succeeded as Chairman by Samuel Radcliffe Platt, J.P. (son), High Sheriff of Lancashire, Mayor of Oldham, &c. (d. 1902). Present Directors: John Dodd, J.P. (Chairman), George W. Needham, J.P. (Vice Chairman), Henry P. Hall, Thomas R. Marsden, J.P., John S. Nuttall. Secretary: Charles A. Hempstock. Premises: Hartford Old Works, Hartford Forge, Hartford Saw Mills, Werneth Spindle Works, Hartford New Works, forming the largest textile machine manufacturing concern in the world; also Moston, Jubilee, and Butterworth Hall Collieries. About twelve thousand hands employed. Makers of Machinery in great variety for Ginning Cotton, Opening, Carding, Combing, Preparing, Spinning, Doubling, and Weaving Cotton, Wool, Worsted, Asbestos, &c. Specialities: Hopper Bale-Breaker, Patent Combinations of Opening Machinery, Improved Carding Engines, Cotton Combing Machines, Stubbing, Intermediate, and Roving Frames, Self-Acting Mules, Ring Frames, Self-Acting Twirlers, Doubling Machines, Looms and Preparation. Also Machinery for the manufacture of Worsted Yarns on both the English and French systems. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 26, New Works; No. 186, Old Works. Telegraphic Address: " Platts, Oldham."

PLATT (DANIEL) & SONS, Brick, Tile, and Tesselated Tile Manufacturers, Brownhills Tileries, Tunstall, Staffs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to •1 p.m. Established over thirty years ago by the late Daniel Platt (senior). Succeeded in 1895 by Frank Platt, Howard Platt, Daniel Platt, Alfred Platt, Leonard Platt (sons), the present principals. Premises: Cover forty acres. Founder's father had. these works in partnership with another over fifty years ago. Stag: 300. Branch: At Newcastle-under-Lyme. Specialities: Ridges, Quarries, Tesselated Tiles, Ferrolite Brands, Platt's 0.P., Platt's Excelsior Crown, Platt's Anchor, Stocked by all the leading merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 595 (National), Tunstall. Telegraphic Address: " Platt's, Tunstall, Staffs." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Burslem, Staffs).

PLATTS' SPLIT PACKING CO., Engine and Pump Packing Specialists, 45, Venner Road; Warehouse, 62, Camberwell Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1908 by H. C. Platts, Assoc.M.Inst.C.E., formerly partner and manager of Platts & Lowther, founded 1890, now extinct. On dissolution of partnership present firm started. Present Principal: H. C. Platts (also Manager). Speciality: Platts Split Packing, an improved compensating Packing for Engines, Pumps, Accumulators, Steamhammers, &c., designed to reduce friction between packing and rods or plungers. Claim great success for the method, allowi ng engines supplied with it to exert their full power through reduction of friction; Packing Rods and plungers last longer. Adopted as standard by many important manufacturing firms, Iron and Steel Manufacturers, Waterworks and Engi neoring firms generally. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, British Colonies and Continents of Europe, Asia, Africa and America. Telegraphic Address: " Hydrolytic, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., London, London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. H. C. Platts is a member of the Lewisham Borough Council. He is an Associate member of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

PLEYEL, LYON & CO., Pianoforte Manufacturers, Paris, and 79 and 80, Baker Street, and 51, George Street, Portman Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established late in the eighteenth century. Present Principals Gustave Lyon (Paris) and F. A. Peaty (London). Owners of four Concert Halls, Showrooms, &c. Staff: Over 1000. Specialities: Pianos and Harps. Patents: Steel and Aluminium Framing for Pianos. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2727 Paddington. Telegraphic Address: " Pleyel, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

PLUTTE, SCHEELE & CO., Ltd., Import and Export Merchants, 18 and 19, Queenhithe, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by F. Plutte. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. First Directors, J. N. Cooper (retired 1912) and P. Kuppers. Directors: E. Plutte (since 1912) and P. Kuppers. Business: Importing and Exporting Specialities, chiefly Electrical Accessories. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies, Germany, France, and Switzerland. Telephones Nos. 7222 and 7223 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Teleficas, Can, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., St. Paul's Churchyard, E.C.

POCHE, F., & CO., Commission Merchants, 46, Bloom Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Ferdinand Poche, the present principal. Business: Exporters of Textile Goods, Metals, &c.; Importers of Turkey Produce, Wool, Opium, Gum, Tobacco, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Turkey. Telephone: No. 5666 (Central), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Poche, Manchester." Bankers Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

POCOCK, A. F., & CO., Ltd., Insurance Brokers and Auctioneers, 49, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Arthur Frederick Pocock. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Walter Selby Coles, Reginald William Pocock and Arthur Frederick Pocock (Chairman), who specializes as an Auctioneer. The founder was one of the pioneer Insurance Brokers in London and has held his licence as an Auctioneer for over forty-five years. Business: Experts in Assurance and Insurance. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 11975 Central, London. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Mr. Pocock is a Life Governor of Charina° Cross and University College Hospitals. Clubs: City Union, and others.

POCOCK BROTHERS, Boot Manufacturers, Leather Merchants, 235, Southwark Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1815 by Thomas Pocock, who was succeeded by his three sons, Thos. Gotch Pocock, Alfred Pocock, Ebenezer Pocock (deceased). Present Principals: George Pocock, Percy Rogers Pocock, and Percy Laurence Pocock. Premises: Cover more than an acre. Stag: 300. Specialities: All descriptions of Boots and Shoes. Are also Leather Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to II.M. Government (War Office, &c.). Telephones: No. 291 Hop; No. 3452 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Rohima, London." The present members of the firm are the Hon. Secretaries of the Royal Blind Pension Society.

POLACK TYRE & RUBBER CO., Ltd., (THE), Manufacturers of Solid India Rubber Motor, Pneumatic, and Bicycle Tyres, etc., Bassishaw House, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Managing Director: F. Poppe. Branches: Manchester, Birmingham, Newcastle, Nottingham, Bradford, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Belfast, Dublin, etc., and all colonies. Speciality: Solid Rubber Tyres. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5725, London (Multiple Lines). Telegraphic Address: " Polackomp," London, Manchester, Birmingham, Newcastle, Nottingham, Bradford, Glasgow, 'Edinburgh, Belfast, Dublin, etc. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Liebers, Western Union. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

POLAND (PETER RAYMOND) & SON, Fur Skin Merchants, 110, Queen Victoria Street, and Knightrider Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1781 by Peter Raymond Poland; carried on by Sir William Henry Poland, Richard Henry Poland, and Edwin Lawrence Poland. Present Principals: Henry Poland, Charles Poland, Ernest Poland. One of the oldest houses, if not the oldest, in the Fur Trade. Family connected with that trade, in direct succession from father to son, from Adam Poland (born 1626) until the present day. Premises: Offices and Warehouses at 110, Queen Victoria Street, and Knightrider Street, E.C. Business: Importers and Exporters of Fur Skins; Commission Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 741 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Poland, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Prescott's Office).

POLLARD, A., Naturalist and Furrier, 48, Park Road, Upper Baker Street, London, N.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1874 by A. Pollard. Joined in partnership by F. E. Pollard (son). Present Principals: A. Pollard and F. E. Pollard. The founder was formerly with E. Ward, of Wigmore Street, and assisted in setting up the following fine trophies: " The Struggle " (lion and tiger fighting over deer), awarded Medal, Paris, 1867; Three Fighting Tigers, Albert Hall, 1871; Duke of Edinburgh's Elephant, South Kensington, 1873. Speciality; High-class work at moderate charges in every branch of Taxidermy. Exhibited Gold Coast birds at Colonial Exhibition, and was awarded Diploma for exhibit at People's Palace, 1896; exhibited Big Game Trophies at Sports Exhibition, Olympia, 1909. Has carried out work for several Royal personages (H.R.H. Prince Christian, H.R.H. Prince Christian Victor, H.S.H. Prince Louis of Battenberg, &c.), and is recommended by Officers cf the Army, especially in India and Africa.

POLLARD, E., & CO., Ltd., Shop Front Manufacturers, Show Case Makers, &c., 29, Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by Edward Pollard. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Edward Pollard (Managing Director) and H. N. Barnes ( General Manager). Staff: Over 500, Specialitio; Shop Fronts, Show Cases, Bank and Office Fittings, and Sundries; Exhibition Stands, Glass Decoration work, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3980 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Staving, London." Code: Lieber's Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Shoreditch).

POLLARD (WILLIAM) & CO., Ltd., Printers, Lithographers, Publishers, Binders, Account Book Makers and Stationers, 11, 39 and 40, North Street, Exeter. London Office: Albion House, 59-61, New Oxford Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1781 by William Carss Pollard. Continued by his son (d. 1850) and his grandsons, William and Henry Pollard. In 1855 Henry Pollard retired and the business was carried on by William Pollard. At his death in 1884 it was re-named Wm. Pollard & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Shares taken up by the family of William Pollard (d.). Managing Directors: H. F. Pollard and L. Pollard. Very old firm ranking amongst the oldest in the trade. Premises: Extensive, extending on both sides of North Street. Fully equipped with modern machinery. Staff: About Seventy-five. Specialities: Book, Catalogue, General Commercial Printing and Lithography; also Specialists in Pedigree and Family History Printing. Proprietors and Publishers of " The Genealogist." Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3, Exeter; No. 4101 Regent, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pollards, Printers, Exeter." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Exeter). The Rev. Canon Pollard, who was a partner from 1850 to 1855, took Holy Orders in 1858, and has now been for many years Rector of St. John's, Ottawa, Canada.

POLLIT & WIGZELL, Ltd., Engineers, &c., Bank Foundry, Sowerby Bridge. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established at the end of the eighteenth century by Timothy Bates. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Original Directors: Joseph Pollit (Chairman),Eustace Wigzell (Managing Director). Present Directors: E. E. Pollit (Managing Director), W. S. Milligan, J. W. Pollit, and V. A. Milligan. Premises: Cover about five acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Stationary Engines of all descriptions for driving all classes of machinery and Millwright Work. Patents: Engines, Condensers and Valve Gears. Connection t United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 523 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Prow, Sowerby Bridge. Code: A B C (5th Edition), and Engineering. The Managing Director is on the Council of the Halifax Chamber of Commerce.

POLYGLOT TRANSLATING AND INTERPRETING BUREAU (E. F. PAVENTA, Sole Principal), Translations from and into all languages; and Interpreters.—See PAVENTA, E. F.

POLYSULPHIN CO., Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, Soapmakers and Engineers. Head Office: Brislington, Bristol. London Offices: 95, Fonthill Road, Finsbury Park, N. Works: Keynsham and Brislington. Hours of Business: Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1895 by F. L. Bartelt. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1905. Directors: F. L. Bartelt, J.P. (Chairman), F. W. Bartelt (General Managing Director), I. Peters (Managing Director for Works and Offices), H. C. Gibson (Managing Director for Travelling Department). Secretary: E. D. Fisher. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped. Business: Manufacture of Chemicals, Soaps, &c.; Engineering. Have contributed much to the evolution in the Steam Laundry trade: introduced an alkaline product free of fatty matter or acids, to wash without soap and create a firm fibre. Claim to have been the first patentees for applicable vacuum washing and drying and ironing machinery in Steam Laundries. Patents: Very numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Shipping trade. Telephones: No. 2503 Bristol; No. 2170 North, London. Telegraphic Address: " Polysulphin, Brislington, Bristol." Bankers: National, Provincial Bank, Ltd., Bristol. Mr. F. L. Bartelt is a Justice of the Peace for Somerset.

POMMERY & GRENO, Ltd., Champagne Shippers, 24, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Business: Champagne Shippers. Hold a monopoly for the sale of Lse. Pommery, Fils & Co.'s (Reims) Champagne (Pommery & Greno) in the United Kingdom, the British Dominions (Canada excepted), Colonies, Possessions ,and Territories, Manila, China and Japan. Lse. Pommery, Fils & Co. hold special appointment to H.M. the King. Held appointments to His late Majesty King Edward and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 5948 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pommery, Fen, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay's Bank, Ltd.

POND & SON, Dairy Utensil Manufacturers, Ironmongers and Engineers, Blandford, Dorset. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1793 by Samuel Pond. Continued by William Pond. Present Principal: Samuel Pond. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover one acre. Staff: Forty to fifty. Branches: Sherborne and Wimborne, Dorset. Specialities: Dairy Appliances, Cheese Making Apparatus, &c., and Agricultural Engineering. Patents: Various. Awards: Numerous Medals for Dairy Appliances. Connection: United Kingdom, South America, Africa, Australasia and India. Contractors to H.M. Government, The British Dairy Institute, The Dounton College of Agriculture and the Royal Society of England. Supply the Wiltshire and Somerset County Council Cheese Making Schools. Telephone: No. 16 Blandford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pond, Blandford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Wilts. and Dorset Banking Co., Ltd. The principals have been Mayors of the Borough at different times.

PONTHENRY COLLIERY CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Owners. Head Office: Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: G. Wheatly Cobb, J.P. (Chairman), John Tudor, W. R. Jones, M.D., E. Powys Cobb, T. C. Kirk (Managing Director). Staff: 350. Branch: Swansea. Colliery Office: Ponthenry Colliery, near Llanelly. Specialities: Anthracite Coals for Malting, Suction Gas Producers, Stoves, House Fires, Steam Raising, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: No. 1339 Cardiff; No. 957 Central, Swansea. Telegraphic Addresses: " Kirk, Cardiff "; " Prompt, Swansea." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Swansea).

PONTIFEX (H.) & SONS & FARRINGDON WORKS, Ltd.—See FARRINGDON WORKS (THE) & H. PONTIFEX & SONS, Ltd.

PONTIFEX & WOOD, Brewers' Engineers, &c.—See HASLAM FOUNDRY & ENGINEERING CO., Ltd.

POOL, LORRIMER & TABBERER, Worsted Spinners, Hosiery Manufacturers (Plain and Fancy), King Street, Leicester. Factories: Foleshill, Coventry, and Meadow Street, Nuneaton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1849 by Pool, Lorrimer and Tabberer (d.). Present Principals: Alexander Lorrimer, George Osmond Tabberer, Maurice Lorrimer, Frederick S. Shipp, William Henry Tabberer, John Edward Ellis, F. Arthur Shipp. Premises: Very extensive buildings covering about three acres, equipped with up-to-date appliances throughout. Stall: About 2,000. Branches: London-8, Jewin Street, E.C.; Manchester—St. Margaret's Chambers, Newton Street; Belfast-1, College Street; Dublin-41, Drury Street, and 7, Bachelors Walk; Paris-3, Rue Martel; Berlin—Knesebeckstrasse 89; Glasgow70, Union Street; Montreal-4, St. Helen Street; Toronto—Melinda Street; Copenhagen — St. Kongensgade 36 & 38; Christiania—Graendsen 16; Warsaw3 Hypoteczna. Specialities: Children's Costumes, Aprons, Blouses, Children's Muslin and Silk Millinery, Wool Boots, Ladies' Golf Coats, Gents' Motor Coats, Ties, Bodices, Clouds; Gaiters in Wool, Cloth, and Stockinette; Wool Hats, Hoods and Overalls, Hose and Half Hose, Wool Belts, Honeycomb Shawls, Boys' Suits, Ribbed Vests, Muslin Pinafores and Dresses, Ladies' and Gents' Motor Scarves, &c. Telephones: Nos. 4334, 4335, and 4336 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Woollens, Leicester." Code A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

POOLE (HENRY) & CO., Tailors by Special Appointment to His Majesty the King, 37, 38, and 39, Savile Row, and (Livery Department) 3, Old Burlington Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1823 by James Poole, at 171, Regent Street. The founder was succeeded by his son, the well-known Henry George Poole, who in turn was succeeded by his cousin, Samuel Cundey, father of the present principal, Howard Cundey. Branch: Paris, 10, Rue Tronchet. Specialities: Naval, Military, and Civil Service Uniforms; Dress and Sporting Garments; Motor Liveries.' Connection: Extensive Home business; large and distinguished clientele on Continent of Europe and in North and South America. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward and to the chief Courts of Europe. About thirty Warrants of Appointments to reigning or deceased Sovereigns. Telephone: No. 1885 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Eloop, Reg, London." Bankers: Coutts & Co.

POOLEY (HENRY) & SON, Ltd., Manufacturers of Weighbridges,Weighing Machines, Scale Beams, Weights and Shop Fittings, John Bright Street, Birmingham. Established in the eighteenth century by Henry Po oley. Directors: Sir J. Fo rtescue Flannery, Bart., D.L., London (Chairman), Henry Pooley, M. I. M. E., John Po oley, Charles H. Bartlett, Lawrence Jacob (Managing Director). Premises: Registered Offices, John Bright Street, Birmingham; Albion Foundry, Kidsgrove, Staffs; Albion Scale Works, Smethwick; Egerton Iron Works, Salford. Branches: Liverpool, Manchester, London, Glasgow, Belfast, Dublin, Nottingham, Sheffield, Newport, Gateshead, Newcastle, Middlesboro, Plymouth, Bristol. Repair Depots at over sixty leading towns. Staff: About 1,500. Specialities: Weighbridges, Weighing Machines, Scale Beams, Scales and Weights of all kinds. Railway Weighbridge introduced by this firm in 1835, contemporaneously with the introduction of railways. Patents: Numerous, in Weighing Apparatus and Weighbridges, and Tea Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1737 and 1738 Mid. (Central) Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Pooley, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's; Western Union, and Pooley's.

POPPLETON, APPLEBY & TURNER, Chartered Accountants, 155, Norfolk Street, Sheffield. Two senior Partners have their Head Offices at 26, Corporation Street, Birmingham, trading as Poppleton & Appleby; also senior partners in Poppleton, Appleby & Hawkins, 4, Charterhouse Square, London, E.C. Established: The firm of Poppleton & Appleby in 1880; Poppleton, Appleby & Turner in 1900. Present Principals: George Graham Poppleton, J.P., Charles Thomas Appleby and Charles Turner. Originally founded in Huddersfield, afterwards transferred to Birmingham, and subsequently offices opened in London and Sheffield. Business: Chartered Accountants. Telephones: No. 2787 Sheffield; No. 7100 Birmingham; Nos. 6055 and 6056 London. Mr. G. G. Poppleton is a Justice of the Peace for Worcestershire. He has been a County Councillor for Worcestershire; now a member of the City of Birmingham Corporation. Mr. C. T. Appleby is a member of the City of Birmingham Corporation. Mr. C. Turner is a well-known Sheffield golfer.

PORRITT BROTHER & AUSTIN, Ltd., Stubbins Vale Mills, Ramsbottom, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1829 by Joseph Porritt and James Porritt. Partnership Successions: (1) Porritt Brothers & Austin, 1850; (2) Porritt Brother & Austin, 1856. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Governing Director: Austin Townsend Porritt. Premises: Works erected in 1851. Specialities: Felts for Paper Makers. Blankets and Lappings for Calico Printers and Paper Stainers. Roller and Clearer Cloths, Tapers' Flannel, &c., for Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers. Blankets for Letter-press Printers. Laundry Blankets and Felts. Woollen Card Clothing. Filter Cloths in Woollen. Linen and Cotton, and every description of Woollen, Linen and Cotton Cloths for Mechanical Purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 100 Ramsbottom. Telegraphic Address:" Porritts, Ramsbottom." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

PORRITT (JOSEPH) & SONS, Manufacturers of Blankets and Lappings for Calico Printing, Felts and Jackets for Paper Makers, &c., Helmshore, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1808. Present Principal Oliver William Porritt, J.P. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: All kinds of Open and Endless Woollen, Linen, and Cotton Cloths for Mechanical purposes; Cotton Filter Cloths and Linen Sheathing for Sugar Refiners; Plate and other Cloths for Letterpress and Newspaper Printing; Card Cloths, Kerseys, Laundry Cloths, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones Nos. 4 and 29 Helmshore. Telegraphic Address: "Porritt, Helmshore."

PORRITT & SON, Church Organ Builders, Midland Counties Organ Factory, 84, London Road, Leicester. Hovers of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1867 by J. Porritt. Present Principal: W. Porritt. Premises: One of the largest factories in the Midlands. Business: Manufacturers of Pipe Organs. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Porritt, Leicester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PORT OF LONDON AUTHORITY. Head Office: 109, Leadenhall Street, E.C. River Department Office Victoria Embankment, E.C. Chairman: Rt. Hon. Lord Devonport. Vice-Chairman: The Rt. Hon. Lord Ritchie of Dundee. General Manager: R. Philipson. Consulting Engineer: F. Palmer, C.I.E., M.Inst.C.E, Chief Engineer: C. R. S. Kirkpatrick, M.Inst.C.E. Secretary: F. Ayliffe. The Port of London Authority was established as from 31st March, 1909, by the Port of London Act, 1908, for the control, management, improvement, and preservation of the Port, and has taken over the property and powers of the London and India Docks Company, the Surrey Commercial Dock Company, and the Millwall Dock Company, as well as the powers and duties of (a) the Thames Conservancy in respect of the river below Teddington, and (b) those of the Watermen's Company relating to the licensing of craft and boats and the licensing and control of watermen and lightermen. The Authority own the following docks: London and St. Katharine; Surrey Commercial; East and West India and Millwall; Royal Victoria and Albert; Tilbury. The dock estates cover an area of about 3,000 acres, and include Uptown Warehouses at Cutler Street, Commei.cial Road, and West Smithfield, and a depot at East Smithfield. Telephone No. 4291 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Dock, Led, London."

PORTER (THOMAS) & SONS, Family Grocers, Colonial and Oriental Merchants, &c., 7 and 9, King Street, Sheffield; Wine and Cigar Merchants, 11 to 13, King Street. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Thursdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Established in 1759 by John Porter; succeeded by Thomas Porter (son), who was joined in partnership by Edward Porter and Charles Girdler Porter (sons of Thomas Porter), when the title was altered to above. Present Principals: Charles Girdler Porter, Frederick Slagg, Frank Slagg, Samue' Swift. Stag: Up wards of thirty-six in the Grocery Department. Specialities: High-class Groceries, China and Japanese " Curios," Indian Brassware and Embroideries, Chocolates, French Dessert Fruits, Fondants, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Norway, Germany, France. Telephone: Nos. 15721573 Central, Sheffield (Grocery and Provision Department). Telegraphic Address: " Porters, Sheffield." Bankers: The Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.

PORTER, WM., & CO., African Produce Brokers, 9-11, Rumford Street, Liverpool; and William Porter & Co., G.M.B.H., 16, Rathausstrasse, Hamburg. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established seventy years ago by William Porter. Continued as (1) William Porter & Co.; (2) E. H. Porter and W.S. Porter; (3) A. J. Fontannaz and R. H. Brockbank. Present Principals: A. J. Fontannaz, R. H. Brockbank, C. N. Brockbank, and F. G. Fontannaz. Premises: Offices situated in a central position at a rental of £220 per annum. Staff: Office; fifteen. Specialities: West African Products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 5633 Central, Liverpool; Nos. 4,3493 and 5,2891 Gruppe Fernsprecher, Hamburg. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Porter. Liverpool; " " Portitor, Hamburg." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Exchange Branch, Liverpool); Deutsche BankFiliale, Hamburg.

PORTREE WOOL MILL COMPANY, LIMITED (THE), Tweed Manufacturers. Registered , Office: 59, Academy Street, Inverness. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by the late Lawrence Skene, from whose representatives business was acquired by the Portree Wool Mill Company, Limited, after his death. Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1901. Directors: Richard Duffy (Chairman), W. J. Bethune, Alexander MacDonald, Roderick MacKinnon, Duncan MacKay; Secretary: F. A. Black, F.R.S.E., Solicitor. Premises: Warehouse, 3, Union Street, Inverness; Factory, Portree, Isle of Skye. Mill Lands in Portree cover more than eleven acres. Stag: About thirty. Specialities: Tweeds, Travelling Rugs, Blankets, Home-Spuns, Highland Tartans. Have had the honour of being patronised by His late Majesty King Edward VII. and by H.M. Queen Mary. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 44 Inverness. Telegraphic Address: " Clan, Inverness." Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Inverness and Portree).

PORTWAY, G. R., & CO., Ltd., Woollen Manufacturers, 1, York Place, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1864 by G. R. Portway. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: G. R. Portway, J.P. (Chairman), J. H. Portway, and R. B. Portway. Specialities: Fancy Suitings, Serges, Plain and Fancy Worsted Cloths. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 4243 and 4244 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Portway, Leeds." Code; A B C (5th Edition).

PORTWOOD SPINNING CO., Ltd. (THE), Cotton Spinners, Portwood Mills, Stockport. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1875. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: T. H. Leigh (Managing Director), W. B. Leigh, J. E. Leigh, T. B. Leigh, J. H. Leigh, J. G. Johnson. Premises: Very extensive, containing 110,000 Spindles. Business: Cotton Spinners. Telephone: No. 79, Stockport. Telegraphic Address: " Port wood, Stockport." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

POSEN, E., London (Eduard Posen & Co., Offenbach o/M.), Leather Goods and Dressing Bag Manufacturers, 22/20, Jewin Crescent, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Eduard Posen in 1838. Joined partnership by C. Posen and J. Posen (sons). Afterwards carried on by C. Posen, J. Posen, L. Pohl, and H. Landsberg; next by H. Landsberg, Heinrich Posen and Sydney Posen; then by Eduard Posen, S. Landsberg, and E. H. Posen of London. One of the oldest and largest firms of Leather Goods Manufacturers. Premises: Thoroughly equipped factory at Offenbach, o/M. Very extensive offices and showrooms in London. Branches: Sydney, London, Liverpool and Berlin. Agencies: In Paris, New York, Johannesburg, Brazil, Argentina. Specialities: Leather Goods and Dressing Bags of every description. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 2005 and 7190 London Wall; No. 11 Offenbach. Telegraphic Addresses: " Posen, London "; " Posen, Offenbach main "; " Epeco, Berlin "; " Posen, New York "; " Posenco, Buenosaires "; " Posen, Liverpool "; " Posen, Sydney." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Princes Street, London, E.C.); Credit Lyonnais (Paris); Dresdner Bank (Frankfurt o/M.). Mr. E. H. Posen is a Director of the Goldsmiths and Silver smiths Company, Ltd., of London.

POTHS, H., & CO., Glass Bottle Manufacturers, 26 and 27, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 'p.m. Established in 1869 by H. Poths. Present Principals: Johnsen & Jorgensen, Ltd. Branches: Manchester, Glasgow, Belfast. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 6660 Holborn (four lines), London. 1 Telegraphic Address: " Poths, London." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., Great Tower Street, London, E.C.

POTOSI SILVER CO. (THE).—See LEVI & SALAMAN.

POTTER, A. C., & CO., Engineers, Lant Street, Borough, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by A. C. Potter and Frank Baker. R. W. Bennett joined in 1905 (retired 1907). H. J. Reeves succeeded Frank Baker in 1906. Premises: Large Offices, Workshops, &c., covering an area of 15,000 sq. ft. at Lant Street, Borough, 1.E. Staff: 150. Business: Artesian Well Engineers and General Waterworks Contractors; Manufacturers of Pumping Machinery, tte. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3130 and 3131 City. Telegraphic Address: "Pyrula, Sadist, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Head Office).

POTTER & CLARKE, Ltd., Wholesale and Export Chemists and Druggists, &c., 60, 62 and 64, Artillery Lane, E. Laboratories: Casson Street, Mile End, E. Drug Mill and Lozenge Factory: Fairclough Street, E. Drug Warehouse: Fort Street, London, E. Manchester House: Luna Street, Great Ancoats. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1812 by Henry Potter. Continued by (1) Potter & Hailey; (2) H. Potter & Son; (3) Potter & Clarke. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. Potter, H. A. Potter and R. C. Wren. Founder commenced business as a Leech Seller and Importer. The Company still sell Leeches. Premises: Extensive, comprising five distinct and capacious Warehouses. Also a Herb Farm. Staff: 250. Specialities: Lozenges, Pills and Tablets, Drug grinding, &c. Also the growing and Importing of Herbs. Award: Bronze Medal, Health Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Export, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5457 Avenue, London; No. 7260 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Horehound," London, Manchester. Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. H. Potter has been Mayor of Stepney three times.

POTTER, J. H., Silversmith and Cutler, Rockingham Works, Sheffield. Inventor and Sole Manufacturer of the worldfamed " Rockingham "Plate and Cutlery. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by J. H. Potter, the present principal. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Football, Rifle, Fishing and Holiday. Specialities: Ship and Hotel Plato and Cutlery, Sport Prizes, Trophies, Coupon Specialities. Patents: Numerous. Awards: At various exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 1243 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Silver, Sheffield." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

POTTS & WARD, Ltd., Carpet and Linoleum Manufacturers, 69, Great Eastern Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by John Potts and Henry Ward, successors to Corbiere, Haines & Brindle, 30, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Premises: Offices, &c., at 69, Great Eastern Street, E.C.; Works at Heckmondwike. Specialities: Carpets and Floor Coverings, Blankets, and Horse Clothing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4500 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tempters, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

POUND (JOHN) & CO., Leather Goods Manufacturers, 81 to 84, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Established in 1823 by H. Pound, father of Alderman Sir John Pound, Bart., the present head of the firm. Present Principals: Sir John Pound, Bart., J.P., Percy Herbert Pound. Premises: Factories at 81 to 84, and 75, Leadenhall Street, E.C., Pound's Buildings, E.C., Imperial Warehouses, Leman Street, E. Showrooms in Leadenhall Street, E.C. Branches: 268-270, Oxford Street, W.; 211, Regent Street, W.; 67, Piccadilly, W.; and 177 and 178, Tottenham Court Road, W.; 243, Brompton Road, S.W., London; and at Cape Town. Staff: About 300. Specialities: High-class Dressing Cases, Fitted Bags, Leather Trunks, Suit Cases, Basket, Compressed Cane, and " Premier " Fibre Trunks, Travelling Bags, Kit Bags, and Fancy Leather Goods. The firm take a high place in this trade, and have been awarded Gold Medals at Calcutta and Melbourne. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4277 Avenue. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pound, London." Sir John Pound, Bart., has been a member of the Corporation of London since 1869; Alderman of Aldgate Ward since 1892; Sheriff of London in 1895-6; Lord Mayor, 1904-5. Is Past Master of the Leathersellers, Fruiterers, and Fanmakers Companies. Mr. Percy Herbert Pound is one of H.M. Lieutenants for the City of London, and a Liveryman of the Leathersellers Company.

POUPART, T. J., Fruit Commission Salesman, 520, Central Avenue, Covent Garden Market, London, W.C.; Offices and Warehouse, 110, 111, Long Acre, W.C. Hours of Business: 4 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by John Poupart (trading as T. J. Poupart). Present Principals: John Poupart (founder), William Ravenhill (admitted 1906). Branches: 513 and 520, Central Avenue, Covent Garden Market, London, W.C., 19, Russell Street, W.C., and 110, 111, Long Acre, W.C. Staff: About 120. Specialities: English, Channel Islands, and Continental Hothouse Fruit and Vegetables. Connection: United • Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1524 Regent (six linos). Telegraphic Address: " Poupart, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank (Covent Garden, W.C.); Deutsch Bank (Berlin); Standard Bank of South Africa (Cape Town).

POWELL, BACON & HOUGH LINES, Ltd., Shipping Agents and Ship Brokers, 18, Canute Road, Southampton. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1830. Branches: Falmouth, Plymouth, Ports- • mouth, &c. Business: Steamers run between Liverpool, London, Falmouth, Plymouth, Torquay, Southampton, Portsmouth, Teignmouth, Exmouth, Weymouth, Poole, Shoreham, Newhaven, Dover, Ipswich, Lowestoft, King's Lynn, Gravesend and Rochester. Goods and Passengers carried at low rates to Liverpool by first-class Coasting Steamers. Telephone': No. 552 Southampton. Telegraphic Address: " Coastwise, Southampton."

POWELL & BARSTOW, Ltd., Surgical Instrument Makers, 246A, Borough High Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1830 by William Hurlestone. Continued by William Powell and Charles Henry Barstow. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Director: William Walter Page. Premises Large Factory and Offices. Staff: Sixty-eight. Specialities: Surgical Instruments (Elastic Gum), Elastic Stockings, and Flexible Glazed Gas Tube. Patent: Flexible Glazed Gas Tube. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 6645 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Escocia, London."

POWELL, F. H., & CO. (Powell Lino), Steamship Owners, Tower Building, 22,

POWER (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Pot Still Whiskey Distillers, John's Lane Distillery, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1791 by James Power (d. 1817). Incor porated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Talbot Power, D.L. (Chairman), Thomas Talbot Power, Joseph R. O'Reilly, D.L., Thaddeus F. Ryan, Louis Farrell, J. E. Fottrell. The John's Lane Distillery is one of the oldest of the Dublin Distilleries. The premises cover about eight acres of ground. Bottling Stores, South City Markets. Speciality: Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Agents in all principal Home and Colonial centres. Royal Warrant: By Special Appointment to His Majesty King George V. Tele phones: No. 5760 Avenue (London); Nos. 100 and 800 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Power, Dublin." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

POWER PULLEY CO., Ltd., (THE), Engineers, Power Transmission Specialists, Union Works, Charles Street, Manchester. Established in 1882 by James Shepherd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: E. J. Walthew (Chairman), L. W. Shepherd (Managing Director) Frederick Bates. Staff: 200. Branch: Highfield Ironworks, Levenshulme. Speciality: Mill Gearing in all its branches. Patents: Several. Connection: Colonial and Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Govern ment (Admiralty, War Office, &c.). Also to the Indian Government and the Imperial Japanese Government. Telephones: No. 1659 Central, Manchester; No. 62 Heaton Moor. Telegraphic Address " Perforation, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

POWIS (DAVID) & SONS, Copper Nail and Rivet Works, Floodgate Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by David Powis. Succeeded by George Powis (retired, 1911) and Thomas L. R. Powis. Present Principal: Thomas L. R. Powis. Specialities: Copper Rivets, Washers, Boat Nails, Roves, Tacks, Sheathing Nails, Slate Nails, Panel and Escutcheon Pins. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office and India Office). Telephone: No. 631 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Powis, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Club: Wholesale Hardware, Ltd. (London).

P. & P. ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., General Engineers and Manufacturers, P. & P. Engineering Works, Roden Street, Ilford. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Directors: Frank H. Prentis and John Page-Hawkes. Specialities: All classes of Motor and Motor Cycle Accessories and Mascots; Manufacturers to the Match trade and General Engineering, P. & P. Combined Belt Punch and Cutter, Silk Model Flags of all nations, " Billikin," " Carrier Pigeon," " Swastika," " Monoplane," " Black Cat," Devil," " Gnome " Engine and " Eagle " Mascots. C.Q.R. detachable and adjustable Belt Fastener, P. & P. Mixa Fan, "A. A." Badge Holder Clip, &c. Patents exploited, perfected and manufactured. F. H. Prentis, Inventor and Proprietor of Registered designs: " P. & P." combined Belt Punch and Cutter, Patent Belt Guillotine, and " P. & P." Decompressor. Telephone: No. 170 Ilford. Telegraphic Address: " Prentis, Ilford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Ilford).

PRATT BROS., Electrical Contractors, 16, W. Maitland Street, Edinburgh. Works: 118, Dalry Road, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6, p.m. Established in 1895 by Alexander Pratt, the present sole principal. Premises: Offices built on the site of the Haymarket, Edinburgh. Staff: Forty. Business: Electrical Contracting in all its branches. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3890 and 1685 Central, Edinburgh. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. A. Pratt is President of the Electrical Contractors Association of Scotland and ex-Captain of the Edinburgh High Constable Society, instituted in 1611. Pastime: Golf.

PRATT, F., & CO., Ltd., Engineers and Machine Tool Makers. Registered Offices: 20-22, Winding Road, Halifax. Works: Eagle Iron Works, Victoria Street East, Halifax. London Office: Norfolk House, Laurence Pountney Hill, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1886 by Frederick Pratt at Halifax; London office opened in 1891. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Frederick Pratt, Charles Alfred Pratt, M.I. Mech. E., and Willey Pratt. Specialities: Machine Tools and Workshop Equipment for Engineers, Shipbuilders, Boilermakers, Bridge Builders, Dockyards, Bolt and Nut Making, Wood Working, &c.; also Lathe Chucks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 6258 Central, London; No. 161, Halifax. Telegraphic Addresses: " Drillous, Cannon, London "; " Pratt, Halifax." Cable Addresses: " Drillous, London "; " Pratt, Halifax." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Unicode, Everybody's Pocket, and Private. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Halifax); London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (London Agents).

PRECISION ENGINEERING CO., Ltd. (THE), Press and Press Tool Makers, Metal Stampers and Manufacturers, 143, 145 and 147, Rosebery Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1901 by Charles James Whistler Hanson, A.I.E.E., and Charles Henry Watkins. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Charles James Singleton, J.P., F.C.A., F. Z. S. , &c. (Chairman ), Charles James Whistler Hanson, A.I.E.E., &c. (Managing Director), Charles Henry Watkins (Works Manager). Premises: Occupy five floors at above address. Staff: About thirtyfive. Specialities: Automatic and Combination Press and other Tools, for Cheap and Rapid Manufacture. " Precision " Presses and Tapping Machine, The " Master " Sound Box. Ledger " Metals," &c. Patents and Inventions: Several relating to different branches of manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 12382 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Precengico, London."

PREECE, CARDEW & SNELL, Consulting Engineers, 8, Queen Anne's Gate, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1899 by Sir William Preece, K.C.B. (d. 1913), his two sons, and Major Philip Cardew (d. 1910). Present Principals: A. H. Preece, John F. C. Snell, Llwellyn Preece, J. H. Woodward and S. S. Moore Ede. Business: Consulting Engineers. Telephone: No. 5908 Victoria, London (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Creephole, Vic, London." The late Sir William Preece was Engineer in Chief to the General Post Office, President of the Institution of Civil Engineers, and of the Institution of Electrical Engineers. The late Major Cardew was Electrical Advisor to the Board of Trade. Mr. Snell has been Chief Electrical Engineer and Tramway Engineer at Sunderland, and is Vice-President of the Institution of Electrical Engineers.

PREMIER WATERPROOF & RUBBER CO., Ltd., (THE), Waterproof Goods Manufacturers, Bromley Street, Dantzic Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Chairman: T. Lilley, J.P. Managing Director: H. W. Hassberger. Premises: Very exten sive. Staff: About 1000. Branches: London, Glasgow, New York, Montreal and Berlin. Business: Waterproofing and Rubber Manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1754 and 1755 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " In odorous, Manchester."

PRESS BROTHERS, Ltd., Millers and Corn Factors, Southtown, Great Yarmouth. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1820. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Francis H. Dove (Chairman and Managing Director), Herbert Freeston (Secretary), Frederick W. Townrow. Stag: Forty-seven. Speci alities: High-class Patent Flour from English Wheats grown in Norfolk and Suffolk. Wheat Meal made by the old Millstone process from English Wheat. Horse and Cattle Food. Telephone: No. 65 Great Yarmouth. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Flour, Great Yarmouth." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

PRESS (WILLIAM) & SON, Contractors for Public Works, 94, Fairfield Road, 3r Bow, London, E.; and 19, Old Queen Street, Westminster, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1913 by William Press & Son. Present Principals: William Press and William Edward Press. Have taken over the above depot from Airds, Ltd., previously gaining great experience in all engineering work as their employees. Premises: Extensive. General Contractors' Yard, including Stables, Smiths' Shops, &c. Staff: 400. Business: Specialize in the construction of Gas and Water works, &c. Connection: London and Provinces. Telephones: No. 9504 London Wall; No. 491, East, London. Mr. W. E. Press has been an Assistant Engineer to the Gold Coast Government Water Works.

PRICE BROTHERS & CO., LIMITED, Bedding and Flock Manufacturers And Woollen Merchants, Staplegrove Mills, Wellington, Somerset. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1858 by Joseph Price. Incorporated as a Limited Company. in 1897. Directors: John Cook (Chair man), Fred L. Cook, Robert N. Cook (Secretary), Frederic H. Price (Managing Director). Branch: Factory near Taun ton. Specialities: Thoroughly Purified Bedding of all descriptions; also Mattress Cases for Export (chiefly). Patent: Venti lated Mattresses. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6 (National), Wellington, Somerset. Telegraphic Address: " Wool, Wellington, Somerset." Bankers: National Pro vincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Bristol).

PRICE (CYRUS) & CO., Ltd., Safes, Strong Room Doors and Locks Makers, Britannia Safe and Lock Works, Wednesfield Road, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about seventy-five years ago by Cyrus Price. Continued by Cyrus Price and Elihu Price, as Cyrus Price & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Walter Russell Baker (Managing Director), connected with the firm since 1872, and Walter Granville Baker (Works Engineer). Staff: About fifty. Agencies: In most large towns in the United Kingdom and the chief cities throughout the world. Specialities Bent Steel Safes, Bankers' Strong Room Doors, Iron Doors and Frames, Deed and Bullion Chests, &c. Patents: For Locks. Award: Prize Medals, London, 1862; Wolverhampton, 1869 and 1884; Melbourne, 1888; Cardiff, 1888. Connection World-wide. Have received numerous testimonials. Telephone: No. 767 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Cyrus Price, Wolverhampton." Cable Address: " Regardeurs, Wolverhampton." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

PRICE & PIERCE, Ltd., Merchants, 27, Clements Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1868. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Edward George Price, Ion Hamilton Benn, M.P., Keith William Price, Frank Hamilton Benn, Harold S. Price, George C. Gradwell, and Henry S. Miller. Branches: Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, Hull, New York and Stockholm. Specialities: Timber and Wood Pulp. Telephones: No. 6700 Avenue (five lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Timber, London." Bankers; Parr's Bank, Ltd.; Bank of England.

PRICE'S (GEORGE) SAFE CO., Manufacturers of Safes, Steel Doors, Strong Rooms, Tubular and Steel Plate Shelving, and General Bankers' Engineering Work, Church Lane, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by George Price (d.). Present Principal: James Gibbons. Specialities: Patent Twentieth Century Safe and Strong Room Doors, Patent Self-Locking Safe and Strong Room Doors, Patent Adjustable Tubular Steel Shelving for Strong Rooms for Insurance Companies, &c. Awards: Eleven Prize Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 615 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Safes, Wolverhampton." Bankers: United Coun.tie,s Bank, Ltd.

PRICE'S PATENT CANDLE CO. Ltd., Manufacturers of Candles, Tapers, Night Lights, Soaps, Glycerin, &c., Belmont Works, Battersea, S.W.; 31, Threadneedle Street, London, E.C.; Bromborough Pool Works, near Birkenhead; Guardian Building, 3, Cross Street, Manchester; 139, Waterloo Street, Glasgow. Established in 1830 as "Edward Price & Co." Incorporated as a Joint Stock Company in 1847, with about 2,010 Shareholders. Directors: Colonel M. Studholme-Brownrigg (Chairman), W. W. Corner (Deputy Chairman), E. Tapply, R. S. Bain, F. L. Wright, P. S. Spokcs, R. A. Robinson. Premises: London works extend over sixteen acres; those at Bromborough Pool cover sixty-ono acres, including village and estate. Staff: Over 2,500. Specialities: Candles, Tapers, Night Lights, Toilet and Household Soaps, Glycerin, &c. Proprietors also of Clarke's Pyramid Night Lights and Food Warmers. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2000 Battersea (Private Branch Exchange); No. 1828 London Wall; Bromboro', Nos. 31 and 100 Rock Ferry; No. 1321 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Belmont, Battsquare, London "; "Price's, Birkenhead "; " Palmitine, Manchester."

PRICES' COMPANY, Ltd., Oil Merchants, Refiners and Distillers, Castle Baynard, 13, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. An amalgamation of the firms of Charles Price & Co. (founded in 1700 by a Mr. Price) and Langton & Bicknells, Sperm Oil and Spermaceti Refiners (established about 150 years ago). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Works: Belvedere, Kent. London Stores: Regent Wharf, Millwall, E. Branches: Liverpool, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Glasgow, Cardiff, Aberdeen, Manchester, Birmingham, West Hartlepool. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 779 and 780 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Montezuma, Cent., London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

PRIEST (ALLEN) & SONS, Ltd., Angola Yarn Spinners, Bath Mills, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: Factory, 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, close at 5.30 p.m. Established about 1870 by Edward and Allen Priest. Continued as Allen Priest & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors Walker T. Priest (Managing DirEctor), Walter Priest (Elective Chairman), Liversidge Priest, formerly of Victoria Mills, Lockwood, where the dissolution of the former partners, Edward Priest (retired) and Allen Priest, occurred. Premises: Contain 8500 Spindles. Staff: 100. Specialities: Medium qualities of Yarns for the Hosiery Trade in Blacks, Navys, Greys and Mixtures, principally heavy goods. Connection = Home (chiefly;, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 578 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Priests, Huddersfield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. The lat j Mr. Allen Priest was on the Borough Council. The present Managing Director, Mr. Walker T. Priest, is now on the Borough Council .

PRIESTLEYS, LIMITED, Dress Goods Manufacturers, 65, Vicar Lane, Bradford. Hours of Business: Vary, according to employment. Established in 1860 by the late Briggs Priestley, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Managing Directors: Sir W. E. B. Priestley, M.P. (Chairman), J. H. McEwan. Premises: Warehouse, Vicar Lane; extensive and highly equipped mills at Laisterdyke, Thornton, and Idle. Stall: 1,000. (Stall Club: Swimming.) Branches: 21, Watling Street, London, E.C.; 5, Lever Street, Manchester; 76, Wilson Street, Glasgow; also at New York, Montreal, Cape Town, Melbourne, and Sydney. Specialities: Black and Coloured Dress Fabrics for Women's Wear, Mohairs and Alpacas, Cravenette " proofed Roseberry, Barbican and Covert Cloths for Men's and Women's Wear, Casement Cloths, &c. Registered Proprietors of the Trade-mark " The Varnished Board," recognised throughout the world as a guarantee of excellence. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3475 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Priestleys ," Bradford, London, and Manchester. Bankers: The Bradford District Bank, Ltd. Sir W. E. B. Priestley (Chairman) is M.P. for the Eastern Division of Bradford; was Mayor of the City in 1904-5, and is a Justice of the Peace.

PRIESTMAN (ALFRED) & CO., Ltd., Fancy Coating Manufacturers, Brick Lane Mills, Bradford. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. (Factory); 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Office). Established in 1851 by Alfred Priestman and John Priestman. Managing Directors: Arthur Priestman, J.P., and R. Jagger. Premises: Extensive; 109 looms. Staff: About 220 workpeople. Staff Club: Savings Bank. Specialities: Fancy Tennis Vestings and Fancy Suitings. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 568 Bradford. Telegraphic Address " Priestman, Bradford." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

PRIESTMAN (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Worsted Spinners and Manufacturers, Aslifield Mills, Bradford. Established in 1851 by John Priestman. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Frederick Priestman, J.P. (Chairman), George E. Priestman, Colin C. Coffey, and Edwin Robinson (Managing Directors). Premises: Large Spinning Mills and extensive Weaving Sheds. Staff: About 1,000. Business: Spinners of all classes of Botany and Cross-Bred Yarns, Manufacturers of Linings, Dress Goods, All Wools, Serges, Mohairs, Lustres, Waterproof Cloths, &c. Connection: World-wide- through local merchants. Telephones: No. 860 Bradford (Spinning 3 E 2 Department); No. 1500 Bradford (Weaving Department). Telegraphic Address: " Ashfield, Bradford." Mr. Frederick Priestman has been Mayor of Bradford.

PRINCIPALITY BUILDING SOCIETY, Principality Buildings, Queen Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1860. .Incorporated in 1876 under the Building Societies Act. Chairman of Directors: Ald. George Greenland, J.P. Managing Secretaries: William Sanders & Sons (C. F. Sanders, J.P., and George M. Sanders). In 1862 William Sanders became Secretary, and continued so until his death in 1903. In 1870 C. F. Sanders entered the business, and George M. Sanders in 1878, becoming joint Secretaries with W. Sanders in 1895. Claim to be by far the largest Building Society in Wales. Business has steadily increased. Present Assets exceed £560,000. Business: Mortgages, (repayable by monthly instalments) on Freehold and Leasehold Properties, preferably within a moderate distance of Cardiff. Investment facilities offered in a number of departments for placing of large sums, regular or occasional payments of large or small amounts. Connection: United Kingdom (Investments), Glamorgan and Monmouth (Mortgages). Telephone: No. 1069 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Sanders, Principality, Cardiff." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

PRINGLE (ROBERT) & SON, Hosiery Manufacturers, Hawick, Scotland, and 67, Gresham Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1815 by Robert Pringle, under the title of Robert Pringle & Son. Founder was succeeded by his son, Walter Pringle. In 1884 Robert Pringle (jun.), son of Walter Pringle, was taken into partnership. Walter Pringle died in 1895; business carried on by Robert alone. In 1902 John Douglas Pringle (second son of the late Walter Pringle) became partner. Present Principals: Robert Pringle, John Douglas Pringle. Business: The manufacture of high-class Underwear for Ladies and Gentlemen. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4 Hawick. Telegraphic Addresses: " Pringle, Hawick "; " Recordatio, London." Bankers: British Linen Bank.

PRIOR (S. J. BURRELL), Ltd., Tinplate and Metal Merchants, 5, Laurence Pountney Hill, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by S. J. Burrell Prior. Managing Director: Henry Burrell Prior (son). Specialities: Tinplate, Black plate, and Thin Steel Sheets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5771 Bank (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Prior, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

PROCTER, JOHNSON & CO., Chemical and Colour Manufacturers. Head Offices: 17, Withy Grove, Manchester. Works Cross Lane, Salford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1899 by James Procter (sen.), Alfred Johnson and John E. Grounds. James Procter (jun.) joined in 1901. Present Principals: James Procter (sen.), Alfred Johnson and James Procter (jun.). Business: Chemical and Colour Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5812 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Proctorial, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

PROFITS & INCOME INSURANCE CO., Ltd., 9, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. The Company was registered on April 15th, 1901. Present Directors: E. A. Colquhoun, E. T. Clifford, J. O'Donoghue, and W. G. Bloxsom. Chas. Windett, Actuary and Secretary. Specialities: Insurance against sickness and accident alone, or combined with Life, Endowment, and other foam: of Insurance; also with Deferred Annuities, &c. Connection: Principally throughout the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1971 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Profittano, London." Bankers: Child & Co.

PROPRIETORS " ABERDEEN JOURNAL & " EVENING EXPRESS," Printers and Publishers, Broad Street, Aberdeen. Established in 1748 by James Chalmers. Partnership Successions: (1) James Chalmers, son of founder; (2) D. Chalmers. Business was acquired by the Aberdeen and North of Scotland Newspaper and Printing Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: Garden A. Duff (Chairman), Colonel Ogston, George Davidson, Colonel Wolrige Gordon, Sir Alex. Baird, Bart., A. B. Nicolson, W. E. Nicol, George J. Walker, Ranald Macdonald and Major Turner. Publishers of the "Aberdeen Daily Journal," " Aberdeen Weekly Journal," and the " Evening Express." Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2906 Aberdeen. Telegraphic Address: " Journal, Aberdeen."

PROTECTOR LAMP & LIGHTING CO., Ltd. (THE), Mechanical and General Engineers, Enamellers, Brass and Iron Founders and Finishers, and Merchants, Eccles, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Established in 1873. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur Clegg (Chairman), Joseph Prestwich (Managing Director), Alfred H. Pownall and James Wild. Claim to be the pioneers and largest makers in the world of Electrically Lit Miners' Safety Lamps. Premises: Works and ground cover eleven acres, equipped with up-todate appliances. Specialities: Miners' Safety Lamps and Lamproom Fittings, Enamelled Iron Advertising Signs, Brass and Iron Castings for High-Pressure Engines, Motor Vehicle Repairs in all branches. Patents: For Miners' Safety Lamps, Re-lighters, Door-fasteners, Spring Hinges, Valves and Advertising Specialities, &c. Telephone: No. 13 Eccles. Telegraphic Address: " Protector, Eccles." Codes: Mining and General, MacNeill's, and Western Union. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

PROTHEROE & MORRIS, Auctioneers, Estate Agents, Surveyors, and Valuers, 67 and 68, Cheapside, London, E.C., and 827, High Road, Leytonstone, Essex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1834 by Alexander Protheroe and Thomas Morris, continued by George Field Morris (d.) and William Henry Protheroe (d.). Present Principals: Harold George Morris, F.S.I., James Benjamin Slade, F.S.I., Alfred Ernest Protheroe, F.S.I., Thomas Alexander Morris, Alexander George Morris, P.A.S.I. Staff: About forty, in-creased during Auction business. Business: Special feature made of Estate Agency, Sales of Land in Plots. Also an extensive business in Assessment, Appeal, and Compensation Work, Rent Collecting, Surveying and Valuation in all branches. Sales of Orchids, Dutch Bulbs, Japanese Lilies, Nursery Stock and Horticultural Produce generally, in their seasons. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 857 Bank, London (2 Lines). Telegraphic Address: " Promptuary, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

PROVIDENT CLERKS' & GENERAL GUARANTEE & ACCIDENT CO., Ltd. (THE), 61, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established M 1865, Directors: Geo. Acton Davis, J.P. (Chairman), A. J. Bowen, 0. R. H. Bury, H. G. P. Hoare, J.P., Fras. Wm. Pixley, F.C.A., Herman Billing Sim, Owen Hugh Smith, Jas. N. Stuart, Henry Edward Tindall. Secretary: C. A. Freeman. Branches: Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds, Sheffield, Birmingham, Swansea, Bristol, Newcastle, Southampton, Dublin, Glasgow. Business: Fidelity Guarantees of every description. The Company is well known all over the United Kingdom, and is one of the oldest whose Bonds are accepted in the Courts and Government Departments. Also Personal Accident Insurance, Workmen's Compensation, Third Party, Liability for Domestic Servants, Fire, Burglary, and Plate Glass, &c., Motor Car and Motor Cycle. In these departments of Insurance the Company does an extensive business throughout the United Kingdom, the interests of the insured being carefully studied. Telephones: No. London Wall 5306 (two lines), No. 9684 Central; 6588 City. Telegraphic Address: " Perpend, Ave, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Lombard Street, E.C.

PROVINCIAL BANK OF IRELAND, LIMITED, Head Office: 8, Throgmorton Avenue, London, E.C. Dublin Offices: 5, College Street; 40 and 41, Capel Street; 12, Stephen's Green North. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1825. Subscribed Capital: £4,080,000. Paid-up Capital: £540,000. Reserve Fund: £350,000. Directors: Ivor Bevan, Percival Bosanquet, William Thomas Brand, Charles Chambers, Hon. W. H. Goschen, Alexander Brodrick Leslie - Melville, Richard Mashiter, Rt. Hon. Lord Plunket, Captain George Leslie Poe, R.N. (retired), George Dunbar Whatman. Secretary: Hume Robertson. Branches: Sixty, situated in county towns and large towns throughout the country; also 28 Sub-Branches. (All the Branches draw upon Barclay & Co., Ltd., London.) Agents and correspondents in all the chief cities and towns of Great Britain, the Continent of Europe, North and South America, the East and West Indies, Australia, China, and South Africa.

PRUDENTIAL ASSURANCE CO., Ltd., 142, Holborn Bars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1848. Incorporated: Jan. 17th, 1861. Registered under the Companies Act, 1862, and as a Limited Liability Company, May 19th, 1881. Directors: Thomas Charles Dewey (Chairman), Sir William Lancaster (Deputy-Chairman), John Irvin© Boswell, M.D., "Sir Philip Spencer Gregory, William Edgar Horne, M.P., Sir John Henry Luscombe, William Thomas Pugh, Surg. Lt.-Col. H. II.. Odo Cross, Frederick Schooling, Thomas Wharrie. Secretary: D. W. Stable. Assistant Secretary: G. E. May. Actuary: J. Burn. Assistant Managers: F. Haycraft, H. Blennerhassott, W. E. Martin, H. R. Gray, and A. R. Barrand. General Manager: A. C. Thompson. Premises: The Head Office of the Company occupies a ground space of three acres, with a frontage to Holborn of over 300 feet. Ono of the finest blocks of insurance buildings in the world, and a notable architectural feature of central London. The staff at Head Office numbers over 1,650 persons. Branches: District Offices in all the principal towns of the kingdom. Business: Life Assurance, both Ordinary and Industrial. The " Prudential " is the largest British Life Assurance Company. Is well known for its favourable plans of assurance and liberal treatment of the assured. Has an annual income of £16,000,000, and Funds exceeding £46,000,000 in the Ordinary Branch, and £40,000,000 in the Industrial Branch. These funds, together with the shareholders' capital, afford security to policy-holders. Marked advantages are offered in the economy of management characterising the business, and in the benefits resulting from profit division and reversionary bonuses. Expense of management in Ordinary Branch is under 8 per cent. of the annual premium income. Ninety per cent. of the profits are divided amongst the policy-holders. Reversionary bonus for 1913 was at the rate of 368. per cent. per annum on original sum insured. Policies are absolutely indisputable and unchallengeable after three years, except in case of fraud or breach of conditions. After three years all policies for Whole Life or Endowment Assurance acquire surrender values. Loans are granted within the surrender values, on the security of policies, interest being charged at five per cent. per annum. Special terms are allowed to impaired lives. Telephone.: Nos. 6614, 6615, 6616 Holborn (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Prudential, Holborn, London."

PULLAR, J., & SONS, Ltd., Cleaners and Dyers, Pullars' Dye Works, Perth. Established in 1824 by John Pullar; his grandsons, R. D. Pullar, A. E. Pullar, and G. D. Pullar, are the present Dirootors, Claimed to be the largest business of the kind in the world. There are over 1,100 female workers and 900 male workers employed at Perth, and more than 300, mostly females, at the Receiving Offices in principal towns. London Office: 18, Chenies Street, W.C. Speciality: Cleaning and Dyeing all fabrics by the latest and best processes, including Dry Cleaning and Dry Dyeing. Upwards of 4,000 Agencies in the British Isles. Royal Warrant: Appointment to 1131. King George V. (1910), His late Majesty King Edward (1901-10). Held a Warrant to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria (1852-1901). Telephones: Nos. 1 and 159 Perth; No. 8860 City (3 lines) (London). Telegraphic Address: "Pullars," London and Perth.

PULLMAN, R. & J., Ltd., Leather Dressers and Glove Manufacturers, 17, Greek Street, London, W. Factory: Westbrook Mills, Godalming. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over a century ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Premises: Extensive Factory at Godalming. Glove Factory, Woodstock, Oxon. Departments: Antelopes, Chamois, Natural and Coloured Mock Bucks, White and Coloured Buckskin Strappings, Deer Leather, Gloving, .White Sheep, White Splits, White and Buff Hides, and Athletic Leather Goods. Specialities: Leather for Hunting Breeches, Cricket Boots, Fancy Goods, &c. All kinds of Athletic and Walking Gloves and Motor Gauntlets. Trade Marks: " Magnet " (registered), " Ripul " (registered). Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Telephones: No. 5528 Central (London); No. 11 Godalming (Godalming); No. 046 Woodstock. Telegraphic Addresses: " Leatherdressers, London "; " Liming, Godalming "; " Pullman, Woodstock." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

PULSOMETER ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., Engineers, Nine Elms Ironworks, Reading. Offices: 11, Tothill Street, Westminster, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Branches: Leeds, Glasgow, Liverpool, Manchester, Birmingham. Specialities: The Pulsometer Steam Pump, Direct-acting Pumps, Centrifugal and Turbine Pumps, Icemaking and Refrigerating Machinery, and Water Purification Plants; complete Water Work, Sewage and Drainage Pumping Installations. Patents: Too numerous to particularise. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Contractors to the Admiralty, War Office, &c. Telephones: No. 583 Reading; No. 4565 Victoria, London; No. 8526 City and No. 1426 Central, Glasgow; No. 1925 Central, Leeds; No. 4184 Bank, Liverpool; No. 45 City, Manchester; No. 6774 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Pulsometer," Reading, London, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Birmingham. Codes: Al; ABC (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's; Engineering (1st and 2nd Editions); Moreing & Neal's.

PUMPHREY & WILLIAMS, Umbrella and Sunshade Manufacturers and. Dealers in all Umbrella and Sunshade Materials, 3, Fore Street Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1895 by the present partners, Julius Pumphrey and Thomas M. Williams. Stag: Sixty to seventy. All kinds of Umbrellas and Sunshades are manufactured, and Umbrella and Sunshade Covers and other component parts of every description are supplied to the trade. Connection: Chiefly United Kingdom; some Colonial business. Telephone: No. 4905 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Crosshook, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street).

"PUNCH."—See BRADBURY, AGNEW & CO., LIMITED.

PURDEY (JAMES) & SONS, Gun Makers, Audley House, 57 and 58, South Audley Street, London, W. Are known throughout the world as Manufacturers of Sporting Guns and Rifles of the highest class. Royal Warrant Holders to His Majesty King George V., His Majesty the late King Edward VII., H.M. the King of Spain, H.M. the King of Sweden, and until her decease to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 3755 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: "Purdey, London."

PURFLEET WHARF & SAW MILLS, Ltd., Wharfingers and Saw Millers, Pinners Hall, Austin Friars, London, E.C., and Purfleet, Essex.. Hours af Business: Usual. Established in 1899 by Millars' Karri and Jarrah Forests, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Richard Combe, J.P. (Chairman), James White, LL.D., and C. Peto Bennett. Premises: Claim to have the largest pier on the River Thames. Staff: About 150. Specialities: Handling Millars, Hardwoods, chiefly Karri & Jarrah. Discharge of all classes of cargoes. Connection: United kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 367 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Breastrope, Stock, London."

PUTNAM'S SONS, G. P., Publishers, Booksellers, and Book Manufacturers. The Knickerbocker Press:—Head Once: 2, 4, and 6, West Forty-fifth Street, New York, U.S.A.; and New Rochelle, Now York; London 0 glee: 24, Bedford Street, Strand, W.C. flours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Tho Publishing Concern established in New York by G. P. Putnam in 1831 and in London in 1841. The Knickerbocker Press established in 1884. Partnership Succession: G. P. Putnam, followed by G. P. Putnam & Co., 0. P. Putnam & Son, G. P. Putnam's Sons. Present Managing Directors: George Haven Putnam, John Bishop Putnam, and Irving Putnam. Incorporated under the laws of Now York in 1884, George Haven Putnam (President). In 1831 0. P. Putnam organised the American Copyright League. G. H. Putnam organised in 1886 the Publishers' Copyright League. Specialities: Standard Literature: History, Biography, Science, Fiction. Irving's Works, Story of Nations, Heroes of Nations, &c., &c. In New York there is a staff of seventy-two. At the London office twenty-two persons are employed. At New Rochelle three buildings extending over two acres of ground are utilised by the firm, and the employees number 350. Connection: Throughout Great Britain, India, the Colonies, and in America. Telephone: No. 4923 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Putnam, London "; " Putnam, New York."

PUTTICK & SIMPSON, Literary and Fine Art Auctioneers, 47, Leicester Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1794 by Wheatley & Fletcher and carried on by Puttick & Simpson for the last 100 years. Business: Selling by Auction Literary Property, Musical Instruments, Copyrights, Engravings, Coins, Art Furniture, Pictures, Plate and Jewellery, Philatelic Property, &c. Telephone: No. 1561 Gerrard.

PWLLBACH COLLIERY CO., Ltd. (THE), Registered Offices: Queen's Buildings, Swansea. Colleries: Tirbach and Pwllbach, Ystalyfera, Swansea Valley. Coal Stores: St. Sampsons, Guernsey. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896 as the Pwllbach Colliery Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Joseph Birkinshaw (Chairman), D. W. Davies, A, Sheppard, A. W, E. Wynne, T. El. Henderson (Commercial Manager and Secretary). Manager at Collieries: D. W. Davies. Specialities: Anthracite Coals for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Awards: Bronze Medal and Diploma, Royal Inter national Horticultural Exhibition, London, 1912, for Anthracite for Greenhouse purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 8 P.O. Swansea; No. 1076 Central, Swansea. Telegraphic Addresses: " Pwllbach, Swansea "; " Anthracite, St. Sampsons."

PYMORE MILL CO., Ltd., Spinners of_ Flax and Hemp, Pymore, Bridport, Dorset. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1800, or earlier, by ancestors of the present owners. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Managing Director: H. S. Suttill. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Linen Thread for Shoe makers' and Sadlers' use, Sewing Twine, Upholsterers' and Sail-sewing Twines, &c. • Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 13, Bridport. Telegraphic Address: " Pymore, Enid port." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd.

PYNEGAR, HENRY, Engineer and Contractor, 5, Dowgate Hill, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established upwards of twenty-five years ago. Present Prin cipal: Henry Pynegar, assisted by two sons. Agencies: In South Africa, India, Malay States, Business: Consulting, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering. Patents: Screen Conveyor, Ram Com pressors and Levellers for Coke Oven work. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: No. 281 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pyne gar, Cannon, London." Codes: Broom hall's, Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition), McNeill's. Bankers: Bank of England.

PYX GRANITE CO., Ltd. (THE), Quarry Owners, Malvern, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Satur days, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1907. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: Rt. Hon. Lord Forester, W. R. V. Webb, F. R. Hudson, A. J. Creed. Secretary Charles Creed. Quarries: Malvern, Worcs.; Horsehay, Salop; Criggion, Montgomeryshire. Specialities: Road Macadam, Tarred Granite and Setts. Telephone: No. 141 Malvern. Telegraphic Address: " Pyx, Malvern." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information