Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,143 pages of information and 233,681 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Alexander Thomson Walker (1835-1904)
1905 Obituary 
ALEXANDER THOMSON WALEER, son of Mr. William Walker of Aberdeen, was born on the 13th November, 1835, and obtained his practical experience in the foundry of Mr. Allan A. Marshall, Aberdeen, and in the works of Messrs. Farquhar and Gill of that city.
On coming to England, he entered the service of Mr. John Brown, of Redhill, by whom he was employed on water-supply and drainage works at Earlswood.
After acting for a time as principal assistant to Mr. Henry Tomlinson on the waterworks of Cambridge, he was appointed in 1875 sub-manager of the Reading Waterworks, and became manager of the works in 1883, which position he held until his death on the 3rd March, 1904.
During his tenure of office he designed and installed an improved method of filtration, and erected a steam pumping-plant at Fobney, reorganized the distributing system, which included the design and construction of a high-level service reservoir at Tilehurst, and the laying of 6 miles of connecting mains, and was responsible for the works for conveying the town water to the Caversham heights.
Mr. Walker was elected an Associate Member of the Institution on the 4th March, 1890.