Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,470 pages of information and 233,895 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Charles Reginald Belling

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

Charles Reginald Belling (1884-1965) of Belling and Co

1884 Charles Reginald Belling was born at Bodmin, Cornwall.

He served an apprenticeship in electrical engineering with Crompton and Co of Chelmsford.

He subsequently joined the staff of Edison Swan Electric Co at Ponders End.

1912 With Charles Arnold he started his business in Lancaster Road, Enfield, manufacturing electric heaters, which became Belling and Co

1913 He acquired additional factory space at Derby Road, Edmonton. The range of products widened to include electric water heaters (1913) electric cookers (1919) and immersion heaters (1920).

WWI Made heating and cooking equipment for submarines and ovens for canteens. Belling bought out his 2 partners.

1919 The Heavy Current Electric Accessories Co was formed by Charles Arnold and Charles Reginald Belling.[1]

1922 Charles Reginald Belling and Edgar Morton Lee formed a private company in Enfield, Belling and Lee.

1923 The Heavy Current Electric Accessories Co changed its name to MK Electric; although a director of the company, Belling was never a full time executive,

1923 Charles Albert Marques and Charles Reginald Belling formed a business under the railway arches at Broxbourne Station to make miscellaneous concrete products which later became Concrete Utilities.

1935 Took Belling and Company private

1946 Married

1965 Died on a ship in the Bahamas. In his will, he left £1 million for a technical school to be built on the 60 acres lying to the side of Owls Hall Farm, his home in Enfield, in the hope of bridging the deep divide between pure research and its shop floor application.

See Also


Sources of Information

  1. The Times, Monday, Jan 24, 1966