Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,363 pages of information and 233,846 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Circle of 19th Century Motorists

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

The Circle of 19th Century Motorists was founded in November 1927 and at one time its membership reached 220. The membership of the Circle of 19th Century Motorists was restricted to those "who owned or drove a motor vehicle prior to the conclusion of the Thousand Miles Trial of the A.C.G.B.& I." in 1900. The last recorded reunion was held in 1960. See Circle of 19th Century Motorists: 1960

Founding Commitee
Charles Jarrott Chairman
Edgar N. Duffield Secretary
Walter Bersey
James S. Critchley
Ernest Instone
Sir Capel Holden The first president.
Montague Grahame-White was later its president.

The Circle's main objective was to hold annual reunions, the first being on 14 December 1927 at the Piccadilly Hotel.

Applications for Membership
Victor Ashby
Charles Allen
Thomas Hamilton-Adams
William Appleton
Albert Atkey
Charles Alexander
Herbert Austin

George Benbrough
Frederick Bidlake
Stephen Ballard
Bernard Banks
Hamilton Barnsley
William H. Barrell, Colonel
Percivale Barry
Sidney Barrett
Henry Bate
Owen Balydon
Sydney Begbie
Frederick Bennett
Walter Bersey
Frederick Bersey
Arthur Bennett
Craigis Borthwick
Charles Brown
Robert Bird
John Brown
J. G. Brown
Albert Brown
Ernest Brown
William Burgess
Henry Burford
Percy Burton
Robert Buttemer
William Butcher
William Buxton

John Cooney
Louis Carle
Frederick Carling
Harry Camm
G. Chamberlaine
Fernand Charles
George Clarke
Frederick Clarkson
John Clutton
Alfred Collins
Horace Cook
William Crampton
Rookes Crompton
James S. Critchley
Nevill Copland
John Crouch
Sydney G. Cummings

Cyril Davis
James Deakin
Luke Delaney
Harold Dennis
Alfred Dew
Morgan Donne
Alfred Dougill
David Doyle
George Du Cros

Albert Dyke
Selwyn Edge
Hubert Egerton
Arthur Evans

Maurice Farman
Albert Farnell
Henry Ford
C. J. Fox
Charles Freeston
Charles Frowd

George Garrick
Leopold Garvagh, 4th Baron
Ernest Godbold
Arthur Gould
Hubert Graham
Claude Grahame-White
Montague Grahame-White
Cecil Grimshawe
Walter Groves
Thomas De Gruchy

Harold Hales
Herbert Hall
Arthur Hallett
Frederick Heighton
Frederick Hayles
Henry Selby Hele-Shaw
Henry Hewetson
William Hill
George Henshaw
Anthony Hordern
Felix Hudlass
Edward Hutchison
I. E. Hutton

Ernest Instone
John Irving

Robert Jackson
Frank Jecock
Thomas Jenner
Arthur Johnson
Herbert Johnson

William Kennedy

Harold Lambert
Henrik Loeffler
Aubrey Langton
Frank Lanchester
George Lanchester
Edward Lanchester
Norman Letts
Ernest Leverett
William Letts
Walter Littleton

Ernest Martin
William Mayo
Bertram Mills
Walter Meafer
Francis Mercer
Trubie Moore
Francis Martineau
Leigh Martineau
Mark J. Mayhew,
Hugh McConnell
Arthur Meyrick
John Masters
Archibald Millership
John Montagu
Rowland Harrington-Moore
Alexander Mosses
Arthur Muhlenkamp
Arthur Mulliner
Henry Jervis Mulliner
Arthur Mayne

William Newcombe
Albert Newton
Sidney Newton
James Nisbet
Henry Norris
Tom Norton

Carl Opperman
Ernest Overs
F. G. Osborn

Ernest Peall
Herbert Paterson
Gordon Peall
William John Peall
George Pedley
Percival Perry
Percival Petter
Robert Philips
Ernest Pitman
George Polland
Thomas Penrose
Robert Paul
John Porter

Frederick Roberts
Robert Rampling
Ernest Rallings
Arthur Reynolds
Walter Randolph
James Reece
Percy Richardson
George Riches
George Ricks
Louis Ridley
Alfred Rivett
Frank Ramsay
Frederick Roberts
Charles Rush
Harold Russell

Arthur Salmon
Myles Scarff
George Salmons
Frank Shorland
John Siddeley
John Benett-Stanford
Frederick Simms
Thomas Skinner
Frederick Slatter
Charles Stamder
Edgar Scamell
Walter Smith
Buchanan Shiell
William Sherbrook
George Simmons
Harold Simmons
Ernest Skurray
Stanley Spooner
Robert Smith
William Stagg
Ernest Steel
Richard Stephens
John Stocks
Arthur Stokmenger
Henry Sturmey
Henry Spurrier

James Tuke
William Thomas
Tom Thornycroft
Walter Turrell

Harry Vane
Magnus Volk

William Wells
Thomas White
James Wilding
Arthur Wilson
Rowland Winn
George Watson
Charles Webb
Thomas Woollen
Bernard Wotton
William Young

See Also


Sources of Information

  • [1] Royal Automobile Club with supplements from other sources