Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,107 pages of information and 233,634 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
This canal has two lines; Line no 1 ,(the original canal) from Tipton it passes through the Dudley Tunnel, then the short Grazebrook Arm leaves to the south-east.
After Parkhead Locks, Line No 2 (a later extension) leaves at Park Head Junction, from where Line No 1 continues though the Merry Hill Shopping Centre (built on the site of the former Round Oak Steelworks) before meeting the Stourbridge Canal end-on at the bottom of the 8 Delph Locks.
After a period of disuse following nationalisation in 1948, Line No 1 was rescued by the Dudley Canal Trust. The Dudley tunnel reopened in 1973, and a short arm north of the tunnel runs into what is now the Black Country Museum, from where visitors can take boat trips into the tunnel.