Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 143,344 pages of information and 230,027 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Edward Dawson (1852-1924)
of Forster Brown and Rees, Guild Hall Chambers, Cardiff.
1924 Obituary 
EDWARD DAWSON was born in 1852 at Castle Eden, Durham.
He served his articles at the South Hetton and Murton Collieries, subsequently spending two and a half years as improver in the Palmer Hill marine-engine works of Mr. J. Dickinson, and about nine years as draughtsman to the Grange Iron Company, Durham.
In 1882 he was appointed mechanical engineer to Messrs. Brown and Adams (now Messrs. Forster Brown and Rees), consulting engineers, London and Cardiff, following which, in 1893, he started in private practice as a consulting engineer, acting in that capacity to various colliery and other undertakings in South Wales and the Forest of Dean.
For such professional work Mr. Dawson was especially well-equipped, not only by his wide experience as a mechanical engineer but also by his knowledge of mining affairs and the many matters cognate to them.
From 1911 Mr. Dawson acted as consultant to the Glamorgan Hematite Iron Ore Co., Ltd.
In 1886 he joined the South Wales Institute of Engineers, and became its President in 1919.
His death took place on 9th May 1924, at the age of seventy-two.
He joined this Institution as a Graduate in 1875, and was transferred to full Membership in 1890.