Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 147,398 pages of information and 233,518 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

North Western Gas Board

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

1948 One of 12 Area Gas Boards of the Gas Council established by the government to operate the nationalised gas industry, each a separate body with its own management structure. Responsible for the North West Region. Companies and other bodies nationalised and included in this area:

Accrington District Gas And Water Board
Altrincham Gas Company
Ashton Gas Company
Ashton-In-Makerfield Urban District Council
Blackpool Corporation
Barnoldswick Urban District Council
Bentham Gas Co. Ltd
Blackburn Corporation
Bolton Corporation
Bollington Urban District Council
Burnley Corporation Gas Department
Broadbottom Gas Company Ltd
Bury Corporation
Barrow-In-Furness Corporation
Buxton Corporation
Carnforth Gas Co. Ltd
Chorley Corporation
Chester United Gas Company
Chapel, Whaley And District Gas Company
Clitheroe Corporation
Colne Corporation
Crewe Undertaking, Lm&S Railway Co
Darwen Corporation
Dukinfield Corporation
Farnworth And Kearsley Gas Company
Fleetwood Gas Company
Frodsham Gas And Water Company
Garstang Gas Company Ltd
Golborne Gas Company
Haslingden Union Gas Company
Heywood Corporation
Hindley Urban District Council
Hollingworth Gas Company Ltd
Hoylake Urban District Council
Kendal Corporation
Kirkham Gas Company
Kirby Lonsdale Gas Company
Lancaster Corporation
Leigh Corporation
Leyland Gas Company
Liverpool Gas Company
Longridge Gas Company Ltd
Littleborough Gas Company
Lytham St.Annes Corporation
Lymm Urban District Council
Manchester Corporation
Malpas Gas Company., Ltd
Marple Urban District Council
Macclesfield Corporation
Middleton Corporation
Middlewich Gas Light & Coke Company Ltd
Milnthorpe Gas, Coal, Coke & Lime Co Ltd
Morecambe And Heysham Corporation
Mossley And Saddleworth Gas Company Ltd
Nantwich Gas Company Ltd
Nelson Corporation
New Mills Urban District Council
North Cheshire And District Gas Company
Northwich Gas Company
Oldham Corporation
Ormskirk District Gas Company
Oswaldtwistle Urban District Council
Padiham Urban District Council
Poulton-Le-Fylde Urban District Council
Prescot And District Gas Company
Preston Gas Company
Radcliffe, Farnworth & District Gas Company
Ramsbottom Gas Company
Rochdale Corporation
Rossendale Union Gas Company
Salford Corporation
Sandbach Gas Company
Sedburgh New Gas Company.,Ltd
Southport Corporation
Stockport Corporation
Stretford And District Gas Board
St. Helens Corporation
Tyldesley Urban District Council
Ulverston Urban District Council
Wallasey Corporation
Widnes Corporation
Westhoughton Consumers Gas Company
Whitchurch (Salop) Gas Company Ltd
Wilmslow And Alderley Edge Gas Company
Wigan Corporation
Winsford Gas Company Ltd
Warrington Corporation

1973 The Area Boards became Regions of the British Gas Corporation.

See Also


Sources of Information

  • [1] National Archives