Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 143,936 pages of information and 230,152 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Society of Engineers

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

Established in May 1854, The Strand, London.

Third oldest professional engineering body in the UK.

1854 May. The Society was founded as a means of reunion for former students of Putney College by two engineers, Robert Munro Christie and Henry Palfrey Stephenson, with six others. It was given the title of the "Putney Club." The first meetings were held at "Mr. Talmadje's," 221, The Strand, but in the November of 1854 the meeting place was changed to Mr. Christie's offices at 76, King William Street, in the City. It appears that in the early meetings various points of engineering practice were discussed in an atmosphere of informality. The custom of reading and discussing papers was introduced at the first meeting in 1855, with a paper by the first president, Mr Stephenson, on "The Rise and Fall of Putney College." At the annual general meeting in December, 1857, the name was changed from the Putney Club to the Society of Engineers.[1]

1862 E. Riley - Chair.[2]

1864 C. L. Light - Chair. [3]

1882 Jabez Church was the President. Baldwin Latham and R. P. Spice were past Presidents. For list of other members present at a visit to the Chatham Dockyard see The Engineer 1882/07/14 page 24.

1910 Joined with the Civil and Mechanical Engineers' Society to form the Incorporated Society of Engineers.

1911 F. G. Bloyd - President.[4]

2005 the Society of Engineers was absorbed by the Institution of Incorporated Engineers (IIE).

2006 The IIE joined with the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) to become The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

1946 Sir Winston Churchill became an Honorary Fellow and approved the use of his name for the Society's senior award.

Since then recipients of Honorary Fellowships have included:

Eminent Honorary Fellow was Sir Guglielmo Marconi, the father of the Radio.[5]

Past Presidents

1854 No official President
1855 No official President
1856 Henry Palfrey Stephenson
1857 George William Allan
1858 Robert Monro Christie
1859 Henry Palfrey Stephenson
1860 Rowland Mason Ordish
1861 James C Amos
1862 Edward Riley
1863 Robert Monro Christie
1864 Charles Llewellyn Light
1865 William Thomas Carrington
1866 Zerah Colburn
1867 William Henry Le Feuvre
1868 Baldwin Latham
1869 Frederick William Bryant
1870 William Adams
1871 Baldwin Latham
1872 Jabez Church
1873 Jabez Church
1874 William MacGeorge
1875 John Henry Adams
1876 Vaughan Pendred
1877 Thomas Cargill
1878 Robert Paulson Spice
1879 Robert Paulson Spice
1880 Joseph Bernays
1881 Charles Horsley
1882 Jabez Church
1883 Jabez Church
1884 Arthur Rigg
1885 Charles Gandon
1886 Perry Fairfax Nursey
1887 Professor Henry Robinson
1888 Arthur Thomas Walmisley. [6]
1889 Jonathan R Baillie
1890 Henry Adams
1891 William Newby Colam
1892 Joseph William Wilson Junior
1893 William Andrew McIntosh Valon
1894 George Abraham Goodwin[7]
1895 William George Peirce[8]
1896 Samuel Herbert Cox
1897 George Maxwell Lawford
1898 William Worby Beaumont
1899 John Cory Fell
1900 Henry O’Connor
1901 Charles Mason
1902 Percy Griffith
1904 David Butler Butler
1905 Nicholas James West
1906 Maurice Wilson
1907 Richard St George Moore
1908 Joseph William Wilson
1909 Edward John Silcock
1910 Diogo A Symons
1911 Francis George Bloyd
1912 John Kennedy
1913 Arthur Valon
1914 Henry Chawner Hine Shelton
1915 Norman Scorgie
1916 Percy Griffith
1917 Henry Charles Adams
1918 William Beedie Esson
1919 Walter Noble Twelvetrees
1920 Burnard Geen
1921 Lord Headley
1922 Alfred Tony Jules Gueritte
1923 Arthur Marshall Arter
1924 George Arthur Becks
1925 Archibald Stewart Buckle
1926 Gerald Otley Case
1927 Douglas Charles Fidler
1928 Charles Henry James Clayton
1929 Archibald Kirkwood Dobbs
1930 William Marrow Beckett MBE
1931 Harry William Towse
1932 Frederick William Mackenzie-Skues
1933 James Douglas Haworth
1934 Arthur Marinus Alexander Struben OBE
1935 Hervey Carlton Hawkins
1937 Bateman Brown Tarring OBE
1938 H Bentham
1939 Sir Henry Percy Maybury
1940 Sir Henry Percy Maybury
1941 Sir Henry Percy Maybury
1942 Sir Henry Percy Maybury
1943 Edward John Spiller Lamport
1944 Frank Parfett
1945 Frank Parfett
1946 Albert Edward Turner
1947 Victor Stephen Wigmore
1948 Ernest Edward Turner
1949 Edward Sugden Waddington
1950 Cyril Lett Boucher
1951 Paul Sison Ham
1952 Ronald Samuel Vernon Barber
1953 Gerald Norman Swayne
1954 Walter Robert Howard
1955 Henry George Taylor
1956 Captain Harry Francis Jackson
1957 Edward Charles Lejeune
1958 Robert Clark
1959 Iain Cyril Cocking
1960 Eric Godfrey Massey Collier
1961 William Edward Humphrey
1962 John Charles Maxwell-Cook
1963 Donald William Tull
1964 Donald William Tull
1965 Charles Leslie Nichol Laing
1966 Gilbert Robert Charles Bunn
1967 Robert Carey
1968 Leo Giulio Culleton
1969 William Godfrey Taylor
1970 Frank Wilsenham Hyde
1971 Brian Joseph Bell
1972 Stanley Nash Bruce Gairn
1973 Douglas John Ayres
1974 The Earl of Ilchester
1975 John David Burrows
1976 Thomas Morgan Scanlon
1977 Peter Michael Rex Olley
1978 Albert Edward Witchlow
1979 Richard Charles Wykes
1980 David John Hardcastle
1981 John Alfred Gardner
1982 Colin Cruickshanks Bates
1983 Charles Kenneth Haswell
1984 Victor Charles Ealey
1985 David Vaughan Richards
1986 Raymond Charles Yarnell
1987 Alan John Curzon
1988 Iain Cooper Wright
1989 Iain Cooper Wright
1990 J H Roderick Haswell
1991 T E Geldart
1992 Thomas Kenneth-Duncan
1993 David McLaren
1994 Eric S Long
1995 Dennis F B Gibbard
1996 John H Wilkinson
1997 Alan D Crowhurst
1998 Alan D Crowhusrt
1999 Brian Rhys Masterston
2001 David W Purnell
2002 David McLaren
2003 S John C Gale
2004 Allan Cooper Wright

See Also


Sources of Information

  1. The Engineer 1954/02/05
  2. The Engineer 1862/10/17
  3. The Engineer 1864/04/08
  4. The Engineer 1911/06/16
  6. The Engineer 1889/02/08
  7. Journal of Society of Engineers, 1901
  8. Journal of Society of Engineers, 1901