Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,101 pages of information and 233,633 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
William John Crampton (1871-1953)
1903 offices in Queen Victoria Street, London; a leading electric motorcar expert; had had fourteen years' experience of motoring.
1906 Became a member of the Inst of Electrical Engineers; address given as 77A Queen Victoria St, London
1911 An electrical engineer and employer, visiting Stoke Poges
A member of the Royal Automobile Club (RAC)
1953 died 
1954 Obituary 
William John Crampton, who died on the 30th December, 1953, at the Royal Automobile Club, London, aged 82, was born at Sawston, Cambridgeshire.
He received his early education at Bishop's Stortford Grammar School, his engineering education at the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, and his practical training at the Great Eastern Railway locomotive works, Stratford, London.
In 1891 he began to practise as an electrical contractor at Llandaff Chambers, Cambridge, with offices in London (1892), Great Yarmouth (1896), and Bury St. Edmunds (1897).
In 1903 he disposed of his business on his appointment as Electrical Engineer, under the late Mr. Paris Singer, for King Edward VII's electrical installation at Sandringham. Later he practised as a consultant for many years, with offices in Queen Victoria Street, London.
He was a pioneer of automobile engineering from 1897 onwards, taking part in many early trial runs, and was a founder Member and Life Member of the Royal Automobile Club.
He was also a radio enthusiast and for many years held Transmitting Licence 2KV. He leaves a son, Squadron Leader John Crampton, D.F.C., A.F.C., and two daughters, Mrs. Ross-Hime and Miss Crampton.
He joined The Institution as an Associate in 1898 and was elected an Associate Member in 1900 and a Member in 1906.